We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the $$$ to staying during The Ojai tennis tournament” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ojai Valley Inn & Spa

Save Saved
You added Ojai Valley Inn & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ojai Valley Inn & Spa
5.0 of 5 Spa   |   905 Country Club Rd, Ojai, CA 93023   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer Midweek Escape
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Ojai
2007
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Worth the $$$ to staying during The Ojai tennis tournament”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

What a great return on my investment! Hotel was within minutes of our 2 tournament sites, on site courts so valuable prior to start of play, again, what a great idea! Great workout facilities and stretching room with everything you need at your finger tips.

Kept trying to find a reason to save $$$ and not stay in years to come, but can't (oh darn,), so I'm booking the hotel again for next years tournament.

Don't be penny wise, pound foolish and try to stay somewhere else in Ojai.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

916 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    715
    120
    38
    28
    15
See reviews for
187
411
25
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
portland, maine
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We had a great stay at the Ojai Valley Inn; it was a perfect place for a retreat into the mountains and fertile valley during a longer stay in Los Angeles. The landscaped grounds are meticulously kept, and gorgeous views surround you as you wander about the sprawling resort, dine outside, or just relax in one of many outdoor seating areas. I love the old Mediterranean style architecture with its stucco and archways, and our room was richly appointed with heavy carved wood furniture and warm colors.
When we arrived, several valets quickly ran to help us, and although there was a bit of a wait at the front desk, our assistant, Dominic, couldn't have been more helpful and focused on making our stay pleasant - he eagerly offered to make dining reservations, suggest activities, and orient us to the resort.

All of that deserves a solid five stars, but I have to knock off a star for the restaurants where we had lunch (Jimmy's Pub), dinner and breakfast (Oak Grill) - the food was above average, except for a squash ravioli dish which tasted like pasta pumpkin pie (not in a good way) and the service was forgetful and seemed disinterested. I would have expected top notch restaurants in such a well run resort. When we return, and I hope we do, I'll likely head to town for dinner.

For activities while in Ojai, a hike up the mountains (we did Gridley Trail, great), a horseback ride through an avocado farm and up a mountain ridge (through Bodee's stable), and a visit to Old Creek Winery are all excellent ways to spend your time.

Room Tip: Next time I will ask for a room with a balcony with a metal railing - otherwise, when you sit down w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atascadero, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This is the place to go for superb spa treatments and service from all of the staff members. Each and every staff member is dedicated to your comfort and happiness at this resort. Our room was perfect, the food at the different restaurants was delicious, and we were pampered from head to toe at the spa. Fabulous experience and we will be returning soon.

Room Tip: Communicate your main focus for the property, i.e. spa, golf, etc. so your room location is appropri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

There were 4 of us on this year's girls trip and we picked this resort as it offered so many amenities and we were not dissapointed. The Shangr-la rooms were wonderful and great to share (we booked 2 rooms between the 4 of us). We had a spa day and all of the treatments we had were well beyond our expectations and priced right. The golf course was in great shape even though we did not use it. We used the garden pool and hot tub which was excellent, drinks were even brought to us as well as sunscreen.
There is a resort fee and it is well worth it, we used several of the facilities and went to several of the stretch and yoga classes that were offered.
Our dining experience in the Oak room was wonderful and again priced right.

The location of this resort is perfect as we landed in L.A. and drove in after we stopped at the Premium Outlet Mall, we also did a day trip over to Santa Barbara and returned to Ojai the back way and drove by Lake Casitas. The town of Ojai offered us some wonderful dinning choices especially since we were foodies.

Can't wait to go back, maybe next year????

Room Tip: Shangri-La rooms are worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Purchased the Relax and Rejuvenate package for my wife's birthday with the expectations of doing just that, relax and rejuvenate. Upon arrival we were escorted to the spa for our treatments, which were without a doubt the best three hours of the trip. After our treatment was done we were given our room key directed to our building complex. Upon arrival we were surprised to find that our suite had not been cleaned after the prior guests visit (beds not done, trash on ground). We immediately contacted the front desk and told them about our situation to which they seemed very apologetic and gave us a key and escorted us to another room. This room was clean, however it looked more like a hotel room rather than suite, no fireplace, no balcony as we had reserved. We did not even bother to go in but rather just turned around with the bellboy and headed back up to the front desk. The third time was a charm, or so we thought. We finally received a suite comparable to the first one, but clean so we were satisfied. After resting for a bit we took off for drinks over at Jimmy's Pub and dinner at the Maravilla restaurant which were both excellent. After a late dinner we decided to call it a night at which point our stay took a turn for the worse. As it turns out the Ojai Valley Inn and Spa is a pet friendly establishment (unbeknownst to us) and we had the luck of the adjacent guest checking in checking in with a Pomeranian after we had retired to bed. Between the barking dog and the loud music (it turned out they were part of a wedding party) I finally had to get up at midnight to go talk to them about toning it down, which they readily obliged. However by 6 am the dog started barking again as it needed to go out and his owners were in no condition to help him out. I guess my main issue was if you had guests who were checked in under the "Relax and Rejuvenate" package why would you book a party with a dog right next to them? Shouldn't there be pet friendly and non pet friendly areas to the Inn? When I spoke with the Front Desk Manager (Samantha Boone) she was more than apologetic and offered to send us a credit for another nights stay so they could make it up to us, which I thought was a sincere gesture. Two months, 3 emails and 2 phone calls later I have not seen this gift certificate nor any other type of response which I feel shows an incredible lack of follow through. To say that I am dissatisfied would be an understatement, I would have rated them lower but I do have to concede that the Spa portion of the Inn is first rate.

Room Tip: If you are not bringing your dog with you ask for a room in a non pet friendly area!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I just had to write a review about this resort. I stayed here back in March with 3 girlfriends and it could not have been better. The service blew us away. Everyone is so friendly, and eager to help. We were thoroughly impressed with all employees we came into contact with. Some highlights: free wifi, spacious rooms, amazing staff, FREE fitness classes, beautiful grounds, did I mention the service? I highly recommend this resort and look forward to many future stays! Thanks OJAI!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My wife and I and another couple went to Ojai to visit friends. We choose t stay at the Ojai Inn and Spa.
We had a large room in Casa Blanca section.Our room was large and had a most comfortable couch besides the king bed and a gas fire place. The room had a coffee maker with good coffee which was nice. The bathroom had a separate room for the toilet which is most appreciated since two people can use the bathroom. The separate shower was nice. The view was of the golf course.

The golf course is pretty to look at even if you are not a golfer. I am told it it's a challangeing course and seeing the hilly terrain I would agree.

There is a spa with all kinds of treatments. My friend raved about their massages while I found mine to be typical of a spa. The spa area has a whirlpool and suana and steam which is nice, My friends took the paletes and yoga classes.

The Inn offers several food establishments but found them all average for breakfast and lunch. We had dinners in the local restaurants in the very nice downtown and were not disappointed.
There several swimming pools and good tennis courts.
Because everything is spread out and because of the hilly terrain walking is a requirement and for some a challange. They do have golf carts to transport guests if you call the operator and arrange it.

The Inn is very quiet and relaxing which is great

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ojai Valley Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ojai Valley Inn & Spa

Address: 905 Country Club Rd, Ojai, CA 93023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Ojai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ojai Valley Inn & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 80 years, Ojai Valley Inn & Spa has been considered one of the best secrets among travelers. Escape to this historic resort of casual elegance featuring luxury accommodations, Spa Ojai, and a championship golf course. Ojai Valley Inn & Spa has 308 deluxe guest rooms, including suites, many with fireplaces and private balconies or patios overlooking the golf course and nearby mountains. Our Spa Penthouse, Hacienda Penthouse and 75 other suites offer you the ultimate in luxury accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookIt.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Jetsetter and Venere so you can book your Ojai Valley Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ojai Valley Hotel Ojai
Ojai Valley Spa
Spa Ojai
Ojai Valley Inn And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ojai Valley Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.