We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous resort with top-notch service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ojai Valley Inn & Spa

Save Saved
You added Ojai Valley Inn & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ojai Valley Inn & Spa
5.0 of 5 Spa   |   905 Country Club Rd, Ojai, CA 93023   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Fall Midweek Escape
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ojai
Pacifica, California
1 review
“Gorgeous resort with top-notch service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Rating the Ojai Valley Inn & Spa as "excellent" is almost an understatement. My husband & I just spent our anniversary there and it was a dream getaway. From the beautiful room we had with a fireplace and incredibly scenic balcony, to the huge pool and jacuzzi area just below our room, to the wonderful rosemary & lavender shrubby surrounding the resort, to the impeccable customer service everywhere we went. The staff was able to predict our every desire and did so with a genuine smile every time. I would highly recommend this gorgeous resort to couples, families, girls' & guys' trips, business adventures and absolutely anyone else looking to get away from it all!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    761
    132
    42
    30
    16
See reviews for
200
438
28
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

A great place to get away and unwind. Wonderful for couples or families. Any view is wonderful. Love all the new upgrades such as the adult pool and coffee stand near the family pool. Loved the sheets and comfy bed. It is a very quiet, peaceful, and relaxing place to be. Everyone is dressed down for golf or the spa. You don't have to get fancy.

Room Tip: They are all amazing, but we even went on the cheaper side of things and I love the view of the golf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, CA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This was our first time staying at the resort, we stayed four nights in a fireplace Shangri-La room. Overall we loved our stay. The bed was comfortable, we had a nice view of part of the golf course, and also a nice balcony to sit on. Twice daily turn down service was good when it happened - on two the four nights someone never came and we ended up having to call to get our schedule for the following day delivered (it’s supposed to be left with the evening turndown). The property is large, well maintained, and beautiful, with a large number of activities to choose from each day. We tried yoga, spin, TRX (full body work out class), rented bikes, among other things. The fitness area had plenty of cardio machines, weight machines, and free weights. Service was great, and the staff friendly, exactly as you would expect from this type of resort.

Food: The breakfast in the morning at Oak Grill was tasty. We chose the buffet which offered something for everyone – fresh squeezed orange juice, omelet station, pancakes and waffles, fresh fruit, eggs, pastries, etc. The coffee was tasty and there’s also a small coffee stand that can make specialty coffee drinks. The food at Oak grill for dinner was so-so, and in retrospect we probably should have tried one of the many good restaurants in town that night. We did go to Osteria Monte Grappa, a family owned Italian restaurant in the downtown and it was amazing. We also had dinner at Maravilla one night, and that was fantastic and worth going to. Evenings on the weekends we enjoyed live music in the lounge which was fantastic, once while playing scrabble on a board they provided. On Thursday’s the manager’s reception offered complimentary wine and tasty appetizers served by the managers themselves.

Additional thoughts: make reservations early for dinner. If the resort is busy, sometimes the dinner restaurants can be fully booked. Also, it was somewhat busy when we were there, and as a result sometimes the women’s spa area was crowded.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The Inn has a stunning location. Our room in the original wing of the hotel build in the 1920s had a spectacular view of the gold course and surrounding wooded hills. We are not golfers, but the property has a spa, tennis courts, and other activities. Unfortunately, the town of Ojai can be walked in a few minutes and there is not that much to see. One downside to the Inn is its large footprint. It can be a bit of a hike from one facility to another, and without a map you can get lost. We solved the problem by hailing a bellman in one of the nearly ubiquitous golf carts and had him take us where we were going. Our room had the usual oddities associated with a nearly 100-year-old building, but I suspect the other, much newer, rooms would be more up to date. The Inn was renovated in 2004. We were warned by the reservations staff before booking that the building we selected was old, but friends had suggested it. We can recommend it too. It is centrally located on the property and has its own charm. Bottom line, this is a destination resort, if you are not looking for a self-contained vacation spot, this is probably not what you want. There doesn’t seem to be much in the way of hiking or other local activities. There are 2 or three upscale restaurants in town, but not too many alternatives to the Inn’s own offerings.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prairieville, Louisiana
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The bell staff, housekeeping, front desk, & concierge were all absolutely wonderful. They all go out of their way to help you in any way they can. My room was absolutely gorgeous with 2 fireplaces. I will definitely return when I visit California in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My hubby and I just stayed here to celebrate my birthday. It is a beautiful resort. The rooms are big and have balconies. The pools are great. We especially liked the Spa pool since we didn't have our kids with us. All of the staff is great. They even sent me a cupcake for my birthday to our room. This resort was very relaxing for a couples only trip. it would also be great with kids. they have a family pool that has a small pool that is only 1 1/2 feet deep that would be perfect for our three year old. they also have dive in movies with popcorn some nights. The resort is pretty big and they will drive you around in golf carts. I can't wait to stay here again, maybe with the kids next time.

Room Tip: check out the resort and see what you want to be by to make sure you get a room close to it. the re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamond Bar
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I just spent my anniversary weekend at the hotel. We were treated wonderfully by all of the staff. Despite our not having a luxury car, the valets were just as nice and helpful to us as to anyone else. The housekeeping staff took extra effort with our room, laying out our toiletries very neatly and efficiently on white towels. Upon entering the adult pool area, we were immediately met by staff who set up our lounges with towels and brought us ice water to drink. Later, I was brought complimentary frozen grapes. I truly felt pampered.

My one complaint is the food. I highly recommend eating meals offsite. The food is only average and very overpriced.

Room Tip: Many of the rooms require climbing a number of stairs. If this is a problem, be sure to ask for a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ojai Valley Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ojai Valley Inn & Spa

Address: 905 Country Club Rd, Ojai, CA 93023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ojai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ojai Valley Inn & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 80 years, Ojai Valley Inn & Spa has been considered one of the best secrets among travelers. Escape to this historic resort of casual elegance featuring luxury accommodations, Spa Ojai, and a championship golf course. Ojai Valley Inn & Spa has 308 deluxe guest rooms, including suites, many with fireplaces and private balconies or patios overlooking the golf course and nearby mountains. Our Spa Penthouse, Hacienda Penthouse and 75 other suites offer you the ultimate in luxury accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Tingo, BookIt.com, Otel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Ojai Valley Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ojai Valley Hotel Ojai
Ojai Valley Spa
Spa Ojai
Ojai Valley Inn And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ojai Valley Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.