We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place to visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rustic Oasis Motel

Save Saved
You added Rustic Oasis Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rustic Oasis Motel
2055 Highway 395, Olancha, CA 93549   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Olancha
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Good Place to visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

This place is in the process of being revived by new owners. Karen will heat up your dinner, make you an incredible breakfast (fresh omelet, pancakes, and potatoes) and make you feel at home and welcome.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    11
    12
    4
    6
See reviews for
7
14
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Goleta, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Conclusion first: There was nothing wrong, except for the mattresses being pretty saggy; one thing to consider is that: For a no-extra-amenities place (no internet, pool, flat screen, complimentary anything, etc....) in the middle of nowhere, do $68/night seem appropriate?

The motel is pretty much between Death Valley and Sequoia National Parks, which is why we stayed there. If you try to look it up on Google Maps, it won't show you the right location, so here it is: http://goo.gl/maps/fQGX
We had a room with 2 full beds, or more adequately a room with a full bed, and another full bed in a second room (which was more like a big closet with no doors).
It had a fridge, TV set, brittle bars of soap and a door.

It's pretty old in many aspects: I couldn't find a way of booking online, so I had to call to book; the TV set is roughly 12", but we didn't bother turning it on, anyways (who knows, that your neighbor is deterred from watching TV all night might be a good thing?); the rooms themselves are old, too, in particular the mattresses were pretty worn and saggy.

That said though, the room was clean and it was very quiet, thanks to the building being set back from the (not very busy) highway. The owners (who live on the premises) were friendly and helpful enough, and we slept well.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

First of all the location is awesome- out of an old western film but totally clean and cozy! The wonderful woman running the hotel with her husband let us look at every room - each had its own decorative theme and was totally charming! This woman was the most helpful and kind hotel manager my husband and I have ever come across. She helped us with everything we so much as mentioned and offered us breakfast! Reasonable price, unique and rustic rooms, KILLER MOUNTAIN VIEW, and the sweetest, kindest staff! There is no better place to stay around death valley!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topanga, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Definitely rustic - quite old. worn, and simple, no internet when we were there (they are trying to bring it in), not a place for those looking for even the simple luxuries of (say) Quality Inn like little shampoo bottles, but with atmosphere and old-fashioned mom & pop hospitality to beat others in the bargain tier like Rodeway or Motel 6. Fresh coffee and food for breakfast. Stark beauty of the Southern Sierras to the West with Olancha Peak (over 12,000') towering above the hamlet of Olancha (with two restaurants, about a mile North of the motel), and the high desert plain all around. A nice stop halfway (3 hrs) between LA and the Yosemite portal at Lee Vining.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olancha, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Pros: It met my criteria; clean bathroom and sheets, very small town, along my route of travel, a taste of the desert and mountain scenery, inexpensive, and had 3g cell coverage. The management was helpful. I was looking to stay away any city and loved the smal town feel of the area. Not much around.

Cons; Not much around, physically run down, squishy beds. Other folks who care more about that sort of stuff will likely elaborate in their reviews.

I travel a lot and this is about what I expect for my $60 a night. I would stay again, especially if it was just to sleep for the night.

Room Tip: Room 1 was nice. Room 2 had smokers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

My son and I stayed at the Rustic Motel using it as base for Mount Whitney hiking. The Inn keeper Judy was really helpful. I found the place simple, clean and quite. Coffee was on in the AM in the front office. Had good time, the Inn keeper had a small fire pit out in front in the common area, we sat out on benches, had a camp fire and roasted marshmallows. Great place and half of what Lone Pine was asking. We also due to our location went Ghost-towning and hiking at Fossil falls. Judy had good information on local restaurants and local sites.

Room Tip: ask for rooms on the end away from the well if you are light sleeper like me
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Firebaugh, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

Reciently my daughter and I had the opportunity to say at a wonderfully quaint little Motel called the Rustic Oasis. It was truly not only a beautiful place but the hospitality was one of a kind also. We were spellbound by the beauty of the land that surrounded us. Upon checking into what appeared to be a lonley motel off highway 395 we found a jewel of a motel manager and very clean rooms. Not only was she very accomidating but she offered us something to eat as well. We unpacked our belongings into a 2 bed room. It was very clean smelling with what could only be described as " right out of grandmas house" decor. So inviting that we postponed or departure date by another night. This motel manager also came by to make sure we were comfortable and asked if we needed anything else. She then invited us to a bonfire outside that night at one of the motels fire pits. Before long cars were pulling in, checking in and joining us. People from every where. A lovley couple from hungary and there two boys, an older couple from germany, someone from Los Angeles and more. It was fun learning about these people. Would I stay there again.....Already making plans to.

Room Tip: If you have someone that snores ask the manager for one of her cute 2 bed bedrooms with the sliding...
See more room tips
Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rustic Oasis Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rustic Oasis Motel

Address: 2055 Highway 395, Olancha, CA 93549
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Olancha
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Olancha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Rustic Oasis Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rustic Oasis Hotel Olancha

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rustic Oasis Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.