We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wow and wow” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Resort at Squaw Creek

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Resort at Squaw Creek to your Saves list
Resort at Squaw Creek
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Squaw Creek Road, Olympic Valley, CA 96146   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay & Play Package
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Olympic Valley
GreenLeadersBronze level
jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“wow and wow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

this resort is amazing. Traveled for a conference so couldn't ski :( but grateful to have visited such a beautiful property. The people are friendly and helpful. Food was good. The room was so comfy and the beds were heavenly. I was lucky enough to get a mountain view and wow! woke up to watching the sun come over the mountains. It was incredible. Beautiful place, hoping to return for a winter visit!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    226
    72
    27
    27
See reviews for
245
210
11
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chico, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We took our two grandchildren (age 15 & 10) for two nights. We had a fabulous time. This is definately a perfect family resort. The room was good, the food was good and healthy, all the employees were very helpful and friendly. The resort location was exceptional. Absolutely beautiful area only 5 miles north of Lake Tahoe. Though you won't even care about going to the crowded Lake area as this place has it all. We loved the pool slide and the excellent pool-side service for food and drinks.

Room Tip: Didn't spend much time in our room so we did not upgrade and were quite happy with the 2 queen r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSC1SquawValleyUSA, General Manager at Resort at Squaw Creek, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for sharing your sentiments regarding Resort at Squaw Creek. We certainly look forward to having you stay with us next time your family embarks on a Tahoe getaway.

Regards,

Eric Sather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I am in love with the Resort at Squaw Creek. Well, with Tahoe in general, but this review is about the resort, so here goes...

My partner and I got a fantastic deal to stay at this hotel which, frankly, would normally be way out of our price range. I left actually feeling relaxed (i'm kind of a nervous person) and I think the comfort of this hotel had a lot to do with it.

Here are the pros:
Great deal through Expedia (and i'm sure other travel sites)
Gorgeous hotel (the lobby is stunning)
Friendly staff (either they are treated well or the hotel is drugging them)
Views of the valley (we paid for a valley view room. I think it was worth the extra $$)
Complimentary water with orange slices available in the lobby (I love those little touches)
Big [--] TV (not that we were there to watch TV, but it was nice to watch 1/2 a movie before going to sleep)
Very nice linens (the bed was a bit hard for me but my partner loved it)
Very clean
We were able to get a late check out at no charge
SUPERB pina coladas by the pool (and a cute bartender who carded me and insisted I looked younger than I am)

A few (nitpicky) cons:
The pool was a bit buggy. I'm not sure what the little bugs were. They weren't mosquitoes per se and they didn't bite, but they would land on me and it tickled a bit, so I noticed them.
LOTS of children (which could be a plus if you're looking for a family-friendly place)
Items in the cafe are pricey, but I think that's just Tahoe in general ($2 for a hard boiled egg)

Overall, The Resort at Squaw Creek was perfect for our Tahoe adventure. I think anyone who says there would be hard pressed to not fall in love with it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinole, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

One of the most beautiful resorts in Northern Ca. Very clean, amazing mountain views, fabulous pool area. The only down side is the food and drinks at the resort are pricey and the breakfast buffet is limited in food variety considering the price but I suppose it was somewhat expected. Overall it was a perfect family weekend getaway.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSC1SquawValleyUSA, Public Relations Manager at Resort at Squaw Creek, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed the amazing mountain views at Resort at Squaw Creek, and that the resort made for an excellent family getaway for you. I am not sure of the exact date of your stay, but we wanted you to know that we have a recently launched a special price for the buffet breakfast of $16 that runs through the summer. We hope you can make it back to Tahoe for another trip this summer season.

Regards,

Marc Sapoznik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My husband was playing in the band at the Placer County Sheriff Convention where there were 350 sheriffs and their wives. The party with a banquet and the band was outside on a lovely large patio with phenomenal views. The food was astounding in it's delicious variety of options.
Plus very generous drink offerings.

The musician's and their spouses received complimentary rooms. We were offered a beautifully furnished, very small room with 2 queen beds. Wow, it was elegant but tiny and crowded for 2 plus luggage.

However, I was wearing a sling after recent shoulder replacement surgery and could not yet sleep in a bed. We asked for and received the 1 bedroom king bed fireplace suite which had a comfy couch and thick pillows on which I could rest. What a place and what a view. The windows even opened fully, but as there were no screens we, regretfully had to close them at twilight due to the bugs. The living-dining rooms were tasteful and comfy. The galley kitchen was fantastic with built-in and a two-burner stove, small refrigerator, microwave, sink all the cutlery, dishes, pots-pans, measuring cup, etc. you could need for several days. Even dish towels, pot holders, sponges, and paper towels. Behind one cabinet drawer was, astoundingly, a small dishwasher.

The bedroom contained the most phenomenally comfortable king bed, closet, desk, etc. and there was a large bathroom also containing a door into the living room area. Everything was so comfortable, intimate, and subtly luxurious as to make us want to stay for ann extended time in our miniature "cabin".

The staff is very friendly and accommodating. While the space has a European mountain chalet-like appearance, there is an airiness and lightness as to feel very Californian.


The Resort lobby is gorgeous with a huge stone fireplace (fire roaring in the chilly evening and early morning hours. Beautiful decor and a tremendous amount of recreational opportunities. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. While the space has a European mountain chalet-like appearance, there is an airiness and lightness as to feel very Californian. Fantastic for couples, families and golfers, tennis players, hikers, etc..

I would give the Resort 5 stars except for the fact that the standard rooms are almost too small for comfort.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, book the 1 or 2 bedroom suites.
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel is very environmentally friendly and in the construction of the room tower, they incorporated as many as possible sustainable and green features.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSC1SquawValleyUSA, Public Relations Manager at Resort at Squaw Creek, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at Resort at Squaw Creek. We are glad you and your group had a good time during your stay, although we are sorry to hear that your arm was in a sling. That takes some of the recreational opportunities off the table. Anyhow, we are very happy to hear that you were comfortable and enjoyed our chefs' cuisine. We always look forward to having this group stay with us at Resort at Squaw Creek. The location is hard to beat for a conference, isn't it?

By the way, our Deluxe Guestrooms are 379 square feet, which is on par with other upscale resorts in the area. Granted, the suites are more spacious. In fact, at Resort at Squaw Creek, Fireplace Suites comprise the majority of the rooms.

We wish you a full recovery with your injury, and hope to see you back without the sling, so you can enjoy the amenities and recreation a bit more.

Regards,

Marc Sapoznik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milpitas, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Unbelievable views and overall incredible place to vacation in the summer. The pool area is perfect for family fun. Lots of recreation in the area. Still in awe of the view. Looking forward to a return visit. Only complaint is the distance to park your car. May be worth the $20 per day valet service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I just returned from a week at the Resort at Squaw Creek. We rented a
2B/2b unit through vrbo and it was perfect for our family of 5. The kids had their own room and we had ours. There is a wonderful family room and a galley kitchen, which served it's purpose for making the occasional mac n' cheese for the kids. The resort itself is fabulous with a heated pool the kids couldn't get enough of and great service. My husband and boys went fishing and the chef at Six Peaks Grille was happy to prepare our fish for us for dinner that evening. The views from the resort are stunning and there is so much to do in the area. We took the kids (4, 10, 13) ziplining, "floating" down the truckee river, and generally explored the area. We seemed to have hit it perfectly during the shoulder season as it wasn't crowded and the staff wasn't overwhelmed, although it did pick up quite a bit at the end of the week. The only issue was the lack of information provided by the concierge, who didn't seem very knowledgeable about activities or the area. She handed us a map and threw out so many options--all of which we had found online. I was expecting more specific recommendations based on our family's interests and ages of our kids. Small hiccup in an otherwise super vacation. I would definitely return to the resort again. Perfect place for a low key start to summer!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Resort at Squaw Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort at Squaw Creek

Address: 400 Squaw Creek Road, Olympic Valley, CA 96146
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Olympic Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Olympic Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Resort at Squaw Creek 4*
Number of rooms: 403
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury mountain resort located at the base of Squaw Valley USA, five miles from the shores of Lake Tahoe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Resort at Squaw Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort At Squaw Creek Hotel Olympic Valley
Hotel At Squaw Creek
At Squaw Creek Hotel
Resort Squaw Creek
Squaw Creek Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Resort at Squaw Creek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.