We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total Bliss!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ojai Valley Inn & Spa

Save Saved
You added Ojai Valley Inn & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ojai Valley Inn & Spa
5.0 of 5 Spa   |   905 Country Club Rd, Ojai, CA 93023   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer Midweek Escape
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Ojai
Camarillo
1 review
“Total Bliss!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

My sister and I stayed at the Ojai Valley Inn and Spa in April 2013 , and we had a wonderful time. The setting itself is both serene and majestic, and the staff only adds to the beauty and charm of Ojai. As soon as I made our room reservations, I was contacted by a staff member, who then made all of our spa and activity reservations.
As always, the staff (from the front desk, to the bell hop, spa reception, fitness instructors, and spa technicians) was especially hospitable and welcoming. The room accommodations, grounds, and spa facilities were luxurious and spotless.
Just sitting by the spa lap pool was relaxing and quiet, but we especially enjoyed our yoga classes, fitness walks, and pedicures. We tried our hand at the silk scarf painting with Georgia, and what a treat!! Georgia is so kind, and her gentle guidance made it a lovely experience!
We had such a blissful vacation that we plan to make our annual sisters retreat at Ojai every spring!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

933 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    726
    124
    40
    28
    15
See reviews for
191
416
25
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Glenwood Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

with what we consider "midlife" in our culture happening this year, we took off for a weekend of rest and pampering to Ojai Spa and Resort. This was my second trip and it keeps getting better and better. The atmosphere even on a rainy day was a retreat.
The food and service and spa treatments left me completely relaxed and ready to hit the second side of the hill of life with a new lease on life. I have not slept so well in years! It is worth the extra pennies to have the experience. The staff seems like one big happy family and most of them have been there for years and that is a tremendous statement for the owners. I am already trying to think of an excuse to go back.

Room Tip: Depending on whether you are traveling with children will depend on what part of the resort you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

From a quick and efficient check in to every employee taking time to ask "is there anything I can do?" - we had a wonderful experience at the Ojai Valley Inn and Spa. At one point we asked - could they really be that nice? And the answer is YES. The rooms were recently renovated and our room looked out to the golf course. It was inspiring each morning to see mountains, tall trees and well maintained grounds knowing that the day was only going to get better. We got stuck going to the Oak Grill every morning because it was delicious we wanted to keep trying different dishes. We loved blueberry pancakes, egg white omelette, and huevos rancheros.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2007
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

What a great return on my investment! Hotel was within minutes of our 2 tournament sites, on site courts so valuable prior to start of play, again, what a great idea! Great workout facilities and stretching room with everything you need at your finger tips.

Kept trying to find a reason to save $$$ and not stay in years to come, but can't (oh darn,), so I'm booking the hotel again for next years tournament.

Don't be penny wise, pound foolish and try to stay somewhere else in Ojai.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland, maine
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We had a great stay at the Ojai Valley Inn; it was a perfect place for a retreat into the mountains and fertile valley during a longer stay in Los Angeles. The landscaped grounds are meticulously kept, and gorgeous views surround you as you wander about the sprawling resort, dine outside, or just relax in one of many outdoor seating areas. I love the old Mediterranean style architecture with its stucco and archways, and our room was richly appointed with heavy carved wood furniture and warm colors.
When we arrived, several valets quickly ran to help us, and although there was a bit of a wait at the front desk, our assistant, Dominic, couldn't have been more helpful and focused on making our stay pleasant - he eagerly offered to make dining reservations, suggest activities, and orient us to the resort.

All of that deserves a solid five stars, but I have to knock off a star for the restaurants where we had lunch (Jimmy's Pub), dinner and breakfast (Oak Grill) - the food was above average, except for a squash ravioli dish which tasted like pasta pumpkin pie (not in a good way) and the service was forgetful and seemed disinterested. I would have expected top notch restaurants in such a well run resort. When we return, and I hope we do, I'll likely head to town for dinner.

For activities while in Ojai, a hike up the mountains (we did Gridley Trail, great), a horseback ride through an avocado farm and up a mountain ridge (through Bodee's stable), and a visit to Old Creek Winery are all excellent ways to spend your time.

Room Tip: Next time I will ask for a room with a balcony with a metal railing - otherwise, when you sit down w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atascadero, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This is the place to go for superb spa treatments and service from all of the staff members. Each and every staff member is dedicated to your comfort and happiness at this resort. Our room was perfect, the food at the different restaurants was delicious, and we were pampered from head to toe at the spa. Fabulous experience and we will be returning soon.

Room Tip: Communicate your main focus for the property, i.e. spa, golf, etc. so your room location is appropri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

There were 4 of us on this year's girls trip and we picked this resort as it offered so many amenities and we were not dissapointed. The Shangr-la rooms were wonderful and great to share (we booked 2 rooms between the 4 of us). We had a spa day and all of the treatments we had were well beyond our expectations and priced right. The golf course was in great shape even though we did not use it. We used the garden pool and hot tub which was excellent, drinks were even brought to us as well as sunscreen.
There is a resort fee and it is well worth it, we used several of the facilities and went to several of the stretch and yoga classes that were offered.
Our dining experience in the Oak room was wonderful and again priced right.

The location of this resort is perfect as we landed in L.A. and drove in after we stopped at the Premium Outlet Mall, we also did a day trip over to Santa Barbara and returned to Ojai the back way and drove by Lake Casitas. The town of Ojai offered us some wonderful dinning choices especially since we were foodies.

Can't wait to go back, maybe next year????

Room Tip: Shangri-La rooms are worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ojai Valley Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ojai Valley Inn & Spa

Address: 905 Country Club Rd, Ojai, CA 93023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Ojai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ojai Valley Inn & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 80 years, Ojai Valley Inn & Spa has been considered one of the best secrets among travelers. Escape to this historic resort of casual elegance featuring luxury accommodations, Spa Ojai, and a championship golf course. Ojai Valley Inn & Spa has 308 deluxe guest rooms, including suites, many with fireplaces and private balconies or patios overlooking the golf course and nearby mountains. Our Spa Penthouse, Hacienda Penthouse and 75 other suites offer you the ultimate in luxury accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Ojai Valley Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ojai Valley Hotel Ojai
Ojai Valley Spa
Spa Ojai
Ojai Valley Inn And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ojai Valley Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.