We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit better than staying at night in the desert” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Rustic Oasis Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Rustic Oasis Motel to your Saves list
Rustic Oasis Motel
2055 Highway 395, Olancha, CA 93549   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Olancha
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A bit better than staying at night in the desert”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

We took it simply for one reason: It is located on the way from Sequioa N.P. thru Death Valley to L.V. We were the only guests... no wonder why. Really old, dirty, damaged. However, wifi was working, and the lady in the office was friedly... before she left the place, leaving us alone in "absolute nowhere".

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    11
    14
    5
    7
See reviews for
7
16
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Before staying I read some negative reviews of this place which we felt were completely unfair - this place is indeed rustic - but for $59 you are staying on the doorstep to Death Valley and amongst the most incredible scenery! If you want modern decor, a flatscreen TV and wifi, then you need to be open to paying more and staying elsewhere. But you should stay here, and spend your evening around the firepit watching the mountains turn pink in the sunset. It's better than anything on television.

The atmosphere here is wonderful - you are miles and miles from anywhere and surrounded by mountains. There is a horseshoe throwing game (which our husbands loved!) but that's pretty much it for entertainment. Olancha is very small - just a gas station and a few houses, but you will probably be able to get some hot food either from the mediocre diner or the Mexican place (which was closed when we were staying there). If you do want more options, your best bet is to drive to Lone Pine, which is about 22 miles further on.

Judy is a wonderful host who worked hard to make us feel welcome, and went way beyond the call of duty by offering us chocolate cake, providing us with kindling and matches so we could sit round the fire, and making us oatmeal in the morning. She gave us lots of information about the local area, places of interest, and even showed us a film sequence in which the motel had appeared (check out this youtube video http://youtu.be/Slg59ufLKXk). She works hard to keep the rooms spotlessly clean, and to offer a friendly welcome, despite the fact that being in the middle of the desert she has limited resources. There are only 8 rooms, and only one other motel in Olancha, so if you're heading to Death Valley NP in the summertime you need to book ahead.

While we were there a couple stormed out complaining that there was no hot water. They refused to allow her to try and fix it, and left. We then went in and both had an excellent hot shower shortly afterwards, so don't believe everything you read or hear. I imagine they had realised that Olancha does not have 2 days worth of activities (!) and had decided to find an excuse to move on.

Our stay was a highlight, and far exceeded our expectations, and sitting by the fire under the stars was a lovely way to spend our evening there. In fact, the showers and service were far better than our "posher" hotel in Vegas, where everyone just tries to take your money all the time. Stay here for a wonderful, wild and rustic experience!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This place is undergoing improvement by the manager, Judy.

Itself is a run down place in the middle of nowhere, but you're in the last frontier so it certainly is the right experience.

There are only a small number of rooms (mine had a large kitchen with fridge and stove) with a big social area outside.

The rooms are spotlessly clean and decorated as though you're in the wild west.

I recommend you stay here as Judy is lovely and has worked very hard to improve this place.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The Motel really is rustic, but quite charming, perfectly located for people on their way to death valley or coming from the south toward east-sierra nevada. not a place to go for an extended vacation, but a good night stop-over place.

Room Tip: The beds in room 6 were a little narrow. I assume it's the same for all rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This motel should be closed. It is very old and was not maintained. You better have a good back to sleep in these beds. It was not dirty but we would not have stayed there for more than one night. Some people may find this place romantic because you think you travel in time 60 years ago. The host Judy was very friendly and did her best to make us feel at home.

Room Tip: go farther on the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We chose this as a stopover between leaving Death Valley and journeying on to Yosemite.
We received a warm welcome and were shown to a clean room. Unfortunately, it was not the room we'd booked via the internet, but the error was soon rectified. Small, but clean room.

Everything outdated and bathroom definitely in need of refurbishment. Patchwork quilt and frilled pillow cases were a nice touch though. Curtains very thin so sleep quality poor owing to outside lights (left on overnight) shining into room. The shower was, however, powerful with lots of hot water. Only one small towel per person supplied, so getting dried after a shower and hairwash proved a challenge! No coffee machine in room, but coffee is available in the office for a 'donation'. Ditto toast and jam breakfast.

Be aware when booking via internet booking site (as we did) that rooms do not necessarily match description e.g. microwave and fridge not available in all rooms. Small TV, but no remote control available. No wi-fi, but good cell reception.

We arrived on Sunday so only decent eatery (Adrianas) closed, but able buy freshly baked pizza at local Mobil gas station. Lone Pine has more restaurants, coffee shops, grocery and other stores available, but is 25 miles away.

A reasonable place to stay if you are on a budget, but if you like to be nearer to amenities, places to walk to and a bit more comfort then pay a bit more and stay in Lone Pine. If we return, that is what we will do.

Room Tip: If you want a slightly larger double room with fridge (old but working) ask for room 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Judy is very friendly. If u need a place to stay overnight and don't have high expectations - go for it. Clean, comparitevely quiet, only the bed in a $39 room is way too soft&sqeeky, fyi. Other than that we had no issue there.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rustic Oasis Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rustic Oasis Motel

Address: 2055 Highway 395, Olancha, CA 93549
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Olancha
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Olancha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Rustic Oasis Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rustic Oasis Hotel Olancha

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rustic Oasis Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.