We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gray Albacore is Not Appitizing” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mamasake

Mamasake
1850 Village S Rd Ste 52, Olympic Valley, CA 96146
(530) 584-0110
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Squaw Valley Rd
Transit: TART stop at Village hotel entrance and regular shuttles from Resort at Squaw Creek.
Description: Mamasake is located at the Base of one of Northern California's most spectacular ski mountains, Squaw Valley. This all season recreation destination is the perfect background for our lively, fun atmosphere where we offer a variety of Asian inspired dishes and creative sushi. Our choices include dishes that satisfy many dietary needs and appetites. Vegetarian, Vegan, Lactose intolerant, Trans fat free, and Organic. Also many choices which are not raw or fish. We serve the highest quality fresh fish sourced from suppliers who are certified as eco-friendly.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Gray Albacore is Not Appitizing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I've been a sushi lover for over 30 years. I've gone to Mamasakis every year while at the Wanderlust event for the past 4 years. It's usually average but edible. It's the only game in town for sushi in Squaw Valley. We should have left after getting mushy edamame, but ordered more. The albacore in the roll we ordered was gray. I asked the waitress what type of fish is gray and she replied that albacore is often gray. Ummmm, google it. It's a white fish that sometimes has pink and even red when really fresh, but not gray. Take a pass on this place. Hold off on your sushi craving until you get to a city that supplies fresh fish.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    19
    10
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“enjoyed meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The atmosphere was nice, and the food was very good. Our server was friendly. We would definitely go back.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Fresh, great albacore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Limited to three restaurants in the village, Mamasake filled the bill when we wanted sushi. The albacore was fresh and the California rolls tasty. Good selection of hot tea.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I haven't been a sushi lover before, but since my husband and I had sushi at Mamasake, I have become addicted! All the food we had there was great!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sonoma county
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Unexpected great find in Squaw Valley”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We visited in May and stumbled upon this unpretentious jewel that was very quiet in the off season. We were not disappointed! The tuna sashimi was some of the best I have had! Being that we were the only one's at the sushi bar, the chef was able to be very creative with our requests. The owner is very select with her sustainable fish selections and are some of the very freshest. They serve wine and beer only and this place probably hops in the winter ski season. So if you are staying in Squaw Valley, and are craving sushi, this place rocks. No need to drive for, in my opinion, lesser quality sushi.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mamasake also viewed

Olympic Valley, Lake Tahoe (California)
Olympic Valley, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Olympic Valley, Lake Tahoe (California)
Olympic Valley, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Mamasake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mamasake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.