We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would go back!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ojai Valley Inn & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Ojai Valley Inn & Spa to your Saves list
Ojai Valley Inn & Spa
5.0 of 5 Spa   |   905 Country Club Rd, Ojai, CA 93023   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fall Midweek Escape
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ojai
Los Angeles, California, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Would go back!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Really liked it here. Nice place close, but not too close to Los Angeles. Snuck away for one night in February. We stayed in one of the Fireplace Shangri-La rooms. It was nice a decent size, but I had expected a little more for the price as this place is not inexpensive. You do pay for teh resort though which is really nice. We took advantage of the pools, gym, spa and fitness classes all of which were excellent. Enjoyed a drink at Jimmy's pub as well. We did not have a meal at the hotel opting instead for Suzanne's in town which was great. All in all this place was very relaxing and in a beautiful setting. We will surely be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    792
    139
    42
    30
    17
See reviews for
206
454
28
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

First, this place is just a wonderful resort. Quiet, secluded, serene, and with outstanding service. On top of that, they are dog friendly and having our little Chewie there was so much fun. Not only do they make you feel welcome, they welcome your dog with open arms as well. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a prime resort property situatined in an extraordinary location, in absolutely superb condition with a first rate staff and outstanding accommodations!

Rooms are divinely commodious, impeccably maintained and luxuriously furnished, with almost auto-everything. A bit too "green" oriented, especially with regard to lighting, but to good intent.

Room Tip: Try to get higher-category directly overlooking golf course and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Beautiful resort set in a valley and we got the best room (#351) overlooking it. Loved sitting on our very, very private (they aren't all like this) balcony in the a.m. having coffee and enjoying. We didn't have any spa services but took many of the fitness classes (included) and they were great - morning and afternoon stretch, roller ball and the hoops were extremely fun Also walked and walked and walked around the property. Never took the elevator (it's a multi level property) so that increased our exercise quote plus we walked into town 3 times (brisk 15 minutes each way). Fun to walk around Ojai and enjoyed a very good breakfast at the Ojai Cafe Emporium one morning. Restaurants on the property are very good and there is a nice choice. I believe we tried them all.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We have stayed at the Ojai Valley Inn many times.Each visit is better than the last-the staff at the Inn goes out of their way to make each guests stay a wonderful one. The town is charming, and the views are spectacular.

Room Tip: We like the Casa Blaca, shangrila fireplace rooms-519 is a favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The grounds are beautiful. The spa treatments were really top notch. The spa facility itself is nice but nothing remarkable. But holy hell - the spa food is atrocious!!!! Bland, frozen turkey burgers, tasteless salads and under-seasoned everything! Also, underwhelmed by dinner at the main restaurant. And can we just discuss that truly dreadful painting above the reception desk?! The rooms are very comfortable and spacious. But again, the decor is disturbingly bad - mirrors, paintings, framed tv, etc. I get that hotel art is not the best and often innocuous. Unfortunately, the design aesthetic at the Inn is aggressively awful. Bad food, bad art = no return visit - even when the lavendar loses it's scent.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed at the Ojai Valley Inn and Spa in March. We were celebrating my husbands birthday. I have to say that this place could be considered "Heaven on Earth"! Our room was lovely, spacious, beautifully furnished and had a large deck overlooking the gorgeous hillside. The staff was friendly and helpful. The spa was very lovely, beautiful tiles everywhere and our spa treatments were devine. Dinner was fabulous, service was excellant. And to top things off, upon arrival, we found a birthday cupcake in the room, had a surprise birthday dessert at dinner and upon checking out, birthday wishes from those at the front desk! This is a place we shall never forget and a place that we hope to come back to over and over again :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ojai Valley Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ojai Valley Inn & Spa

Address: 905 Country Club Rd, Ojai, CA 93023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ojai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ojai Valley Inn & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 80 years, Ojai Valley Inn & Spa has been considered one of the best secrets among travelers. Escape to this historic resort of casual elegance featuring luxury accommodations, Spa Ojai, and a championship golf course. Ojai Valley Inn & Spa has 308 deluxe guest rooms, including suites, many with fireplaces and private balconies or patios overlooking the golf course and nearby mountains. Our Spa Penthouse, Hacienda Penthouse and 75 other suites offer you the ultimate in luxury accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Otel, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Ojai Valley Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ojai Valley Hotel Ojai
Ojai Valley Spa
Spa Ojai
Ojai Valley Inn And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ojai Valley Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.