We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off-season in Lake Tahoe...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn to your Saves list
PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1920 Squaw Valley Road, Located in North Lake Tahoe, Olympic Valley, CA 96146   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Winter Special
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Olympic Valley
Sacramento, CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Off-season in Lake Tahoe...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

My wife and I just recently celebrated our one year anniversary with a night's stay at the PlumpJack Inn in Squaw Valley. We had been to Squaw several times before and really enjoyed the small village they had designed/developed with quant shops, restaurants and bars. Unfortunately during the early summer months they closed early so after dinner there isn't much to do except retreat back to the Inn. The Inn itself is very unique in decor but stylish with a touch of class. Parking on the property is a bit of a free for all especially if the Inn is hosting a wedding as it was the night we arrived. Staff were very accommodating and allowed us to park in the employee lot. The rooms were comfortable however the beds a bit hard for my liking. They had left us a nice note and bottle of champagne for our anniversary which was a nice touch. The evening of our stay there was some music event around Squaw and for some reason they had set up large speakers near the tram lift (adjacent to our room) and pumped loud electronica music until late into the evening. We called the front desk but they apologized they couldn't do anything since it was from someone not associated with the Inn. Since the Inn doesn't have A/C and we needed to close the windows (to cut down in the music) it go a bit stuffy. Breakfast was provided with the room rate and included eggs, bacon, pancakes, juices, pastries, coffee/tea and fresh fruit. We tried the restaurant for dinner after hearing good things on many websites...unfortunately the flavor (or lack of) of the food was disappointing, prices very high for the quantity/quality of food but service was excellent. I am not sure we would try the restaurant again but the hotel was enjoyable. I agree with other guest reviews that the walls are thin given the original structure was built in the 50's. Overall we had a nice staff in Squaw...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    44
    11
    12
    7
See reviews for
31
41
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Recent visit over July 4th weekend was disappointing. We arrived on the 4th to a room that was HOT and STUFFY. The overhead ceiling fan and a fan they had placed in the window barely circulated the hot air around. We requested another fan which they provided but this still did not help. The outside was cooler than our room!! We tried to cool down during the night with a shower. The water pressure was very ,very low (this lasted through our entire stay). Needless to say the first night was miserable. Thankfully, the next night the weather cooled some, but during the day you couldn't go to the room just to relax because it was so uncomfortable heat-wise. We couldn't get a room anywhere else (everything was booked) and we had meetings to attend on the 5th and 6th. Our rooms were 250+ a night, and we received a rate!! Definitely not worth it!! The beds were comfortable though, and the pool area was nice. I'm sure it's a better place to stay during the winter, but I would still opt for one of the other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder Creek, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

what a nice surprise to find this gem of an inn at Squaw Valley. we were overwhelmed by the rustic charm and ambiance. Quiet and small with a great bar and restaurant on site along with a very private pool and hot tub area. the wine list was extensive with a great selection of reasonably prices wines along with some vintage wines. The bar served one of the best Cosmo's I've had other than what I make at home. Looking forward to having another chance to stay here and hang out on those comfy couches placed all around the inn.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Just returned from a great weekend at PlumpJack. I was there for a friends wedding and we pretty much took over the entire hotel. Everything about PlumpJack is SO comfortable. The staff, guest rooms, pool, cafe, EVERYTHING just makes for a wonderful stay, as if you were a guest in their home. They offered us wine at check-in, thought things through and would offer them before we even KNEW we needed them. Breakfast in the morning was deeeeeeelish and the entire weekend was made better because of the PlumpJack and their staff. The only bad thing, I DON'T KNOW WHEN I'LL BE BACK AGAIN :(

Room Tip: We went with the Classic Room and it was PERFECT!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We had a fantastic time planning a wedding for our daughter Angela at PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn! The staff were great to work with and the food and facility was fantastic! All our family and friends that stayed at the Hotel and attended Angela and Keiths wedding had great raves about everything, from the venue choice, food and great rooms! I am very thankful that we made the right choice for this fantastic wedding! Thanks everyone!
Mother & father of the bride!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Just returned from an in-law's wedding held at Plumpjack - they really did a nice job. The rooms are very nice, the beds are comfortable and there was plenty of hot water.

The wedding staff and reception wait staff and bar tenders were very efficient and seemed to be in good spirits.

The included breakfast is excellent - with selections ranging from gluten free granola to eggs and bacon. Lots of fresh fruit, juices and hot coffee.

The lunch was very good too.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor close to the lobby, but all the rooms are pretty central.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed here for two nights to attend our friends' wedding. It's a cute and rustic hotel. The room was very nicely appointed, although it had a kind of damp, musty smell to it. Not sure what that was from. The bed was comfortable, although the thermostat seemed to be broken because the room was boiling hot during the night, so much so that we actually opened the window. The staff were all excellent and very friendly and helpful.

The best part of the stay was the breakfast buffet. It was delicious. Homemade granola, pastries, eggs, bacon/sausage, and homemade biscuits. I would go back just for the breakfast!

The location is also great - right by the Squaw Village and the bottom of the gondola.

Note: we paid a discounted rate for the wedding, so if we had had to pay full price we likely would have stayed elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn

Address: 1920 Squaw Valley Road, Located in North Lake Tahoe, Olympic Valley, CA 96146
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Olympic Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Olympic Valley
#3 Family Hotel in Olympic Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn in North Lake Tahoe brings new meaning to the term "peak experience."Comfortable and casually elegant, our Lake Tahoe mountain escape offers an intimate resort experience, complete with fine dining and an attentive staff that's dedicated to making your stay everything you dreamed of. From the mountains to the lake, there's ample opportunity for outdoor adventure. And with slope-side access and some of the area's best hiking, PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn, near Lake Tahoe's north shore, offers more than just a getaway, but a true experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plumpjack Squaw Valley Hotel Olympic Valley
Plumpjack Squaw Valley Olympic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.