We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel in a great setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Point Reyes Seashore Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Olema
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Point Reyes Seashore Lodge
Save
You added Point Reyes Seashore Lodge to your Saves list
10021 Coastal Highway One, PO Box 39, Olema, CA 94950   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Olema B&B and Inns
Amersham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel in a great setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

The lodge is well appointed, the welcome friendly - lots of fresh home-baked cookies! The gardens are lovely: we were sorry not to have time to explore the grounds and beyond, as there are walks you can do from there. Breakfast was good, with something for everyone, cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurt, toast etc. The restaurant next door was convenient and we ate well there. There is a computer for guest use - very helpful if you don't have your laptop with you.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the garden side if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    65
    14
    15
    7
See reviews for
26
80
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sequim, Washington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

My wife and I have been coming to Point Reyes once or twice a year since shortly after the Point Reyes Seashore Lodge opened. It is without question one of our favorite places to stay.

The Lodge has 22 rooms. Our favorite is #16, but any of them is nice. It seems like the architect began designing from the outside, then worked out the inside because when there is a trade-off between aesthetics and practicality, aesthetics won. As a result, a few of the rooms have some quirky characteristics. For example, room 16 has the toilet across the entry hall from the lavatory and shower/tub. But just stepping into the room, you feel like you have crossed the transom into a romantic, peaceful getaway. Two steps down into the room itself is a comfortable bed and a fireplace. Keep walking and open the door to a balcony overlooking a well-groomed backyard and a babbling creek. The rooms are also notable for what they do not have: electronic media. No radio, no TV. The only sounds are those of birds chirping and an occasional coyote howl during a full moon.

Breakfast is served in a small room that, on chilly mornings, has a crackling fire to warm. Good coffee, fresh fruit, and amazing pastries baked locally complete the scene.

We generally then set out to hike in Point Reyes National Seashore National Park -- some of the most beautiful shoreline in the country. The Park also has meadows and coastal mountains to walk through. Peaceful natural beauty.

Sometimes we drive over to Sonoma or Napa for some wine tasting. It is only 45 minutes to an hour away.

The only potential downside is that the Lodge is right on Highway 1. The front door to the room is maybe 20 yards from the road so there is traffic noise from time to time. But it is not bothersome for us.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

Looking for an impulsive escape with DH for just one Sunday night, we rented Casa Olema on the grounds of the Pt Reyes Seashore Lodge, not to be confused with the Pt Reyes Inn. After spending the day out at the lighthouse, we stopped at the Oyster Farm (formerly Johnson's) for 18 mediums. We came fully equipped for grilling and cooking, so were delighted to find a clean Webber, picnic table and hot tub on our very private patio. After an orgy of oysters, garlic bread, grilled artichoke, Vermentino and single malt scotch, we were able to soak in the super clean hot tub. A romantic fire by the Murphy bed.... All this after 39 years!

In any event, the lack of a fifth star is due only to road traffic during the day, somewhat dated furnishings and substandard cooking equipment (pots, pans, utensils) in the otherwise well equipped kitchen. Also, the "bedroom" is in the loft up a steep ladder, and the bath is down said ladder.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

My husband and I went overnight to Pt. Reyes Seashore Lodge for our anniversary. For us, it was a wonderful experience. It was close to home (one hour), yet felt like a millions miles away. We have a tight budget, and felt like we had a good deal. We were also thrilled to leave our young child home for the first time since she was born. The lodge was very clean and cute and staff was very nice. The garden was beautiful, we had a room on the ground floor with a deck to the garden. Yes, it was a tiny bit dated, but it was clean and quiet and beautiful location. I loved that we didn't have a TV, you felt like you really could get away. There was a computer in the lobby, in case you were desperate to facebook. In the evening, we enjoyed Pt. Reyes Station, a small town just a couple miles away, and enjoyed drinks at a very nice restaurant. We had dinner at the Farm House Restaurant, next door to the Lodge, which was okay. Food was good, but felt a bit expensive for what you got and the environment. Having the breakfast included was a HUGE plus...they had a good variety and I loved being able to roll right out of bed and have coffee, pastries, yogurts, cereals and fruit available right there. My only disappointment was that we didn't stay two nights, so we could really enjoy our time at Pt. Reyes and the beaches. A perfect get away, especially if you live locally in the Bay Area. We definitely will go back again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

Our entire family stayed here during a recent family wedding. What a fantastic destination wedding venue! We were met by Jeff at the front desk - a wonderfully organized fellow! The wedding took place on the large lawn behind the lodge - surrounded by trees, lots of flowers, and a babbling brook. The cocktail party took place in an adjacent area while the reception - complete with dinner and dancing - was in another beautiful outoor area! The service, food, and music were excellent! Heat lamps warded off the chill in the air. Our family especially enjoyed being together all weekend in one location. Delicious breakfast (complete with Bovine pastries!) were set up each morning downstairs. Only negative was no TV or internet (except one in the lobby).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at Point Reyes Seashore Lodge (not at the ocean). It is a convenient location for visiting the Pt. Reyes National Seashore and Samuel Taylor State Park. The hotel photos mostly show the landscaped, scenic back of the hotel. In front of the building is a small parking area and Highway 1. The road traffic is not heavy nor especially noisy; but it is nearby. I liked being able to have open windows while in the room.

Room Tip: Request an upstairs room to minimize noise from other guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

This was a wonderful place (chosen via internet) that surprised us in many ways. We planned to visit Point Reyes during our three-week trip to CA and National Parks, and were so happy when we got to this great property! The staff was extra-friendly and helpful, the rooms were quaint and beautiful, the grounds and gardens were great! And the restaurant there served delicious food. We wanted to stay another night, but alas...there was not an available room. I would return to Point Reyes Seashore Lodge at anytime! I do hope to stay there again. Thanks for the hospitality and comfortable accommadations!

Room Tip: All rooms have good views, no noise except the natural sounds. Peaceful place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Point Reyes Seashore Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point Reyes Seashore Lodge

Address: 10021 Coastal Highway One, PO Box 39, Olema, CA 94950
Location: United States > California > Olema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Olema
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjoining the Point Reyes National Park, the Point Reyes Seashore Lodge is designed to feel like a private country estate with all of the amenities of a modern inn. Featuring 22 rooms and 2 cottages, all rooms are private and many have Jacuzzi tubs or fireplaces. Complimentary WiFi. Onsite restaurant (featuring local oysters), historic bar and deli. Close to San Francisco and Wine Country. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Point Reyes Seashore Hotel Olema

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Point Reyes Seashore Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.