We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bonnie Lu's Country Cafe

Bonnie Lu's Country Cafe
328 E Ojai Ave, Ojai, CA 93023-2739
805-646-0207
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 89 Restaurants in Ojai
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The atmosphere was very nice. It has a 50 's diner environment and comfortable seating.

The selection of breakfast items was large and varied. I had biscuits and gravy and my wife had poached eggs with ham. Mine was above average while hers was excellent.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    46
    13
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ojai, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly service, central location--Bonnie Lu's has it all!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We live in Ojai and think Bonnie Lu's is great! The breakfasts are particularly good, with excellent coffee, ripe fruit, and a wide range of options for meat-eaters and vegetarians alike. Be sure to try the multigrain toast (ask for a full order). Jenny, the owner, is the quintessential friendly, down-home cafe owner. You'll meet her bustling about, making sure coffee cups and beverage glasses are filled and that everyone is greeted and wished a fabulous day. The rest of the staff are equally friendly and service-oriented. These folks really seem to care! We've tried all the breakfast options in Ojai, and we've decided Bonnie Lu's gets the prize for "best breakfast in Ojai." Oh, and get there early on Sunday, because every other Sunday at 10, they have a great bluegrass band to entertain you while you eat. If there are small fry in your party, they'll love the special kids' cups for their drinks. A small detail, but one that demonstrates the truly friendly, caring attitude in this terrific little restaurant!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Country Style Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I have been here too many times to count. The best breakfast in Ojai. The service is wonderful too. They are very kid friendly and a good place to take a large family.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cincinnati
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“awesome breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Food portions were hugh and the staff was friendly! The coffee was awesome! best biscuits and gravy on the west side of the mississippi~!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good location for lunch in Ojai”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Right in the heart of Ojai close to Libby Park. Good, simple food with a friendly atmosphere. I'd eat there again, maybe for breakfast. My tri-tip, green chile grilled sandwich was tasty but potato salad a bit sweet for my taste. Good value and fresh food.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bonnie Lu's Country Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Bonnie Lu's Country Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bonnie Lu's Country Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.