We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We liked it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Resort at Squaw Creek

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Resort at Squaw Creek to your Saves list
Resort at Squaw Creek
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Squaw Creek Road, Olympic Valley, CA 96146   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay & Play Package
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Olympic Valley
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
santa rosa
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“We liked it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

The staff was very friendly, and the room was very nice. We had a fireplace forest view and it was like a little apartment. It had a kitchen, living room with a gas fireplace, bedroom and bathroom. They were all very nice. Even the view of the forrest was really beautiful. Next time we will ask for a valley view. The food was ok, we were there before the summer season started to much of the place was closed. That really limited what we could do. It's really close to Tahoe City and the lake which made a nice drive available. The lake is really beautiful. We tried to walk in the valley but it was so windy we had to quit. We really liked this place and will go again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the 7 floor or above, spend the extra for a nice room and get a valley view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    238
    76
    30
    28
See reviews for
261
216
12
114
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Lake Tahoe, California
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This resort was built by ski pioneers and the place is steeped in history. The resort is genteel, refined, dignified and a real resort nestled in the 'Beverly Hills' end of the ski resort. It comes complete with large pools and many spas and fire pits. It was the film set for a promotional advertisement to international tourists to visit California. There is it's own golf course, its own chairlift to the top of the Squaw Valley ski runs, shops, a very nice 'pub' called Sandy's, a refined dining area (with $25 all you can eat buffet) and suites. My only gripe is that the suites did not have full kitchens or balconies. It has a free shuttle to the main ski lift area and to the main shopping area of the ski resort (where there's a supermarket and licensed bottle shop). The suites either look over the meadow and golf course and horse stables or the suites look into the pine forest. (I prefer the vista views). From their chairlift for the 'blue grade' ski run "Squaw Creek", you can access the rest of the ski areas quite easily. There's valet open air parking and the staff are attentive. Food prices, I thought, were very reasonable, eg $25 for the buffet brunch. There is a pizza restaurant that's new in winter 2012/13, a ski gear shop and there's a ski rental place as well for renting ski gear or demo'ing new skis too. It is private: the windows are one-way mirrored so no one can see in. Personally i like a balcony, which aren't provided. I found the studio units a little 'tight' and too compact for me. They have a facebook page for the occassional sale of lodging too: why pay full price?

Overall, you really could stay here a week or two and never go anywhere else.

I'd say it's the best in the region , a class above the rest, and the room rates were on par with other places, old and new, in the ski area.

Room Tip: try and get a room that overlooks the golf course and up to the cable car's peak. consider an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSC1SquawValleyUSA, Public Relations Manager at Resort at Squaw Creek, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for singing the praises of Resort at Squaw Creek. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay, and chose to write about it on TripAdvisor. We hope to see you again soon.

Regards,

Marc Sapoznik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We booked our stay at the Resort at Squaw Creek through Virgin Holidays because they gave a very good deal including breakfast (which was otherwise $60 a day). They also paid out resort fee too so we had nothing to pay on check out at all. This compared with my husband's parents who booked directly with the hotel on a similar rate and who did not get breakfast included and had to pay the resort fee (about $200) on departure.

On arrival at the Resort we were shown to our forest view fireplace suite, which was comfortable enough, but unfortunately located right next to the service lift which was quite noisy. My husband therefore went back to reception and asked if we could switch rooms and not only did they accommodate our request, but they gave us a free upgrade to a valley view suite which was about twice the size! We were delighted by this and it made our stay a very pleasant one indeed.

We arrived just before the Easter weekend and the snow was still evident, although retreating and it was hot. This meant that our skiing experience was somewhat impeded by the receding snow, lift closures and slushy snow come lunchtime. We couldn't really complain because the weather was amazing and the slopes were pretty clear (compared to European resorts at any rate). The resort was also buzzing with people and we were lucky we made the most of this while it lasted because unfortunately once Easter had come and gone they closed most things around the resort - including the ski lift right outside, the main restaurant and the pizza/pasta restaurant. Whilst we could understand from an economic point of view why this was done, it was disappointing that so much closed so quickly and had we not been "on the ball" we could easily have missed out on a great dining experience in the main restaurant. The terrace bar also closed (the pub was still open) which was a real shame because the weather was so good that all you wanted to do was sit out there with a cold drink and take in the incredible views over the valley.

On the positive side, the free shuttle bus into the village (it takes 10 minutes and ran every 15 minutes) was a godsend and meant we could easily connect with the various eateries located in the valley at night and the ski lifts in the morning. The breakfast each morning was a delicious selection of hot and cold and not too bread heavy. I had porridge pretty much every day it was so nice. The staff were very courteous and the shop sales were good so we purchased quite a few things while staying.

All in all we had a lovely time at the resort, made even more so by our room, it was just a bit disappointing that they closed so much and I'm glad we got to see it before that happened otherwise I think this review would have been a bit more negative.

Room Tip: We had a valley view fireplace suite and it really is worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSC1SquawValleyUSA, General Manager at Resort at Squaw Creek, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at Resort at Squaw Creek. We are glad you were able to make it to Resort at Squaw Creek for a ski holiday, but regret that Mother Nature did not live up to her end of the bargain. The anomaly of receiving very little snow over the latter half of the winter had an impact on operations for the mountain and resort. Please know that, in terms of weather, this was an exceptionally rare year. We hope you can join us again sometime when the snow is at least average, which provides a plentiful base for skiing well into spring.

Regards,

Eric Sather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solana Beach
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Before the village was built this hotel was the "it" place to stay. I loved the hotel then but the vibe was a little stuffy, and service lacked because of it.

I'm glad I gave them another shot because its an excellent resort. The staff made us feel welcome and treated us like important guests. They upgraded our room and gave us a late check-out. I know they won't always be able to do this, but a smart hotel knows to do it when they can.

We had great food and I will always love the ski store just off the lobby.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSC1SquawValleyUSA, General Manager at Resort at Squaw Creek, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at Resort at Squaw Creek. We appreciate the positive comments, and look forward to seeing you next time your travels bring you to Lake Tahoe.

Regards,

Eric Sather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My husband and I recently traveled to the Lake Tahoe area and stayed at the Resort at Squaw Creek. We had a fantastic vacation and loved the resort! Resort at Squaw Creek has an amazing outdoor pool with several hot tubs, which we were able to enjoy in April! Picture yourself sitting in the hot tub with a view of snow covered mountains! So beautiful! I also went to the Fitness Center and Spa. At the Spa I had a wonderful relaxing hot stone massage! There is a very peaceful relaxation room to enjoy before and after your appointment along with steam and sauna in the locker room. Overall a great vacation and really enjoyed our stay at the Resort at Squaw Creek!

Room Tip: We stayed in a Forest View room. It was very peaceful and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSC1SquawValleyUSA, Public Relations Manager at Resort at Squaw Creek, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your stay at Resort at Squaw Creek. We are particularly glad to hear that you enjoyed the pool, hot tubs, and spa. We hope you are able to return for a trip to the Tahoe region in the near future.

Regards,

Marc Sapoznik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed at the Resort at Squaw Creek for the second time this past weekend. We had a lot of fun. The main pool was open, as it is year round, and our 3 1/2 year old son had soo much fun jumping in the pool and chasing the other kids around. We ate at Sandy's Pub for all of our meals and they were are all really good. The cheeseburger was delicious as was the turkey club! Really big portions too! We also rented two bicycles and went riding around the golf course cart paths since the golf course wasn't officially open for the season. The room was just fine for the three of us. My only suggestion would be to give the room a fresh coat of paint. The walls were pretty dinged up.
Will we return, absolutely! Especially when the waterslide opens!

Green Features: I really loved that they gave us a $5 coupon to use for requesting that our room not be cleaned.
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSC1SquawValleyUSA, Public Relations Manager at Resort at Squaw Creek, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
We are delighted to hear that you are a return guest to Resort at Squaw Creek. We certainly look forward to seeing you again. By the way, the guest rooms and suites are slated for the first phase of a remodel later this year, so guests will find a fresh look in the not too distant future.

Respectfully,

Marc Sapoznik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I just had to review the Resort at Squaw Creek after reading all the negative reviews from all the "rock stars" and "divas" who have been overly critical of such a beautiful resort. I loved our room - doors separated the bedroom from the living room area - which made it possible for the 1st person up to be able to get up, watch tv, and make coffee. Nice comfy king bed, comfy pillows, BIG bathroom. Our decor was not in "shameful disrepair" or in "desperate need of upgrading" - were the neg reviewers even at the same resort? My only criticism was that there seemed to be too much furniture in the rooms!! Would definitely recommend and would stay again! **The resort doesn't allow pets - although I saw a woman walking a lab around (and into the coffee shop) We kenneled our boy at the Truckee-Tahoe Pet Lodge which was a quick drop off on our way to the resort.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSC1SquawValleyUSA, Public Relations Manager at Resort at Squaw Creek, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Your comments will be valuable to other travelers making decisions regarding Resort at Squaw Creek as their best choice for lodging at Lake Tahoe. We appreciate your candor, and hope to see you at the resort again soon.

Regards,

Marc Sapoznik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Resort at Squaw Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort at Squaw Creek

Address: 400 Squaw Creek Road, Olympic Valley, CA 96146
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Olympic Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Olympic Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Resort at Squaw Creek 4*
Number of rooms: 403
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury mountain resort located at the base of Squaw Valley USA, five miles from the shores of Lake Tahoe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Amex, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Resort at Squaw Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort At Squaw Creek Hotel Olympic Valley
Hotel At Squaw Creek
At Squaw Creek Hotel
Resort Squaw Creek
Squaw Creek Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Resort at Squaw Creek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.