We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rustic Oasis Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Rustic Oasis Motel to your Saves list
Rustic Oasis Motel
2055 Highway 395, Olancha, CA 93549   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Olancha
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Before staying I read some negative reviews of this place which we felt were completely unfair - this place is indeed rustic - but for $59 you are staying on the doorstep to Death Valley and amongst the most incredible scenery! If you want modern decor, a flatscreen TV and wifi, then you need to be open to paying more and staying elsewhere. But you should stay here, and spend your evening around the firepit watching the mountains turn pink in the sunset. It's better than anything on television.

The atmosphere here is wonderful - you are miles and miles from anywhere and surrounded by mountains. There is a horseshoe throwing game (which our husbands loved!) but that's pretty much it for entertainment. Olancha is very small - just a gas station and a few houses, but you will probably be able to get some hot food either from the mediocre diner or the Mexican place (which was closed when we were staying there). If you do want more options, your best bet is to drive to Lone Pine, which is about 22 miles further on.

Judy is a wonderful host who worked hard to make us feel welcome, and went way beyond the call of duty by offering us chocolate cake, providing us with kindling and matches so we could sit round the fire, and making us oatmeal in the morning. She gave us lots of information about the local area, places of interest, and even showed us a film sequence in which the motel had appeared (check out this youtube video http://youtu.be/Slg59ufLKXk). She works hard to keep the rooms spotlessly clean, and to offer a friendly welcome, despite the fact that being in the middle of the desert she has limited resources. There are only 8 rooms, and only one other motel in Olancha, so if you're heading to Death Valley NP in the summertime you need to book ahead.

While we were there a couple stormed out complaining that there was no hot water. They refused to allow her to try and fix it, and left. We then went in and both had an excellent hot shower shortly afterwards, so don't believe everything you read or hear. I imagine they had realised that Olancha does not have 2 days worth of activities (!) and had decided to find an excuse to move on.

Our stay was a highlight, and far exceeded our expectations, and sitting by the fire under the stars was a lovely way to spend our evening there. In fact, the showers and service were far better than our "posher" hotel in Vegas, where everyone just tries to take your money all the time. Stay here for a wonderful, wild and rustic experience!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Farfromhome213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This place is undergoing improvement by the manager, Judy.

Itself is a run down place in the middle of nowhere, but you're in the last frontier so it certainly is the right experience.

There are only a small number of rooms (mine had a large kitchen with fridge and stove) with a big social area outside.

The rooms are spotlessly clean and decorated as though you're in the wild west.

I recommend you stay here as Judy is lovely and has worked very hard to improve this place.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justinb86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The Motel really is rustic, but quite charming, perfectly located for people on their way to death valley or coming from the south toward east-sierra nevada. not a place to go for an extended vacation, but a good night stop-over place.

Room Tip: The beds in room 6 were a little narrow. I assume it's the same for all rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Limor R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This motel should be closed. It is very old and was not maintained. You better have a good back to sleep in these beds. It was not dirty but we would not have stayed there for more than one night. Some people may find this place romantic because you think you travel in time 60 years ago. The host Judy was very friendly and did her best to make us feel at home.

Room Tip: go farther on the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank papoutte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Olancha hotels

Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We chose this as a stopover between leaving Death Valley and journeying on to Yosemite.
We received a warm welcome and were shown to a clean room. Unfortunately, it was not the room we'd booked via the internet, but the error was soon rectified. Small, but clean room.

Everything outdated and bathroom definitely in need of refurbishment. Patchwork quilt and frilled pillow cases were a nice touch though. Curtains very thin so sleep quality poor owing to outside lights (left on overnight) shining into room. The shower was, however, powerful with lots of hot water. Only one small towel per person supplied, so getting dried after a shower and hairwash proved a challenge! No coffee machine in room, but coffee is available in the office for a 'donation'. Ditto toast and jam breakfast.

Be aware when booking via internet booking site (as we did) that rooms do not necessarily match description e.g. microwave and fridge not available in all rooms. Small TV, but no remote control available. No wi-fi, but good cell reception.

We arrived on Sunday so only decent eatery (Adrianas) closed, but able buy freshly baked pizza at local Mobil gas station. Lone Pine has more restaurants, coffee shops, grocery and other stores available, but is 25 miles away.

A reasonable place to stay if you are on a budget, but if you like to be nearer to amenities, places to walk to and a bit more comfort then pay a bit more and stay in Lone Pine. If we return, that is what we will do.

Room Tip: If you want a slightly larger double room with fridge (old but working) ask for room 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clogmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

Judy is very friendly. If u need a place to stay overnight and don't have high expectations - go for it. Clean, comparitevely quiet, only the bed in a $39 room is way too soft&sqeeky, fyi. Other than that we had no issue there.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelishealthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amstelhoek
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I selected the Rustic Oasis based on the images of the completely worn down sign and the classic roadside motel set-up: 8 rooms in a row, parking in front. It completely envisaged my mental image of a roap trip type place to stay. We were not disappointed! The outside of the motel looks the part, but the room and bed were really quite comfortable. Judy is a very energetic person who has a lot to tell about the surrounding area (be sure to ask her about U2's Joshua Tree!). Breakfast is optional (recommended!). Dining options in Olancha are limited to Adrianna's Mexican Cantina (until 8 pm) or subs at the Mobil gas station. Alternatively, drive up to Lone Pine.
Great place to stay as a basis for a Death Valley, Mt Whitney or Alabama Hills trip. For all you European travellers: this is as "Rustic" as it gets, in a good way!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marieke L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olancha
2.5 mi away
Olancha RV Park and Motel
23.3 mi away
Comfort Inn - Lone Pine
Comfort Inn - Lone Pine
#3 of 8 in Lone Pine
4.0 of 5 stars 499 reviews
24.9 mi away
Dow Villa Motel
Dow Villa Motel
#2 of 8 in Lone Pine
4.0 of 5 stars 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ranch Motel
Ranch Motel
#2 of 3 in Olancha
3.0 of 5 stars 44 reviews
24.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Frontier Motel
24.9 mi away
Whitney Portal Hostel
Whitney Portal Hostel
#2 of 3 in Lone Pine
4.5 of 5 stars 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rustic Oasis Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rustic Oasis Motel

Address: 2055 Highway 395, Olancha, CA 93549
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Olancha
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Olancha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Rustic Oasis Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rustic Oasis Hotel Olancha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing