We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Resort at Squaw Creek

Save Saved
You added Resort at Squaw Creek to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Resort at Squaw Creek
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Squaw Creek Road, Olympic Valley, CA 96146   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fall Rates from $179!
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Olympic Valley
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

What a beautiful place! Our room was large and clean, with a lovely view. Service was polite and professional. Lloyd in the Imprints gift shop was especially friendly and helpful. The lobby and outdoor decks are great places to sit and take in the view. There were insects crawling about during our stay but they were not particularly troublesome at the resort. This is a great place to relax in the Summer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSC1SquawValleyUSA, Public Relations Manager at Resort at Squaw Creek, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
We are very glad to hear that your enjoyed your recent stay. I will pass along your message to Lloyd in Imprints. No doubt, he will greatly appreciate the comment. We hope to see you again at Resort at Squaw Creek next time your travels take you to Lake Tahoe.

Respectfully,

Marc Sapoznik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    223
    71
    27
    25
See reviews for
239
203
11
109
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilton, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Went with my wife to this resort for a conference. Rooms were nice. we had two queen beds, a bit more than we needed. The view of the valley was great, the temperature of the pools was great!
We apparent there went there at the wrong time of the year as carpenter ants were swarming and all over the place. Mosquitoes were hungry as they may have been just emerging. There were plenty of restaurants in the facility,but only a few were open at a time and only for specific meals. None were open before 7:00 a.m. for the early breakfast goers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSC1SquawValleyUSA, Public Relations Manager at Resort at Squaw Creek, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments. First, I wanted to let you know that we have addressed the ant issue. At the beginning of the month, they came out in much larger numbers than we have ever witnessed before. We have sprayed twice at this point to control the issue. Also, the misquitoes have been a bit more prevalent that usual. At our location in Tahoe, mosquitoes are not typically a major problem. In any case, we hope you have an opportunity to return purely for pleasure. Of course, as you discovered, Resort at Squaw Creek is not a bad place to be for a conference either.

Regards,

Marc Sapoznik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

As advertised the Resort boasts a wide range of facilities that are sure to keep people of all different ages busy (pool, games room, golf course, spa etc).

The golf course is set in a beautiful backdrop of the Squaw Valley, and with the crisp early summer air was a treat, however the course itself is nothing spectacular on its own.

Our suite had a great view of the valley. However, the furniture feels and looks a bit old and the fireplace makes for a nice touch, but does not compensate for the sparse lighting in the room.

Resort staff are very helpful trying to arrange activities either run by themselves or by third parties (summer activities we looked into included fishing, white water rafting, and water sports)

Overall a good experience (save a middle of the night fire alarm set off by an inconsiderate guest who decided to smoke in a non-smoking room) and I would both recommend and stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSC1SquawValleyUSA, Public Relations Manager at Resort at Squaw Creek, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
It's wonderful to hear your comments regarding your stay at Resort at Squaw Creek. However, we are so sorry you were at the resort the night that the fire alarm was triggered. We certainly know how important sleep is. Anyhow, we hope to see you again for another Lake Tahoe vacation.

Regards,

Marc Sapoznik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is an average resort perhaps a victim of my high expectations from a previous visit at a different resort owned by the same company. We stayed in fire place suite. The layout is pretty bad. Room was dark. Make sure you book valley view.

Room Tip: Insist on valley view or you'll regret.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Excellent facility overall - beautiful grounds and views, nicely appointed rooms, very attentive staff and great food! I would highly recommend this resort, especially in the off-season when rates are very reasonable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarsdale, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I came here with my family. This is a beautiful resort with gorgeous views of the mountains. It is about a 10 minute drive from Lake Tahoe. We stayed in a fireplace suite with a kitchen. The room was immaculate, crisp white linens on the bed. updated appliances, fully stocked cabinets (plates, glasses, pots, pans, silverware), gorgeous slate and marble bathroom, and one of the friendliest staffs I've ever seen. The resort is family friendly, with a kids program (that we didn't use) and various scheduled activities for kids. There was live music in the lobby when we arrived, and we awoke to a roaring fire in the lobby the next day. The outdoor pools were gorgeous. There is much to do here...bike rentals, hiking, skiing, golfing, a spa...and all of it in pristine nature. Coming from New York, where we are used to litter and pollution everywhere, it was refreshing to be in a place that had such respect for the natural environment. Wherever we walked (on the resort property or on a trail) there wasn't so much as a gum wrapper on the ground and people were often removing litter from the roadside. All in all, an excellent resort in a breathtaking location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa rosa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

The staff was very friendly, and the room was very nice. We had a fireplace forest view and it was like a little apartment. It had a kitchen, living room with a gas fireplace, bedroom and bathroom. They were all very nice. Even the view of the forrest was really beautiful. Next time we will ask for a valley view. The food was ok, we were there before the summer season started to much of the place was closed. That really limited what we could do. It's really close to Tahoe City and the lake which made a nice drive available. The lake is really beautiful. We tried to walk in the valley but it was so windy we had to quit. We really liked this place and will go again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the 7 floor or above, spend the extra for a nice room and get a valley view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Resort at Squaw Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort at Squaw Creek

Address: 400 Squaw Creek Road, Olympic Valley, CA 96146
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Olympic Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Olympic Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Resort at Squaw Creek 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury mountain resort located at the base of Squaw Valley USA, five miles from the shores of Lake Tahoe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Resort at Squaw Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort At Squaw Creek Hotel Olympic Valley
Hotel At Squaw Creek
At Squaw Creek Hotel
Resort Squaw Creek
Squaw Creek Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Resort at Squaw Creek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.