We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Margarita-ville” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Agave Maria's

Agave Maria's
106 S Montgomery St, Ojai, CA 93023 (Formerly Antonio's Mexican Restaurant & Cantina)
+1 805-646-6353
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 84 Restaurants in Ojai
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: We have a great outdoor patio shaded with colorful umbrellas, as well as covered patio and indoor seating. Call us to book your next event
Ojai, California, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Margarita-ville”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I dont know if Ojai needed another Mexican joint - but we got it. The food holds up, but I really go there to enjoy the drinks and chips. The owners are hands on, they actually work there [!], and it shows. that is why I appreciate this spot - but I would ask them to pare the menu down and focus on a few "local" specialties. The margaritas and tequila bar is A+. Clean, good service.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    40
    15
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Redwood City, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Mexican resort feel, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

recommended by our hotel, Agave Maria was excellent mexican influenced food. The chef came and took our order so we went with his recommendations and were very happy. Great atmosphere, you can telll the locals love it as well.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“marginal at best”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I stopped in for a quick late lunch and ordered a very disappointing chicken caesar salad. Wet romaine, dry chicken breast, and watery chipotle caesar dressing.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Very Good Mexican Food; Great Patio!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Ojai was the fourth stop of our Central Coast road trip the last week of September. Based on reviews on this site and elsewhere, I'd made reservations at Agave Maria's well in advance.

The place was welcoming and comfortable. We sat on the patio on this perfect early autumn evening.

The menu offers the complete range of Mexican dishes, including some appealing choices you don't see every day. Caron ordered the Tacos Del Mar; I opted for the Tacos Doble (I chose the carnitas filling). Both were very good. The service started out well, but seemed to deteriorate somewhat as the evening went along. It was a challenge to get and pay our bill.

Despite the iffy service, we would recommend Agave Maria's to anyone looking for good Mexican food -- and a great patio -- in Ojai.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Great, fresh food. I had the ceviche, and it was awesome. The outside patio is perfect to sit if it isn't too hot.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Agave Maria's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agave Maria's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.