We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Resort at Squaw Creek

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Resort at Squaw Creek to your Saves list
Resort at Squaw Creek
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Squaw Creek Road, Olympic Valley, CA 96146   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay & Play Package
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Olympic Valley
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Francisco, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We had a lovely time visiting this resort in October. The resort was peaceful, the weather was mild - it was a relaxing weekend, and just what we were looking for. The Olympic Valley is spectacular - we had a room on the 9th floor looking out toward the village, and the mountains. There is a good walking path from the resort over the to village, and village itself has some great restaurants & shops, and a Starbucks, which was a good find. The hotel is well position to capture all the views, there are many great spots to sit inside and out, and the pools area are gorgeous. The restaurants are pretty casual, the food is good, and not over-priced. The breakfast buffet was fine - but I do wish they had some ala carte options -- this is just a personal preference.

Room Tip: We had a two story 1 bedroom penthouse overlooking valley. Definitely think the view is worth the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSC1SquawValleyUSA, General Manager at Resort at Squaw Creek, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear SeattleS_dub,

Thank you for choosing Resort at Squaw Creek for your recent visit to Lake Tahoe. We are all delighted you enjoyed your visit as we agree the views here in Olympic Valley are spectacular.

I hope to welcome you back again soon as our winter views of the mountains are beautiful!

Kind regards,
Eric Sather
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    240
    76
    30
    28
See reviews for
261
217
12
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed at the Resort at Squaw Creek in fall for a long weekend in Tahoe. The staff was friendly and even worked closely with us to help us reschedule our vacation when our itinerary changed at the last minute. The resort itself is pretty but is was a bit far from the hiking that we were most interested in (Emerald Bay was the best hike of our trip). The room was nice, but not amazing. The property has tennis courts, a heated pool, and a hot tub in addition to a pretty good gym. We found the restaurants a bit over priced for their ratings, but we did eat breakfast and occasionally lunch, at a simple coffee shop on site called Sweet Potatoes.

Green Features: This is not a hotel that lets you reuse your towels.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSC1SquawValleyUSA, Manager at Resort at Squaw Creek, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear mangosforaweek,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughtful review on Trip Advisor, I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay, especially the amazing hiking available at Lake Tahoe. Our concierges have many beautiful local hikes to recommend and we hope to welcome you back again soon to explore another extraordinary trail!

Warm regards,
Andre Priemer
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We attended a hospital conference there prior to the resort's November monthlong close. The staff is largely young, enthusiastic and friendly, if sometimes a bit uninformed about the resort's amenities. Only one of three restaurants were open -- in the bar -- but this is no normal "bar food." Great salads, hamburgers and fish and chips -- with enormous chunks of fish! We also enjoyed a Swedish massage in the spa, and our request for no-aromas was honored without a blink. The room was adequate with the bathroom smallish, and the floor tiles not quite squared evenly. Need better pillows, too. Only big gripe is that the daily base room rate had several add-on's -- $18.50 room tax, $12 resort fee, $20 valet parking, a resort amenity tax. We don't ski or play golf. So a $185 base pretty soon hit $226 per night. Very nice, very pricey.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

The views are stunning. Waking up each morning to that view was such a pleasure. My suite was very comfortable and spacious. I thought this hotel had a fantastic idea to encourage energy savings. Every day that you declined laundry you got a five dollar gift certificate to spend in the shops! Service was efficient and very friendly. Food was just OK. Would recommend and would definitely stay again if I was back in Tahoe!

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loma Linda, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This hotel blew me away ! It's location . It's setting. The service.is quite beautiful with excellent service.They offer valet parking for I believe $20/night or free self parking which is a bit of a walk.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is one of our favourite hotels in the world, and after a gap of about 2 years since our last visit we were very pleased to find it has not changed a bit. For the last few visits we had been allocated suite 939 (forest view fireplace deluxe suite) so now we usually request it, but on this occasion it was occupied so we were in 959. WOW!! a HUGE corner suite with amazing views.

It is not just the rooms that make this hotel great - the staff are absolutely fantastic, and are always there to greet you with a smile. We booked a guided hike, and we wish we had done it on our earlier visits. A staff member called Corey was our guide, along with a new girl (apologies, I can't remember her name!) and we were accompanied by Coreys dog as a 'natural, happy, bear repellent!' It was great soaking up the views and fresh air while climbing up boulders and rocks to get some good excercise! Next time we will try and get all the way to Shirley Lake!

Sandy's pub serves great quality food at reasonable prices, with huge portions! and we enjoyed sitting on the terrace with more great views and some live music. The pizza from the Sweet Potato Deli was fab, and we took the leftovers with us the following day when we continued our road trip.

I cannot say enough about how fab this place is, you can really enjoy the great outdoors then relax in luxurious surroundings in the evening. It is nice when the weather starts to cool a little bit, as they light the various fireplaces and fire pits throughout the property. We love sitting in the main lobby with a glass of wine or two playing chess.

Perfect!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSC1SquawValleyUSA, General Manager at Resort at Squaw Creek, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear anon71,

Thank you for choosing to stay again at Resort at Squaw Creek for your recent visit to Lake Tahoe. We are delighted you were so happy with your room, our staff members, your guided hike and dinner at Sandy’s Pub. Glad to hear you were also a fan of Corey’s dog, the hike sounded wonderful!

We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Kind regards,
Eric Sather
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I stayed two nights on business in late September 2013, in a suite. This was one heckuva hotel room.

First of all, the view is awesome- looking out over the golf course, the valley and the mountains beyond. The room was pretty large, including a very well stocked kitchenette (two burner electric range, microwave, small refrigerator & all the pots, dishes glasses etc you would want) so I could see staying here for a week while skiing right out the front door. There was a fireplace, several flat screen TVs and a very large bathroom, fitted out with lots of grab bars and beautiful tile floors. Very comfortable bed; and very quiet room. It is worth the 4 diamond rating that it has from AAA.

The downside to staying here is that a) it isn't cheap by any means; b) the non-valet parking is a real shlep from the hotel, and also down steep steps which can be very slick/icy (and were so at night and early in the morning even tho its only fall); c) Squaw is far from any other place to eat off-site (8 or 10 miles to Truckee and about 3 or 4 to Tahoe) so you might not feel like going out elsewhere; and d) the room service menu was very disappointingly sparse. Why can't one order what the on-site restaurants are serving? Taken together, these knocked the hotel from excellent to very good in my view. Of course, if you're cooking in the room, perhaps you don't care about the last two points at all.

The only other negative is really with respect to conference facilities: for those meeting rooms not in the main section, there are no close in restrooms and one must walk quite a ways, partly outdoors. Perhaps not a big deal, but it was snowing while we were there, so it was somewhat annoying. Why not add a restroom for Tinkers Knob and other meeting room in that area, plus extend the awning so that the walk there is covered?

All in all, a very nice hotel and I would be happy to stay again, especially when not tied up in business meetings.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSC1SquawValleyUSA, Public Relations Manager at Resort at Squaw Creek, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences while staying at Resort at Squaw Creek. We hope you choose to return soon and provide us with another opportunity to serve you. I would like to mention that ski season is approaching and we have many exciting events and winter activities planned for our guests to enjoy both inside and outside at the resort. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Resort at Squaw Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort at Squaw Creek

Address: 400 Squaw Creek Road, Olympic Valley, CA 96146
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Olympic Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Olympic Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Resort at Squaw Creek 4*
Number of rooms: 403
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury mountain resort located at the base of Squaw Valley USA, five miles from the shores of Lake Tahoe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Amex, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Resort at Squaw Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort At Squaw Creek Hotel Olympic Valley
Hotel At Squaw Creek
At Squaw Creek Hotel
Resort Squaw Creek
Squaw Creek Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Resort at Squaw Creek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.