We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upscale but not pretentious” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Resort at Squaw Creek

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Resort at Squaw Creek to your Saves list
Resort at Squaw Creek
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Squaw Creek Road, Olympic Valley, CA 96146   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay & Play Package
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Olympic Valley
GreenLeadersBronze level
Berkeley, CA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Upscale but not pretentious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Had a lovely stay in mid Sept., enjoyed the hotel a great deal! Rooms were well appointed and very comfy beds. The spa and pool and outdoor hot tubs are wonderful, especially with the majestic beauty of the trees and mountains. Loved the fire pits scattered around the grounds with cozy fires at night to enjoy the stars outside. Absolutely would stay here again.

Room Tip: The forest view rooms are very nice b/c you have the lovely trees to see.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSC1SquawValleyUSA, Manager at Resort at Squaw Creek, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience at Resort at Squaw Creek. We'e glad you enjoyed our amenities, including the award-winning pool and hot tub complex. Please come see us again soon.

Regards,

Heimo Brandstatter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    226
    72
    27
    27
See reviews for
243
210
11
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penn Valley, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Had a great stay for three nights in a forest view suite with fireplace and small kitchen. Very clean and well equipped although not enough good light in the bath for makeup application. We had great breakfast in the Six Peaks dining room, great wine and salads in the Pub and snacks in the Sweet Potato Deli. The best was the spa treatments - they were some of the best we ever had. Very good bed for a great nights sleep and windows that open for the mountain breeze. September is beautiful in the area!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSC1SquawValleyUSA, Public Relations Manager at Resort at Squaw Creek, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Resort at Squaw Creek. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Regards,

Marc Sapoznik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

My company recently hosted a 5 day even at the Resort at Squaw Creek. It was absolutely fantastic! The facilities were more than adequate and the staff was wonderful to work with. Overall the food was great, the golf course was perfect for a business outing, and the view is to die for. I would highly recommend this resort to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSC1SquawValleyUSA, Manager at Resort at Squaw Creek, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
With abundant meeting space, Resort at Squaw Creek is an excellent choice for meetings, and we are glad you took full advantage of the opportunities, including golf. We hope you can come back for business, or pleasure.

Regards,

Heimo Brandstatter
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We enjoyed a few nights here in late September. Significantly reduced off season rate allowed us to take a mountain view room with fireplace and kitchen. Did really enjoy the view from the very large bay window. Weather was perfect for golf, sitting by the pool, swimming and hiking during the day. Needed warm clothes in the evening and early morning. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful. Lovely setting. Hiked up to Five Lakes from Alpine Meadows, a short drive from Squaw to the trailhead, trees dripping with moss, granite everywhere, just beautiful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSC1SquawValleyUSA, Manager at Resort at Squaw Creek, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
You visited Lake Tahoe and Resort at Squaw Creek during one of the best times of year to visit. We hope you can join us again for a relaxing getaway soon.

Regards,

Heimo Brandstatter
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Having stayed a few nights in Las Vegas prior to arriving at Squaw Valley, we were truly ready for something that was more natural, homely and personal. At the Resort at Squaw Creek we most definitely got this. The staff were extremely welcoming, friendly and very helpful. The setting was simply stunning. The food was excellent (breakfast was a little over-priced, but thankfully this was included in our package). The rooms were pleasant, but felt a little dated in terms of decor, but very clean indeed. Tahoe city is lovely and we hired bikes one day and a motorboat another and had the most fab time. West Shore is just beautiful and there are some lovely restaurants to dine at. We would most definitely go back.

Room Tip: Choose a room looking over the golf course and not a room with a mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful hotel but we visited during the off season. Service was not good. No one was rude but we were ignored by the valets and at the front desk. We had to drive about 45 minutes to get to our excursions (hot air balloon and tour). I would imagine it is a different experience during their ski season but if you really want to experience lake Tahoe I would recommend staying closer to south lake tahoe.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSC1SquawValleyUSA, Public Relations Manager at Resort at Squaw Creek, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
I wish I would have caught you on property. There are so many things to do at Resort at Squaw Creek, in the Squaw Valley area, and in the the North Lake Tahoe region as well. It is true that South Lake Tahoe and North Lake Tahoe do have some differences. North Lake Tahoe is a bit more relaxed, with the natural, outdoorsy Tahoe experience at the forefront over 24-hour casino nightlife. On property you have access golf, one of the top fly fishing centers in the country (with private, stocked ponds on property), bike rentals with bike paths heading to Lake Tahoe and Squaw Valley, tram rides to High Camp, rafting (in season), hiking trails including Shirley Canyon and Five Lakes Trail, and all the water activities associated with Lake Tahoe. You also have quick access to historic Truckee, Donner Summit, and the quaint lakeside town of Tahoe City. That's only the beginning of the options.

Anyhow, the other issue you mentioned was service. As an award-winning Four Diamond resort, service is paramount. If any missteps occured, we truly apologize. In keeping with the Tahoe vibe, we do offer a relaxed atmosphere, but our staff is ready, willing and expected to provide the highest caliber service. If you would like to discuss these matters further, please feel free to send an e-mail to info@squawcreek.com.

We hope you will give us another try sometime.

Respectfully,

Marc Sapoznik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

My husband booked the resort through jetsetter,com for our anniversary. He booked a fireplace suite with the forest view. We were very excited when we arrived to the resort, it does have a very nice pool and we liked the location. We did enjoy the restaurants and the property is very nice. But the service at the front desk was unacceptable. After we checked in and saw our room with the view of a parking lot and a dirty drain right under our windows, we went back to the front desk to see if we could get a different room - it was clear the hotel was not overbooked. The gentleman at the front desk flat out told us that we are in this room BECAUSE we booked through a third party and if we want the same room with a better view we can have it for additional $20 a night. He said that if we booked directly through them this would not be an issue. We were truly shocked, since we already paid for a room with a view for what was supposed to be a romantic getaway and this hotel was now trying to basically rip us off. We tried to argue and let the person at the front desk know that we are unhappy with the room, but he was not at all helpful and clearly did not care. I work in the customer service industry and this is NOT how you treat your customers. I would understand if he said that there were no other rooms available, but to say that we were put into that room only because we booked through a third party is pathetic and he really made us feel like we were punished for booking through somebody else. The attitude of the front desk staff and less than desirable view left us with a bitter taste in our mouth and killed our mood . Bottom line is..if you book this hotel through a third party and pay extra for the fireplace suite with the forest view, please don't expect to get the view that they advertise in the photos.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSC1SquawValleyUSA, General Manager at Resort at Squaw Creek, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
We are glad to hear you booked a vacation to Resort at Squaw Creek through Jetsetter, but are disappointed to hear that your expectations were not met. It is especially unfortunate since you were celebrating a special event. At our property, we offer both Forest View and Valley View rooms and suites. Forest View rooms overlook the forest and mountain located on the more eastern facing side of the lodging tower, and the more western facing Valley View rooms offer expansive Squaw Valley views. While both views are pleasant, the Valley View rooms offer a spectacular view, and do command a slightly higher rate. This is a common practice at hotels and resorts, whether it be in the mountains, city, or at the beach. We have reviewed our records and your reservation was for a Forest View suite. Upgrades were available, and would have been offered to any guest for the standard upgrade fee. Also, please note that rooms are assigned by type, and that method of booking is not a factor. If an associate at our property misstated that fact, we deeply apologize, and will discuss the matter with that associate. If you would like to discuss the matter further, please do not hesitate to send us an e-mail at info@squawcreek.com, or call Marc Sapoznik in our marketing department at 530.581.6684. Each and every guest experience is important to us.

Eric Sather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Resort at Squaw Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort at Squaw Creek

Address: 400 Squaw Creek Road, Olympic Valley, CA 96146
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Olympic Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Olympic Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Resort at Squaw Creek 4*
Number of rooms: 403
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury mountain resort located at the base of Squaw Valley USA, five miles from the shores of Lake Tahoe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Amex, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Resort at Squaw Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort At Squaw Creek Hotel Olympic Valley
Hotel At Squaw Creek
At Squaw Creek Hotel
Resort Squaw Creek
Squaw Creek Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Resort at Squaw Creek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.