We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Motorcycle friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hat Creek Resort & RV Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Old Station
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hat Creek Resort & RV Park
Save
You added Hat Creek Resort & RV Park to your Saves list
12533 Highway 44, PO Box 110, Old Station, CA 96071   |  
Hotel amenities
San Diego, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Motorcycle friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

Very friendly staff, perfect out of the way location, clean little hotel, Hat creek flowing just across from the front of rooms, should have packed a fishing pole. The heaters worked very well in the rooms considering it was snowing when we left the next morning on the Harleys. Would definitely go again if we had more time to stay,it's a beautiful area.
NOTE; Be prepared very few restaurants or stores in the area and they close early

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    21
    10
    8
    11
See reviews for
25
22
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alameda, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

Stayed in Cabin 1, right beside gorgeous Hat Creek. Modest, but nicely fitted out, with a lovely small deck off the bedroom, beautiful view of the creek. The only negative to this cabin was the road noise from cars/trucks, passing over the bridge, to which we were the closest. (Running the fan to the air conditioner drowned that out at night.) The creek banks are open to all. Our friends stayed in Cabin 9, and it was laid out totally differently from ours. Most are small, with a couple of exceptions, but comfortable beds and kitchen facilities. The weather couldn't be more glorious! July and August apparently enjoy nearly cloudless blue skies, warm days and early evenings, hardly a breath of wind. Later, cool evenings are just right for enjoying a campfire in one of the communal firepits, and some old-fashioned s'mores! The creek is stocked, and I, along with every other person but one whom I spotted catching fish, got them on worms. Nice fat rainbow trout! Easy drive to Lassen Natl Volcanic Park - beautiful scenery, lakes, gorgeous wildflowers, lovely streams meandering through the meadows, snow at some sheltered spots.

Room Tip: Check their website to see how the cabins, tents, yurts, and RV spots are scattered about.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
293 reviews 293 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

This resort is located about 11 miles from the northern entrance to Lassen Volcanic National Park. There are very few accommodations in the area. We stayed in Cabin C-2 which has a deck overlooking Hat Creek. The cabin is rustic and a throw-back to the fifties, covered entirely in real pine paneling. The bed was very comfortable and we had Dish TV, a renovated bathroom with a beautiful sink, and a new but very tight shower. The kitchen showed its age but there was a full refrigerator, propane stove, and microwave.

Unfortunately the Resort water system failed and everyone had to leave immediately per County direction.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

Beginning in Fall of 2010 we began the planning process for our family reunion, with several family members living in the northern part of California we thought it best to have everyone meet in the Red Bluff - Redding area of the western Sierras. Hat Creek Resort offering cabins, campsites and a motel certainly fit the bill for handling the variety of lodging our family members were looking for.
With reservations made early in 2011, all 30+ of us converged on Hat Creek on August 3 with check-in time at 3pm. By 6pm most everyone was settled in with the few exceptions of those coming in on the 4th.
All was well until 4am on the 4th when the pump burned out on the water system. Both 2500 gallon tanks went dry with no toilets being flushed, showers being taken or dishes washed. By 7am word was being distributed to the campers what the problem was, but no idea as to when the pump would be fixed. By 11am it was obvious all facilities at the camp would be shut down and those dependent on the water system would have to leave.
Mechanical problems or acts of God can be excused, but having no backup system, replacement pump or contengency plan is unexcuseable. In seeking refunds we were charged full price for the first nights stay even though we didn't have full services and the office staff were extremely rude in dealing with anyone who dare question them on first night refunds. The concern was preservation of revenue rather than seeking to make the best of a very bad problem and preserve future customers.
We will not be going back to Hat Creek and it's unfortunate as it's a beautiful area with nice facilities. The corporation that owns Hat Creek needs desperately to train their people on damage control and how to win over dissatisfied customers. By the way, we all went back to my brother-in-laws house in Paradise, Ca. and had a wonderful time!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

We stayed here for a family reunion. It was a nice area & good fishing, but we had several problems with the management. 1) Two months in advance we made reservations for sites near the motel and picnic area so we could easily visit and have meals together. When we arrived, our sites were spread out all over the place & and manager was going to charge us a fee to move our sites closer together. The manager begrudgingly moved us closer together and waived the fee to make the changes even though it was her fault we weren't in the spots we had reserved. 2) We could only have one key to our motel room, so we always had to either leave the room unlocked or hunt down the person who had the key. 3) One family member went home sick. Since the cabin was paid for (no refunds), he said other family members could use it and he left us his key. The management said that we could not stay in the cabin even with his permission. Though nobody stayed in the cabin, the next day we checked it to be sure we got every thing out and the manager accused us of staying there.
We were hoping Hat Creek Resort would be a place where we would come year after year for our family reunion, but after our negative experience with the management, we will be looking for a more accommodating place.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerouacing
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

I have stayed in very few motels & resorts, so I can only compare this to some Super 8s and Motel 6s from that I slept at the past week.
Our motel room at the Hat Creek Resort was about the same cost as those other motels, but much nicer in many ways.
PROS: 1. Clean. 2. Our non-smoking room had no smoke odor. 3. The motel is not new, but appears to be very well maintained. 4. Lots of nice pine furniture, cabinets, tables, dressers, drawers, even drawers in the bathroom! 5. The bath linens were plentiful, not too worn, and were folded in a cute style one might use for house guests. 6. Plenty of water pressure in bath & sink. 7. Refrigerator & microwave. 8. Free WiFi, easy login, seems fast. 9. The a/c works well. 10. Clean, odor-free, comfortable bed & pillows.
CONS: 1. The noise from the upstairs guests penetrates to the ground floor, but it wasn't constant, and I tuned it out most of the time. We turned on the fan on the a/c to mask their TV noise. 2. Right outside the door of our non-smoking room is a "Smoker's Outpost." Just an ashcan on a post, but it may attract smokers. 3. Noise from highway ruins the tranquility, and the grounds are not picturesque either.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

I have visited this property twice in the last several years, on my way through the area on motorcycle trips. The first trip, we did not stay because we camped nearby. We stopped to see if there was food. We were too late and they had closed up. However, the manager (a very nice man by the name of Joe Bertram) offered to make us a sandwich from the BBQ they had earlier. What a nice guy.

This year, on my way to Oregon, my wife and I made a reservation in the motel for a Queen room. We arrived right at 7:00 PM, which is apparently when the store closes. As we pulled up, several guys were moving the old oven out the front door. We went in to check in, and asked if there was anything we could eat. The person at the register said she was closed and so was the deli. Joe Bertram (still the manager), reopened the register, offered to cook us a pizza in the small oven and told us to grab some beers from the fridge, and that he would deliver our pizza to the room when it was ready.

We were pleasantly surprised by the room, which was very affordable, especially with the AAA discount. The room was newly remodeled, and outfitted in pine furniture, with a very comfortable bed and a nice bathroom.

All in all, a very nice and affordable stay, made even better by the customer service provided by Joe and Tracy Bertram, who went out of their way to make us feel welcome.

Highly recommended. Well done!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hat Creek Resort & RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hat Creek Resort & RV Park

Address: 12533 Highway 44, PO Box 110, Old Station, CA 96071
Location: United States > California > Old Station
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Old Station
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Hat Creek Resort And Rv Park
Hat Creek Resort & Rv Park Hotel Old Station

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hat Creek Resort & RV Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.