We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish this place was closer!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ojai Valley Inn & Spa

Save Saved
You added Ojai Valley Inn & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ojai Valley Inn & Spa
5.0 of 5 Spa   |   905 Country Club Rd, Ojai, CA 93023   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Fall Midweek Escape
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ojai
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Wish this place was closer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We recently spent four nights here and cannot say enough nice things about it. It is a unique property where you can truly relax. The spa is awesome! Massages were wonderful, in rooms with their own fireplace. So nice, especially that we were there on some cool days.

The golf course is also amazing -- tough and unique, but not impossible, I immediately wanted to play it again. Loved the "lost hole" that is now back.

Food is delicious everywhere, from the dining rooms to the banquets we enjoyed.

You will not go wrong enjoying this beautiful resort. Just wish it was not on the other side of the country!

Room Tip: Call the resort directly and tell them your needs. They are very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    762
    132
    42
    30
    16
See reviews for
200
438
28
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, CA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We have vacationed for many years here over the Thanksgiving holiday. While expensive (and they have now added a $20 resort fee), the hotel is luxurious without feeling pretentious.

The grounds are simply gorgeous - and quite well maintained. The rooms have been remodeled - very tastefully, although the new lighting is less than adequate. The Shangri-La Fireplace rooms are wonderful - and worth the extra money if you can make the splurge.

Didn't do the spa services or golf this year - so can't comment. Town is an easy, nice walk. The fitness staff is great - and the resorts walks at 8 am are really exercise - first time I have ever experienced that at any hotel! The Herb garden is really beautifully landscaped lending a magical air to the grounds.

The resort shops are way too pricey - nice merchandise but not within the realm of reality-spending - especially with all of the sales in town!
Hotel is pet-friendly - and the Thanksgiving days seemed to bring a pet with each room - there were dogs everywhere - but by and large - all seems well behaved and tolerated by the other guests.
And valet parking is complimentary.

Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Let me start by saying that the ONLY reason I was able to come here was thanks to a sniqueaway coupon -- made it MUCH more affordable. The property, the staff and the rooms are all exquisite -- top of the line. The backdrop of Ojai makes it even better (even on a rainy weekend like we had). Shopping in the downtown stretch is super cute. Highly recommend grabbing a glass of wine at Barrel 33 -- cute, cozy little place!

You should know that EVERYTHING at the hotel is top of the line, and with that comes a high price tag. If you're worrying about spending too much money for a weekend getaway, this probably won't be the most relaxing place for you (since all you'll be thinking of is how much everything costs). If, however, you go into it knowing you're going to drop some money, it makes it a little less stressful and you really do soak in the relaxing vibes this place has to offer. I do have to admit that we didn't get any spa treatment (because of the cost), but most people that are here can afford to drop the money on treatments. I can get those treatments for half the cost in LA, so I had a tough time rationalizing spending that kind of money. We did walk into the spa, and I can see why this place gets rave reviews -- the place looked amazing. I should also note that we saw a LOT of girls' weekend getaway trips. Not a bad idea if you have money!!

I'd love to come back in the summer and enjoy the pool areas. It was rainy the whole time we were there and I STILL enjoyed every minute of it. Beds were AMAZINGLY comfortable and the chocolate chip cookie ice cream dessert was unreal (talk about a birthday treat!).

Room Tip: We stayed in the main building and it was a little bit loud because everything bounced off the walls...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Everything from the impeccable service to my cozy room, the delightful spa treatments, my hike up to Nordoff Peak, and the weather, was perfect. I love to treat myself to a few truffle potato chips in the Bar and Grill after a day of exercise and fresh air. Save your
money and treat yourself because it's worth it!

Room Tip: Let them know you want the quietest room that you can get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel Valley, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

$$$$, Pricey but service was worth all the built in gratuities, I guess. Really enjoyed the little town of Ojai, too.
Went to spa, 50 min massage was fair even though there was a fireplace in the room! Enjoyed 2 hour.horseback more. Checked out Thanksgiving day and the place turned into a Zoo...all kinds of people, kids,dogs,golfers everywhere! So glad I was there before so many others arrived! Long drive home for me!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We enjoyed a delightful family weekend at the Ojai Valley Inn and Spa. Our stay started with a helpful and friendly front desk and valet service. The room was clean and decoratively furnished. The large balcony, with table, chairs, umbrella, and long couch was especially relaxing. The balcony provided a panoramic view over the herb garden and driving range, as well as the architecturally beautiful buildings.

The grounds are inviting and beautiful. There is no need to leave the property! We spent time at the family pool, as well as the adults-only Herb Garden pool. Both are well maintained, well staffed, and comfortable. There are a number of family-friendly activities offered at the Inn. You can refer to the daily schedule delivered to your room, or inquire with the staff.

Really, only good to say about our experience. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: If traveling with small children, ask for a room on the bottom floor. This is generally a serene pl...
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

This place is beautiful. My husband played golf and said the course was beautiful and challenging. I had a spa day and it was wonderful. I'm usually not easy to pleased in a spa but every service I experience was perfect. I did find the food a bit over priced and I can't tell you that it was great but it was good enough. If you want a place to chill and get away this is definitely it. Will be back. Hopefully soon. Loved the place.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ojai Valley Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ojai Valley Inn & Spa

Address: 905 Country Club Rd, Ojai, CA 93023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ojai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ojai Valley Inn & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 80 years, Ojai Valley Inn & Spa has been considered one of the best secrets among travelers. Escape to this historic resort of casual elegance featuring luxury accommodations, Spa Ojai, and a championship golf course. Ojai Valley Inn & Spa has 308 deluxe guest rooms, including suites, many with fireplaces and private balconies or patios overlooking the golf course and nearby mountains. Our Spa Penthouse, Hacienda Penthouse and 75 other suites offer you the ultimate in luxury accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Tingo, BookIt.com, Otel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Ojai Valley Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ojai Valley Hotel Ojai
Ojai Valley Spa
Spa Ojai
Ojai Valley Inn And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ojai Valley Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.