We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fix Wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn to your Saves list
PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1920 Squaw Valley Road, Located in North Lake Tahoe, Olympic Valley, CA 96146   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2 get the 3rd Free!
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Olympic Valley
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fix Wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

The location was picture perfect for the winter wedding theme. Our room had a perfect view and a window ledge were I was able to sit and read and experiece a blizzard all warm and cozy. The rooms have a keurig coffee maker and being able to make individual hot drinks was very convenient. I really liked having full size bath products instead of the little daily bottles. Next time I will not need to pack them. The bride's parents had a great suite were they hosted a couple of gatherings for friends and family. It was a perfect location for the wedding and for experiencing the village shopping and restaurants.

Room Tip: Our room was a little warm so we used the ceiling fan and cracked the window open to create the perf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    44
    11
    12
    7
See reviews for
32
42
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Overall a good hotel. Be warned that you will have to use your windows and fan to cool down the room as there is no air conditioning. They've done a great job updating the facility and the rooms are modern and comfortable. I had a bit of trouble with electrical, it kept shorting out in the bathroom. Included breakfast was amazing. I would book here again just for that.

Room Tip: There are rooms facing the main road that get quite loud, especially if there is an event going on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

The Mrs. and I wanted to get away over labor day. Squaw Valley had a wine walk, so we stayed a night at the PlumpJack inn. We checked in early after noon . The front desk person said they were having a wedding tonight but, it shouldn't effect us. The room they gave us faced the pool and the outside bar area and we found out later on the reception hall. The hotel is decorated beautifully, the room was decorated nicely. However the TV was circa 1993. We also noticed that that there was a box fan in the window. After our dinner in the village, we were back in our room about 7;30 .
The reception was on outside our window . We didn't mind we were watching TV . About 8 they went in to the reception hall. It was cool out side but, still and hot in the room. We turned on the box fan in the window it was noisy. Then the band started . So we had a noisy box fan , a hot stuffy room and a wedding band. At around 10:30 we called the front desk to find out when the band might stop . Thankfully around 11 the band stopped .It took the wedding party until midnight to quite down. We tried to get some sleep . We tried turning off the box fan , the room got hot , so we turn on the box fan , can't sleep ect... We left at 6am. The room was $275 for the night . I emailed the general manager to ask why they would put guest that are not involved with the wedding at ground zero ? Her response was let us know when we will be in the area so they can "have us enjoy PlumpJack with out interruption" .Before you book a room ask if they are having an event. Also know there is a serious problem with the rooms with air conditioning. No rooms have air conditioning , They all have old box fans in the window We will never return.

Room Tip: Stay away !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveL3_11, General Manager at PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Sir,

I'm sorry to hear your stay with us wasn't comfortable and relaxing. We do have an intimate property that was originally constructed for the Olympic Games hosted here in 1960. The Sierra Nevada summer nights tend to cool down nicely, but we experience some warmer days/nights as well throughout the summer months. Granted, room location with a special event happening is crucial and we missed the mark during your stay. The televisions have been updated this fall and all of our rooms currently are outfitted with flat screens. Please reach out to me directly prior to your next visit to Squaw Valley and Lake Tahoe as we'd like the opportunity to welcome you back. I can be reached at slamb@plumpjack.com.

Take care and enjoy the balance of fall and the coming winter,

Steve Lamb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Gorgeous place with great personality personnel. Loved the hot tub because it was chilly. Very relaxed and I loved the 'make it happen' approach - quite rare approach to customers in California. Lovely and definitely need to come back to ski.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

The staff at this hotel is fantastic !!!! Breakfast Buffett is great. The rooms are decent, but the last reno was truly a "paint the pig" while not truly replacing a lot of old furniture that is from the 80's. bathrooms are ok, but once again the tile in the showers is old. The hotel is wood constructed and the noise is very bad from floor to floor.

Even with the bad the service makes up for the shortcomings and the location is great

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria VA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the PlumpJack when we were in Squaw Valley for a wedding. Its a well run little hotel and given the location its an all season spot. The rooms have a cement entry that spills into the bathroom, probably for ski boots. Rooms are a nice size, dresser is a straw basket stacking unit, fine for us but where do you put your ski gear? Bathrooms have the usual horrible lighting but lots of counter space, which is really nice. Breakfasts were tasty and generous and its nice they are included in the room price. Happily there is a Starbucks a block away for my emergency latte, a well stocked little general store in the village for snacks and bottled water and a very nice little wine store in Squaw Valley Village as well. Its a comfortable happy place to stay.

Room Tip: Probably best not to be on the busy road side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Excellent complimentary breakfast, including GF homemade granola. Large, room with comfy bed. Decent pool area. Very convenient to gondola/lifts. Great place for weddings. If you are a light sleeper, the structure of the hotel isn't very sound proof. If sleeping isn't a problem, I would highly recommend it. Dog friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn

Address: 1920 Squaw Valley Road, Located in North Lake Tahoe, Olympic Valley, CA 96146
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Olympic Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Olympic Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn in North Lake Tahoe brings new meaning to the term "peak experience."Comfortable and casually elegant, our Lake Tahoe mountain escape offers an intimate resort experience, complete with fine dining and an attentive staff that's dedicated to making your stay everything you dreamed of. From the mountains to the lake, there's ample opportunity for outdoor adventure. And with slope-side access and some of the area's best hiking, PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn, near Lake Tahoe's north shore, offers more than just a getaway, but a true experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plumpjack Squaw Valley Hotel Olympic Valley
Plumpjack Squaw Valley Olympic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.