We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It runs hot and cold” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Village At Squaw Valley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Village At Squaw Valley to your Saves list
The Village At Squaw Valley
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1750 Village East Road, Olympic Valley, CA 96146   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Olympic Valley
GreenLeadersGold level
Northridge, CA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“It runs hot and cold”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Spent three days here before the snow season for a meeting at their conference area. The staff at the check-in were friendly and introduced me to the rat maze in the underground parking area that I followed to our building. The hallways and rooms were very warm and homey looking with lots of wood trim. The room had a full kitchen, fireplace, two, flat screen TVs, separate bedroom, and a balcony that overlooked the businesses and walking lane below. As many have mentioned, the rooms were quite warm probably due to the hydroponic heating system. This kept the floors comfortably warm on bare feet, but left the rooms warmer than was usually comfortable. However, since temperatures were in the 30s to 60s we only had to open the balcony doors to get the temperature cooler.

The walking lane snaked its way from the checkin area, past several buildings, and to the Olympic Village tram that went to High Camp at 8000 feet. Various businesses lined the walking lane that catered to winter clothing and sports or sold beer, coffee, pizza, or meals. Unfortunately since this was off-season, during the week most of the food serving areas opened near noon and were closed in the evening so a number in our group drove to Tahoe City to find a meal of their liking. During the day the walking lane seemed nearly deserted. However, by Friday activity picked up markedly and on Saturday an afternoon Octoberfest celebration brought in the crowds. Of course some had to see if they could drink more than they did the last time they got drunk, but overall the crowds and oompah bands were festive. A few tried to hang around and stay festive until 2 in the morning. So any room that overlooked the walking lane would be bothered by the loud talk and yelling below. Fortunately, a brisk, cold wind came up and swept them away in a short time.

Room Tip: Think about a room that faces away from the walking lane.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManager_11, General Manager at The Village At Squaw Valley, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for writing a review on our property. We appreciate the feedback. The village does die down a bit in September through November, which is why we can give such affordable rates during this time period. We realize not everything is open, so we make accommodations in our rates for this situation. Many enjoy the peacefulness of Squaw Valley in the fall as the weather can still be fantastic and summer like, but you don’t have as many crowds. It sounds like you had an enjoyable stay overall and we hope you will come back during prime season to get the full village experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    90
    38
    32
    33
See reviews for
136
62
2
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This trip was for business, but I was able to do some exploring. The staff was very accommodating and helpful! This is absolutely gorgeous location not far from North Lake Tahoe and Truckee. The mini suite that I had was nice - a little stuffy in the afternoons during my visit but I wasn't in the room all that much .. The suite did have a mini air conditioner for the living space. The evening were a bit cool..,.very refreshing. I was able to turn on the fire place which made me feel like I was in the mountains...snuggled up with a glass of wine. The bed was very comfortable. It was nice to go out on the balcony and look down the village or up towards the mountains. The resort offers bike rentals - I wish I had the time to rent a bike and ride up to N. Tahoe. The bike trail offered such beauty - I was so jealous. I did drive in to N. Lake Tahoe to pick up some food and eat lunch one day. The town is very cute and it appears it had many stores to browse in. I also had the opportunity to ride up the gondola up to the ski lift...I would do this again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManager_11, General Manager at The Village At Squaw Valley, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the nice review! We hope to see you again soon. Maybe come back for some winter fun like ice-skating, tubing, skiing or snow shoeing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

The apartment was sizeable and had more facilities than we expected. We had a pretty good view of the mountain and we were about a 15 minute drive from Lake Tahoe which was ideal. There are loads of grocery stores and restaurants nearby too if you don't want to cook/fancy getting something quick.

Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManager_11, General Manager at The Village At Squaw Valley, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the nice review! We hope to see you again soon. Maybe come back for some winter fun like ice-skating, tubing, skiing or snow shoeing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingwood, Texas
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

From excellent dining venues to fun activities like roller skating at Olympic Village, hiking, biking, shopping and dining we had a great time. Easy to get to other places such as Lake Tahoe, Truckee CA, Tahoe Village and great fishing areas and festivals as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManager_11, General Manager at The Village At Squaw Valley, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for your review! It’s great to hear that you enjoyed the fantastic restaurants and fun activities that are available in Squaw Valley in summer! Next trip you should try the ropes course, bungy sky jump and a round of miniature golf or paintball too! I hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed here in June, in a 1 bedroom suite and enjoyed it very much. I must say that I was a bit wary after having read some bad reviews of the place before our stay but after having personally stayed here, we can now confirm a few things.

The suite itself was faultless in June. We did not encounter the ‘high temperature’ problem as experienced by others in some of the reviews here. We did use the any air-conditioner a few times during the day but preferred to sleep with the windows slightly opened for some fresh air during the nights. The suite was cleaned and tidied satisfactorily on a daily basis. Towels were changed and toiletries replenished when necessary. The kitchenette was well equipped for light ‘holiday’ cooking. Wifi was free, strong and fast.

Our suite faced the courtyard and like others, we did experience some noise for a few nights from the patrons of the restaurants and bars below. Usually this went on till about 2am but we slept late anyway because we were on holidays. I think you cannot expect the management to stop these visitors from behaving the way they want to. They were not causing nuisance IN the hotel/building, which is within the management’s control. All the rooms facing the restaurants/bars are likely to experience unpleasant noise disturbances. Perhaps you can ask for rooms situated at other part of the building to avoid this annoyance.

As for us, we have enjoyed our stay here tremendously and if we ever return for another visit, this place will undoubtedly be our first choice!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManager_11, General Manager at The Village At Squaw Valley, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
We are thrilled to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. And we appreciate you understanding how others come to the village for some nightlife. You make a great suggestion, to those with small children or those that want to head to bed a bit early which is to suggest a room on the outskirts of the village, as we typically can honor those requests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We get to our room and it is 89 degrees. We turn the thermostat down, open the windows, and leave for a few hours. By bedtime, it is still a stuffy 83 degrees. We discover that the system ONLY heats and to cool you need the windows and blinds WIDE open... With lights off because we are all in our underwear and I don't want to put on a show for the whole courtyard and other guests across the way, I open the door and windows to get some cool air. The night drags on. First, we cannot sleep because the celebratory restaurant patrons below our open windows are hooting and hollering until 11PM. Then, children and teens are out hooting and squealing until midnight. Then, starting at 12:30 and going until 2:20AM, roving drunks hollering, laughing, cussing are passing by constantly. The last one threw what sounded like a beer can and broke something glass- what is this? The Bronx or Tenderloin or something? I tried to justify closing the windows but it was still in the 80s in our room. We were able to sleep OK from 2:30 until 6:30 when others started making noises in the Village. Despite doing all we could, our room only made it down to 71 by morning- this place was built wrong!!! They have got to make it possible to cool the rooms without compromising security and noise. Besides that, nice place. (I gave service low marks because I never heard anyone tell folks to keep it down.)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManager_11, General Manager at The Village At Squaw Valley, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
I am very sorry to hear that you had a sleepless night while you stayed at The Village. Of course, our goal is to give you a great night sleep, and clearly we failed.
However, I appreciate you taking the time to write this review as we do share it with our homeowners. Each condominium here is privately owned, and we act as the rental manager. This was a common complaint amongst our guests so we did do something about it, and found a portable air conditioning unit that have been installed in approximately 140 out of our 190 rooms. This has helped the temperature in the rooms quite a bit, while keeping the outside noise out. We have requested that all owners put these in their rooms and have made great progress. Our goal is to have 100% participation.
We would love to have you back as our guest and experience a room with air conditioning. Feel free to contact me directly at (530) 584-6227 and I will be happy to extend a discount and ensure you have a nice, cool room. Thank you again, and please accept our apologies for your sleepless night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Banos, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Went for a wedding, stayed for a weekend. I was so impressed, I came back next weekend with my family and stayed a week!! We stayed in the main building 1 bdrn with den, was so spacious fit 2 adults and 3 children comfortably. Never thought I would be at a ski resort in summer, but let me tell you we will be back!! Great staff, we went for bike rides, hikes and even swam at high camp!! My kids loved the hotel pools also. No problem with noise or anything else. Loved the shopping and live outdoor music in the evenings with bonfires! Can't wait to visit again!!

Room Tip: If traveling with family get a 1bd with den by the pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManager_11, General Manager at The Village At Squaw Valley, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Village. We try very hard to make guest service a top priority and it looks like the staff did their job. We hope you will come back and see us again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Village At Squaw Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village At Squaw Valley

Address: 1750 Village East Road, Olympic Valley, CA 96146
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Olympic Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Olympic Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Village At Squaw Valley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of the Lake Tahoe action. Dining, shopping, activities, and steps from the slopes of world-class ski resort Squaw Valley. When you want to spend more time playing and less time driving this is the place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your The Village At Squaw Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village At Squaw Valley Hotel Olympic Valley
Village Squaw
Village At Squaw Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Village At Squaw Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.