We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasant Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn to your Saves list
PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1920 Squaw Valley Road, Located in North Lake Tahoe, Olympic Valley, CA 96146   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Olympic Valley
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed here for two nights to attend our friends' wedding. It's a cute and rustic hotel. The room was very nicely appointed, although it had a kind of damp, musty smell to it. Not sure what that was from. The bed was comfortable, although the thermostat seemed to be broken because the room was boiling hot during the night, so much so that we actually opened the window. The staff were all excellent and very friendly and helpful.

The best part of the stay was the breakfast buffet. It was delicious. Homemade granola, pastries, eggs, bacon/sausage, and homemade biscuits. I would go back just for the breakfast!

The location is also great - right by the Squaw Village and the bottom of the gondola.

Note: we paid a discounted rate for the wedding, so if we had had to pay full price we likely would have stayed elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    39
    10
    12
    8
See reviews for
23
34
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed here for an extended-family escape and and planning to return next year. The PlumpJack is a little quirky, but we were very comfortable and enjoyed the quiet, intimate setting. The rooms are comfortable, though not exactly luxurious -- a chest of drawers would have been nice, for instance -- and could probably stand another updating soon. Still, it was clean and comfortable, and the hotel service was great. The location is terrific, too, right across the street from the village, and a short drive to the lake. Complimentary breakfast was also quite nice, though not over-the-top, and a little crowded at times. Dinner in the restaurant was delicious, but the kitchen was overwhelmed by our large group and the service suffered. There is a great-looking children's menu, which led us to think that families would be welcome and well-treated, but they clearly were not up to the task. Nevertheless, the was nice enough that we plan to return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveL3_11, General Manager at PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay and feedback. The team is consistently looking to improve our guest experience and have noted your comments regarding dinner. Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Take care,
Steve Lamb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

To put it bluntly, the restaurant is great but the rooms are not at all. Especially considering what you pay for them.

Walls are paper thin, rooms were small, low ceilings, noisy, no closet, just shower, not very clean, stained and worn out carpets, and non professional room service. Now admittedly we were in one of the 'dog friendly' rooms downstairs but still, if we are paying $425/night + $150 for the dog plus resort fees for a Superior King room I expect something much better. Maybe during summer when the pool and patio is open it's different...

On the other hand the restaurant was excellent. If you have to stay there, for the convenience or whatever, make sure you ask for something on the 2nd floor.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveL3_11, General Manager at PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Our building was constructed prior to the 1960 Olympics here in Squaw Valley. It definitely posses some inherent quirks and charm. But, it has been our goal to maintain some of the rustic character and history. With 56 guest rooms, including 8 suites, our set up and room style is that of a “classic hotel”. Standard room size is 300 square feet. Select rooms do have bathtubs and each has a space to hang clothes, but not a standard closet. In recent years, we’ve welcomed dogs to the hotel and our team really enjoys hosting all members of the family. Of course, cleaning and supplies are factors in this decision hence the dog fee. Our food and beverage offerings are a big part of the hotel as well. Guests have come to appreciate and enjoy the hearty breakfast in the morning, lunch or après ski by the fire in the bar or dinner in the dining room. It’s ultimately our goal for guests to enjoy their stay whether it’s to relax and refresh or get outside and engage in all the outdoors and the bustling village have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McCloud, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed in a standard /two queen bed room. it was OK. On the plus side: Clean and comfortable bed On the minus side: Very sterile and odd decorations - you can tell this was a dormitory at one time; ridiculously overpriced snacks in the room - if you go BRING YOUR OWN. View of the street is not very inviting.
There is a "club fee" that is supposed to cover "parking, breakfast & Internet". The breakfast is a buffet and of fair/poor quality. It consists of cold cereal, some cut up fruit and yogurt, bread that did not appear to be fresh, some "snackin cake" looking cakes, scrambled eggs, bacon and frozen/cooked hash browns. There were juices, coffee and tea also. But, to charge someone for this was silly (given the room prices and the lack of amenities). Also - charging for PARKING? And, we never even used the internet? Ridiculous.
On an overall plus side - the staff was extremely nice/helpful.
Just be aware that if you go/stay here, you may not get what you pay for!

Room Tip: Unkown how to pick a good room here - they are "dormitory style". You probably have to pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westwood, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at PlumpJack Inn. Our room was lovely with a view of the back lawns and pool. The atmosphere was serene, very peaceful and quiet. The staff was especially friendly and helpful and the buffet breakfast was excellent and most hearty.

Room Tip: We stayed in a classic king. I would have preferred a superior king, but my husband is in a wheel c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, CA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

This hotel is one of several in the area, but it’s also one of the best. Small in size (especially compared to many of the others) this hotel is warm and inviting. The café/bar has a great menu that is well priced a fabulous wine list and the food is creative and fresh. Complimentary breakfast is included and is hearty. On Sunday’s the café serves up a menu of various Bloody Mary’s and appetizers and there are several televisions which make it a perfect place to watch a game. The rooms are clean, bright and well appointed. During the summer there are several excellent hiking trails just steps from the hotel entrance. We took a hike to Shirley Lake (the hotel provided a map) and then continued on to High Camp. If you hike up, you can take the tram down for free. Overall we were very pleased with our stay and would highly recommend to anyone for a relaxing getaway.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed at this hotel with the family. The location is really great with scenic view of the mountains. This is place where the olymics were held in 1960. The hotel itself is a bit pricey for the quality of rooms they provide. I expect better quality at that price. Overall the hotel could be better in its appearance.
The floors were squicky and the bathroom not really up to the expectation for this price. The service was good and the food was good also.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn

Address: 1920 Squaw Valley Road, Located in North Lake Tahoe, Olympic Valley, CA 96146
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Olympic Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Olympic Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn in North Lake Tahoe brings new meaning to the term "peak experience."Comfortable and casually elegant, our Lake Tahoe mountain escape offers an intimate resort experience, complete with fine dining and an attentive staff that's dedicated to making your stay everything you dreamed of. From the mountains to the lake, there's ample opportunity for outdoor adventure. And with slope-side access and some of the area's best hiking, PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn, near Lake Tahoe's north shore, offers more than just a getaway, but a true experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plumpjack Squaw Valley Hotel Olympic Valley
Plumpjack Squaw Valley Olympic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.