We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4.5 Pretty excellent!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ojai Valley Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Ojai Valley Inn & Spa to your Saves list
Ojai Valley Inn & Spa
5.0 of 5 Spa   |   905 Country Club Rd, Ojai, CA 93023   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ojai
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
177 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“4.5 Pretty excellent!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

This place definitely grew on me. Perhaps because the day we arrived it was rainy, foggy, the place was empty and had a sort of blah energy to it, I wasn't so sure on what so many people rave about here. The room was nice, upgraded to overlooking the golf course with balcony and a lovely fireplace. It wasn't until the next morning when we woke up finally to a gorgeous blue sky and walked around the lavender scented grounds did I get to see how beautiful the resort is. Loved the pool by the herb garden.
The Spa facial was okay. I felt it was very overpriced for what it was. The downstairs relaxation area of the spa was a huge letdown- loud ladies talking everywhere, naked ladies (please put on a towel!!!) strutting all over the place..lying in the steam room.. I had to leave! Luckily I found the upstairs, which is much more quiet, with tea, and decorated in much more soothing plum tones, with a balcony you can escape to if people start chatting away.
Loved that the stretching and yoga classes were included in the rate!
We had the friendliest service at Jimmy's Pub and delicious cookies and cider as well as a cupcake in the lobby!
Overall a perfect place to escape to relax.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    882
    166
    58
    35
    22
See reviews for
244
505
32
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I love Ojai Valley Inn & Spa...amazing amenities; fantastic, curteous, and professional staff. they really exceeded my expectations and i cant wait to go back. Made me feel so special as i celebrated my birthday. Clean, comfortable rooms and awesome spa services. Highly recommend to anyone who wants to unwind and relax.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tustin
Level Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

My daughter and I just returned for a delightful three days at the Ojai Valley Inn and Spa and were more than impressed with the outstanding service, friendly staff, and comfortable accomodations. We were there for some mother/daughter R & R so we spent one day at the Spa enjoying the spa, sauna, steam and massage. This was after a delightful and brisk walk led by a member of the spa staff, then Yoga, then biking. Everything was top notch with the staff making us feel very welcome; they let us know they were glad to have us.
Lunch at the spa diningroom was fresh, delicious as well as beautifully presented. We also had a light "dinner" in the bar area of the main diningroom and again the staff treated us as if we were in the elegant main diningroom. One of the best cheese boards we've had in a long time. And a great tomato and buffalo mozzarella salad. And, of course, a good wine.

Room Tip: If you are planning to use the spa services, stay in one of the courtyard rooms near the spa and ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Could the the staff here be any nicer......? Besides assistance everywhere....there are just plain a lot of staff to help.....even the little PUB was over the top with service. It is one thing to be pampered at a spa ....another to be treated as royality!

BUT the kicker.......Stupidly, I left my IPad in the room. A quick call to Loss Preventions upon arriving home and they located it, packed it up and sent it back to me. Now that was impressive....and they were so nice too!

Thanks OJAI.....we will be back!

Room Tip: any room is good.....we however were down by the spa so parking was easy.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mishawaka, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Our trip to this resort has been a real joke.We arrived at night during the rain and they told us were to park our car . We asked that somebody show us or meet us in parking lot and take us to our room . After waiting we drove back to the main office since they never came and the only telephone number we had was 800 number which we waited for somebody to answer and nobody answered. We drove back to main office again and after telling them off about how bad an experience this has started out we followed a man back to the parking lot and parked our car and bell captain put bags in cart and took us to our room.
Our room was cold and it has taken four hours for room to warm up..When we were getting ready for bed we notice that we were missing one of our bags.. We called the front desk and found the bell captain forgot to take bag out of cart.I guess it was to dark for bell captain to see since he forgot how many bags he put in cart.
O, I forgot to tell you we only had two bags.

Room Tip: Bring a flashlight you will need .
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OjaiResort, Manager at Ojai Valley Inn & Spa, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, I sincerely apologize for the bell/valet service experience and if I had knowledge of the issue it would have been corrected immediately, in addition thank you for completing our internal survey and I'm pleased to see that the rest of your experience with Reservations, Oak Grill, Cafe Verde, your guest room and the Spa met your expectations and receive top marks. I look forward to discussing your arrival experience when we talk in the near future and the chance to regain your confidence.
Yours Sincerely,
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I've stayed here over 10 times in the last 5 years. When I travel I find myself comparing every hotel to the Ojai Valley Inn and Spa.
Rooms are super clean, comfortable, lush. Service is incredibly courteous.
The grounds are impeccable.
There is an amazing cockatoo named Casper - go chat with him.
If its warm out, dine outside to catch the "Pink Moment" - the cynic in me says it's really just the sunset but its pretty!
The Spa services are pricey, but you get what you pay for. Try the Kuyam - spiritual and mental bliss.
I cant say enough about this place. I come here when I need to get away for the weekend and just relax.

Room Tip: Shangri-La rooms are my favorite. Roomy, fireplace.
See more room tips
Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai, California, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

even though I only live 3 miles from the Inn I still love vacationing here. I spend at least 3 nights here a year. Even though people travel from all over the workd to visit the Inn the locals also love it! This year my daughter sang at the Christmas Tree Lighting which was lovely. After we enjoyed a great dinner at the Oaks.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ojai
1.6 mi away
Casa Ojai Inn
Casa Ojai Inn
#3 of 5 in Ojai
4.0 of 5 stars 350 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Capri
The Capri
#4 of 5 in Ojai
3.5 of 5 stars 338 reviews
3.8 mi away
Oakridge Inn
Oakridge Inn
#1 of 1 in Oak View
4.0 of 5 stars 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Chantico Inn
Chantico Inn
#5 of 5 in Ojai
3.0 of 5 stars 55 reviews
1.1 mi away
Su Nido Inn (Your Nest In Ojai)
22.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ojai Valley Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ojai Valley Inn & Spa

Address: 905 Country Club Rd, Ojai, CA 93023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ojai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ojai Valley Inn & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 80 years, Ojai Valley Inn & Spa has been considered one of the best secrets among travelers. Escape to this historic resort of casual elegance featuring luxury accommodations, Spa Ojai, and a championship golf course. Ojai Valley Inn & Spa has 308 deluxe guest rooms, including suites, many with fireplaces and private balconies or patios overlooking the golf course and nearby mountains. Our Spa Penthouse, Hacienda Penthouse and 75 other suites offer you the ultimate in luxury accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Ojai Valley Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ojai Valley Hotel Ojai
Ojai Valley Spa
Spa Ojai
Ojai Valley Inn And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ojai Valley Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.