We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic indeed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Rustic Oasis Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Rustic Oasis Motel to your Saves list
Rustic Oasis Motel
2055 Highway 395, Olancha, CA 93549   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Olancha
Quebec City, Canada
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Rustic indeed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This motel should be closed. It is very old and was not maintained. You better have a good back to sleep in these beds. It was not dirty but we would not have stayed there for more than one night. Some people may find this place romantic because you think you travel in time 60 years ago. The host Judy was very friendly and did her best to make us feel at home.

Room Tip: go farther on the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    11
    13
    5
    7
See reviews for
7
15
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We chose this as a stopover between leaving Death Valley and journeying on to Yosemite.
We received a warm welcome and were shown to a clean room. Unfortunately, it was not the room we'd booked via the internet, but the error was soon rectified. Small, but clean room.

Everything outdated and bathroom definitely in need of refurbishment. Patchwork quilt and frilled pillow cases were a nice touch though. Curtains very thin so sleep quality poor owing to outside lights (left on overnight) shining into room. The shower was, however, powerful with lots of hot water. Only one small towel per person supplied, so getting dried after a shower and hairwash proved a challenge! No coffee machine in room, but coffee is available in the office for a 'donation'. Ditto toast and jam breakfast.

Be aware when booking via internet booking site (as we did) that rooms do not necessarily match description e.g. microwave and fridge not available in all rooms. Small TV, but no remote control available. No wi-fi, but good cell reception.

We arrived on Sunday so only decent eatery (Adrianas) closed, but able buy freshly baked pizza at local Mobil gas station. Lone Pine has more restaurants, coffee shops, grocery and other stores available, but is 25 miles away.

A reasonable place to stay if you are on a budget, but if you like to be nearer to amenities, places to walk to and a bit more comfort then pay a bit more and stay in Lone Pine. If we return, that is what we will do.

Room Tip: If you want a slightly larger double room with fridge (old but working) ask for room 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Judy is very friendly. If u need a place to stay overnight and don't have high expectations - go for it. Clean, comparitevely quiet, only the bed in a $39 room is way too soft&sqeeky, fyi. Other than that we had no issue there.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amstelhoek
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I selected the Rustic Oasis based on the images of the completely worn down sign and the classic roadside motel set-up: 8 rooms in a row, parking in front. It completely envisaged my mental image of a roap trip type place to stay. We were not disappointed! The outside of the motel looks the part, but the room and bed were really quite comfortable. Judy is a very energetic person who has a lot to tell about the surrounding area (be sure to ask her about U2's Joshua Tree!). Breakfast is optional (recommended!). Dining options in Olancha are limited to Adrianna's Mexican Cantina (until 8 pm) or subs at the Mobil gas station. Alternatively, drive up to Lone Pine.
Great place to stay as a basis for a Death Valley, Mt Whitney or Alabama Hills trip. For all you European travellers: this is as "Rustic" as it gets, in a good way!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

If you are looking for something different this is the place for you!
Off the beaten track but well worth the drive to get there.
Judy the manager takes pride in keeping the rooms in comfy clean condition.
And if you happen to be a U2 fan...she can help you find what you are looking for!
Adriana's Cafe just a short drive down the road is an excellent place for breakfast!
All in all a great experience!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

This place is in the process of being revived by new owners. Karen will heat up your dinner, make you an incredible breakfast (fresh omelet, pancakes, and potatoes) and make you feel at home and welcome.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goleta, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Conclusion first: There was nothing wrong, except for the mattresses being pretty saggy; one thing to consider is that: For a no-extra-amenities place (no internet, pool, flat screen, complimentary anything, etc....) in the middle of nowhere, do $68/night seem appropriate?

The motel is pretty much between Death Valley and Sequoia National Parks, which is why we stayed there. If you try to look it up on Google Maps, it won't show you the right location, so here it is: http://goo.gl/maps/fQGX
We had a room with 2 full beds, or more adequately a room with a full bed, and another full bed in a second room (which was more like a big closet with no doors).
It had a fridge, TV set, brittle bars of soap and a door.

It's pretty old in many aspects: I couldn't find a way of booking online, so I had to call to book; the TV set is roughly 12", but we didn't bother turning it on, anyways (who knows, that your neighbor is deterred from watching TV all night might be a good thing?); the rooms themselves are old, too, in particular the mattresses were pretty worn and saggy.

That said though, the room was clean and it was very quiet, thanks to the building being set back from the (not very busy) highway. The owners (who live on the premises) were friendly and helpful enough, and we slept well.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rustic Oasis Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rustic Oasis Motel

Address: 2055 Highway 395, Olancha, CA 93549
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Olancha
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Olancha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Rustic Oasis Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rustic Oasis Hotel Olancha

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rustic Oasis Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.