We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome location, perfect for families who ski” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Village At Squaw Valley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Village At Squaw Valley to your Saves list
The Village At Squaw Valley
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1750 Village East Road, Olympic Valley, CA 96146   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Olympic Valley
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“awesome location, perfect for families who ski”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

If you are going to ski 3+ days at Squaw Valley, this is a perfect location right in the heart of Squaw Valley and above the shops and restaurants, these service apartments are close to the slopes - about a 200 foot walk to the Funitel. The apartments are well-maintained. Parking is conveniently underground - so no digging out of snow or lugging skis across the parking lot.

These are not hotels so don't expect to have staff at each door or room service - there are restaurants right downstairs and a Starbucks.

The only negative is that it got WAY too hot at night - and we couldn't figure out how to adjust the thermostat (or if it was even possible).

Room Tip: choose a high floor - the views are better and are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManager_11, General Manager at The Village At Squaw Valley, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write up a review. I must admit that the close proximity, not only to the slopes, but to restaurants and shopping below, are very convenient when traveling with the family! I am happy to hear that your stay with us was well worth it. I hope to see you at The Village at Squaw Valley sooner than later!

Christy Beck
General Manager of The Village at Squaw Valley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    102
    42
    33
    34
See reviews for
151
69
3
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This was my second time visiting this resort and it is my favorite place to stay in Tahoe! The staff is friendly, the accomodations are nice and the area amenities are outstanding! We especially liked the underground parking! I used to work in the hospitality industry and can tell the staff is well trained and responsive. I forgot my toothbrush, so I called to the front desk and had a new one delivered, along with toothpaste and a follow up call from the front desk verifying I had received it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManager_11, General Manager at The Village At Squaw Valley, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write up your experience. I’m so happy to hear that your stay with us was a great one! I will be certain to pass along your comments to our front desk staff. Thank you for sharing and we look forward to seeing you at The Village at Squaw Valley soon.

Sincerely,
Christy Beck
General Manager of The Village at Squaw Valley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Each year I am afforded several opportuities to stay and ski all over the United States. Every year one of our multiple ski destinations always includes Sqauw Valley and we always stay at The Village at Sqauw Valley. I believe this was our 11th year in a row to stay there. We always discuss other locations at SV but we return to The Village. This year we arrived at mid-day and we were rushing to get to the slopes for a few late afternoon ski runs. Our check-in event was completed in just a few short minutes and I remember commenting on how professional the front desk staff operated.

In just a few moments, we were met at the room by the bell staff and our heavy ski luggage event was over and done. Within thirty minutes of check-in I was walking towards the KT 22 chairlift. Which I might add was just a three minute walk from our room. During our stay we had several visitors and we used plenty of plates, flatware and cups. Every day after skiing our room was cleaned and well prepared.

When it comes time to consider our ski adventures for 2014 - I will plan on returning to SV and will be very pleased to stay at The Village once again.

James F.
Pittsburgh, PA

Room Tip: Rooms facing the mountain afford you a chance to watch the sunset over Sqauw Peak. The rooms facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManager_11, General Manager at The Village At Squaw Valley, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Wow! How incredible that this is your 11th year with us! We are so honored that you continue to stay with us throughout the years. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. The quick walk to the slopes is one of the many perks of staying in the heart of the action. Again, thank you for sharing. We look forward to seeing you next season, James!

Sincerely,
Christy Beck
The Village at Squaw Valley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Third time staying here, I enjoy this place.
Great location, comfortable, and friendly staff.
Nevertheless, this time the service was flawed the entire trip.
Day one: they had a reservation mistake with the unit owner. owner guests were given keys to my unit and allowed to enter while i was occupying it. then bell men came to clear out owner storage from the locked closet an hour later.
Day 2: ski storage locker didn't work- a big hastle which never got resolved the entire trip
Days 2+4: cleaning service nowhere to be found. Had to call to get cleaning done 2x.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I have been coming to the Village at Squaw for several years now and I have always been very happy. The location at the base of the mountain is unbeatable and the rooms are large and comfortable, many with a balcony to sit outside and enjoy the sun after a day of skiing. I would highly recommend a trip to Squaw and staying at the Village as it provides convenient access to everything and doesn't require a car to get around. I have also found the staff to be very helpful in finding my way around Squaw and the best places to go for just about anything. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManager_11, General Manager at The Village At Squaw Valley, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for writing such a great review on our property. It is truly appreciated! I will share your positive comments with the staff here and we look forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Overall we were very disappointed with our stay. The walls must be paper thin as we could hear everything going on in the rooms near us and that means that I'm sure they could hear us. The location is without doubt fantastic, and parking is exceptional, however that's where the pros for this place end. The cons: So noisy!!! The noise from other rooms, outside the room (in the village) people leaving restaurants and bars midweek, vehicles and snowgrooming machines and snowmobiles felt like they were inside our room. The quality of the rooms are run down. There were cracks in most walls and inside the bathroom. For 2 people at nearly $300 per night I expected more. Also room was too hot. Only way to cool it down was to open the windows. In the middle of winter this is not ideal. We complained about the noise and were moved from building 5 to building 3 which was also a bigger room. The noise between our neighbours was less however the outside noise was worse. The rooms need better windows to seal the noise. I would recommend staying away from the village (if you have a car stay in Tahoe vista and drive up to Squaw/Alpine or of you don't have a car try to arrange accom that has a shuttle bus to the mountain.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Stayed in a 2 Bedroom, 2 Bathroom, top floor condo for 1 week.
Overall, did not have any huge complaints, and enjoyed our stay.
Not overly impressed, but at the same time, no major complaints.

Pros: Loved the location, very convenient. The restaurants in the village are excellent (especially PlumpJacks and the Bistro), and offers really convenient access to skiing/boarding, shops (shopping was OK) and restaurants. Loved the high ceilings in the main living space and the huge window and the view of the mountain was really beautiful. The kitchen, although compact had everything we needed (including a coffee maker, toaster, cutlery, dishes, pots/pans, etc etc). Liked the heated floors in the bathroom. Liked the fireplace with the timer (didn't have to worry about remembering to turn it off). Thought the unit was clean overall.

Cons: This place needs a serious facelift on the inside. The hallways and carpet, as well as some of the furniture in the units looks shabby (and there were holes in the sofa and holes in the dining room chairs in our unit), the carpet in the units also looks somewhat dated. Needs more storage in the bedrooms!!!!! Was really cold in the unit initially: although 2 days into our stay, we asked for someone to fix this issue, as was partially fixed later that day. Did not think great value for the price paid (although fairly reasonable given the convenience of the location, and I guess not bad for Tahoe).

Spa was OK: not very impressed.

Enjoyed our stay overall, but next time we're in Tahoe we will likely end up staying elsewhere in North Tahoe.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManager_11, General Manager at The Village At Squaw Valley, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Hello and thank you for taking the time to write up your experience. I am happy to hear that your overall experience was a good one. We currently are in the process of renovating our rooms and working with all our homeowners on this initiative. I strongly encourage you to come back when our renovation is complete to enjoy the newly upgraded rooms and an improved experience.

Warm regards,
Christy Beck
General Manager of The Village at Squaw Valley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olympic Valley
0.8 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 stars 797 reviews
0.3 mi away
Squaw Valley Lodge
Squaw Valley Lodge
#4 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 stars 257 reviews
0.2 mi away
PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn
PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 stars 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe
Marriott Grand Residence Club Ta...
#9 of 71 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 634 reviews
22.4 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#21 of 71 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 304 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village At Squaw Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village At Squaw Valley

Address: 1750 Village East Road, Olympic Valley, CA 96146
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Olympic Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Olympic Valley
#4 Romantic Hotel in Olympic Valley
#4 Family Hotel in Olympic Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Village At Squaw Valley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of the Lake Tahoe action. Dining, shopping, activities, and steps from the slopes of world-class ski resort Squaw Valley. When you want to spend more time playing and less time driving this is the place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Village At Squaw Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village At Squaw Valley Hotel Olympic Valley
Village Squaw
Village At Squaw Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Village At Squaw Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.