We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 stars isn't enough” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ojai Valley Inn & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Ojai Valley Inn & Spa to your Saves list
Ojai Valley Inn & Spa
5.0 of 5 Spa   |   905 Country Club Rd, Ojai, CA 93023   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Winter Midweek Escape
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ojai
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“5 stars isn't enough”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We went to celebrate our 25th anniversary... BEST VACATION EVER. We've been here many times before and I've gushed about OVI on this site before.... we love it. We thought about trying a new spot for our celebration, but knew that OVI would do it right and they did.

The staff cannot be beat -- hands down best group of people we've ever dealt with at a resort before -- top to bottom -- and we've stayed at some very nice places. Everyday we were there they made us feel special and went out of their way and beyond what was necessary in so many ways.

Our tip: Do the Lovers Treasure Hunt -- we laughed, we cried, we ate, we drank for two hours... it will always be a big memory for us, long after the spa treatments wear off.

Room Tip: We've stayed around the resort and loved all our rooms... we always get at least a Shangri-la fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    802
    141
    42
    30
    19
See reviews for
209
459
28
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Beautiful landscape and the staff is exceptionally well trained and caring! I normally don't drink, but if you like sweet drinks, then I highly recommend the mixed berry martini at Maravilla. Delicious! (The bartender makes a non-alcoholic version of it, too.) The Herb Garden Pool has the best view of the mountains. My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We spent three nights here and although we had a gorgeous view from our balcony, our room was hugely over-sized and the furniture only occupied half of the room. Very odd indeed! The room service was fast and efficient as was anything we asked for. We left our toothbrushes at home and they promptly delivered some for us, but the toothpaste tube was the smallest I've ever seen - smaller than a stick of gum!! Hardly enough for a single application. I did not anticipate having to climb stairs up and down throughout the entire property. I have a bad knee and would have liked some advance notice since they do not have elevators on the property! They should let guests know this in advance. Their high end restaurant, Marvilla, had great service, but the food is sadly overrated. It did not warrant the very high tab and is a 3 star trying to be a 5. And finally, the spa....that was a BIG disappointment. I bought a series of treatments and even then it was overpriced for what I received. The waiting room was so crowded that there was hardly a place to sit down and it was CO-ED!! Yep, both men and women together wearing robes and nothing else; all waiting together. I was very uncomfortable as were several other women sitting near me. All three treatments were priced the same regardless of what the services were. I thought the relaxing massage was painful and had to ask her to not press so hard twice. It felt like a massage mill with very little attention to the individual and the attendants appeared mechanical. High end spas in Ojai and L.A. are cheaper and give more personalized treatments! I would stay at the Inn again but not use their spa and stick to their less expensive eateries - save the pricey meals for other good restaurants in the area.

Room Tip: If you call the Inn, good luck getting a person on the phone who can help you with the room. You ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Rolling mountains with lush oak trees, stunning pink sunset, beautifully appointed rooms -- the Ojai Valley Inn is an amazing retreat from the city. But that was just the beginning. On our girls weekend, we had an amazing day at the fabulous Spa. The Spa is beautiful and the staff is extremely qualified. The effects of the massage lasted days. And my facial with Lara was heaven. My yoga class was fantastic. Thank you for a great weekend. After visiting the Ojai Valley Inn, I do not want to go anywhere else . . . .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coto de Caza, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Thoroughy enjoyed our time at the Ojai Valley Inn and Spa. This was the perfect venue for a girl's get away. Had the best massage of my life and a wonderful facial. All the staff was very nice (especially Mary who serves coffee in the shop located at the family pool) and professional. The room was spacious, very clean, had a nice view of the golf course, a fireplace and a comfy bed. The grounds were so beautiful and peaceful. Can't wait to go back again with my husband and hope to make this our annual get together spot with the girls.

Room Tip: We stayed in the 500 building which was conveniently located near all the amenities (just a short wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We have been staying at this hotel for over 20 years. It's always been great. However, this time I think their staff must have gone through some specialty training or something because they were absolutely top notch!
Literally every experience at the Inn on this trip was outstanding. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was awesome, they were extremely accommodating. This particular trip was definitely a "10".

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

What more can I say that the place is awesome and I highly recommend you going there. Great spa, food, cool little town. A getaway but real close to the big city. Friendly staff, clean and quite. Looking forward to going back within a year.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ojai Valley Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ojai Valley Inn & Spa

Address: 905 Country Club Rd, Ojai, CA 93023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ojai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ojai Valley Inn & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 80 years, Ojai Valley Inn & Spa has been considered one of the best secrets among travelers. Escape to this historic resort of casual elegance featuring luxury accommodations, Spa Ojai, and a championship golf course. Ojai Valley Inn & Spa has 308 deluxe guest rooms, including suites, many with fireplaces and private balconies or patios overlooking the golf course and nearby mountains. Our Spa Penthouse, Hacienda Penthouse and 75 other suites offer you the ultimate in luxury accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Ojai Valley Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ojai Valley Hotel Ojai
Ojai Valley Spa
Spa Ojai
Ojai Valley Inn And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ojai Valley Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.