We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indifferent staff, mediocre quality” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mamasake

Mamasake
1850 Village S Rd Ste 52, Olympic Valley, CA 96146
(530) 584-0110
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Squaw Valley Rd
Transit: TART stop at Village hotel entrance and regular shuttles from Resort at Squaw Creek.
Description: Mamasake is located at the Base of one of Northern California's most spectacular ski mountains, Squaw Valley. This all season recreation destination is the perfect background for our lively, fun atmosphere where we offer a variety of Asian inspired dishes and creative sushi. Our choices include dishes that satisfy many dietary needs and appetites. Vegetarian, Vegan, Lactose intolerant, Trans fat free, and Organic. Also many choices which are not raw or fish. We serve the highest quality fresh fish sourced from suppliers who are certified as eco-friendly.
California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Indifferent staff, mediocre quality”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Drab decor, not especially clean. Indifferent server didn't know the menu. She forgot two beverages, didn't bring water glasses, forgot two sushi rolls. One dollop of wasabi and a few shreds of ginger for five. Stale rice, small portions of fish and crab of mediocre quality and of a certain age. Not recommended.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    19
    10
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
rocklin
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Good Happy hour special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Hand roll and a beer afternoon special. It is a good deal and a quick snack before the trek through the parking lot carrying all your gear and dragging a child.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“used to be better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

There are some great rolls here, but some are so so. I used to love this place, but the last few times I ate there I was less than impressed.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union City
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“small space and unfriendly staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Traveling w/ infant is hard. Restaurant is not very kid friendly I find. Very small space, hard to move around, almost elbow to elbow w/ your table neighbor. They do not take orders for take-out. The food is fine but I wouldn't say to die for!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Amateurish”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

First impression: Slow to seat people; bad time estimates on waiting time; poor communication; bad table management. Manager never showed her/his face.

Was hungry, but fish was not cut properly; sometimes mealy. Roll combos were creative by didn't really work. Not appetizing.

Not enough room around tables. People and servers constantly brushing by.

It's Tahoe, but still - not good for anyone who likes sushi. Overall, wouldn't recommend it.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mamasake also viewed

Olympic Valley, Lake Tahoe (California)
Olympic Valley, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Olympic Valley, Lake Tahoe (California)
Olympic Valley, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Mamasake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mamasake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.