We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pizza” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fireside Pizza Company

Fireside Pizza Company
The Village at Squaw Valley, 1985 Squaw Valley Rd., Olympic Valley, CA 96146
5305846150
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Fireside Pizza Co. is the brainchild of long time friends Ray Villaman and Ted Kennedy. Ray is a 20 year restaurant veteran including - California Pizza Kitchen, Boston Market, the California Restaurant Association and even a short time as President of Blimpies. Ray also had a ton of help from his Father in Law Rich who remains to this day a vital part of the restaurant management team. You may see the big, smiling fella working with the dough in the back or out front with the guests.Other help came from Mark Wheeler, Scott Kennedy and of course Ray's lovely wife Chris and their two sons Jacob and Nicholas. We hope that you enjoy this family creation - combined with some great investors and friends - all wrapped together to bring you the Fireside Pizza Company.We've won a ton of awards for our fresh, unique pizza - but the best award is still when you tell us or your friends that you had an excellent experience here - thanks so much.Sincerely,Fireside Pizza
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Had limited choices in Village at Squaw Valley in mid June. Apparently it picks up in July. So, we chose Fireside Pizza twice during our one week stay at Squaw. Excellent, fresh ingredients both times, and good service to boot! The pasta was also very tasty.
We would return, for sure.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    79
    53
    12
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reno, NV
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great locally owned venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Dined at Fireside last evening and everything was top shelf. We enjoyed a few beers, cheese bread, a salad and pizza. From beginning to end, food and service were excellent. Pizza is gourmet and we enjoyed every single bite. I highly recommend Fireside, it's worth a trip to The Village at Squaw Valley for this restaurant alone.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing pizzas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We ate at Fireside several times throughout our stay and they have the best pizza you can get anywhere!!! The atmosphere is great and so is the food and service! Thank you!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A must for pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I stopped in here for lunch while watching the National Alpine Championships taking place at Squaw Valley. It was clean with a nice ambiance to it. The servers were all very polite, the food was prepared in a timely manner and it was fantastic, some of the best pizza that I've had in a long time. I highly recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting the resort.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Just another pizza/pasta place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We were a bit mystified as to why this place was the top rated restaurant in the Village when we visited. It's not a patch on Plumpjacks or Mamasake. Sure, it does what it says on the tin - which is serve pizzas and some pasta. They don't take bookings so we were waiting quite a while for a table to become available and when we did finally get to order, they forgot my pasta so whilst everyone was tucking into pizzas I was waiting another 10 minutes for the pasta to arrive. Everything was just "OK" and quite chaotic with service overstretched. If you had young children this is possibly the place for you, but otherwise I would head up to Plumpjacks and pay the extra money.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fireside Pizza Company also viewed

Olympic Valley, Lake Tahoe (California)
Olympic Valley, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Olympic Valley, Lake Tahoe (California)
Tahoe Vista, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Fireside Pizza Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fireside Pizza Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.