We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ojai Valley Inn & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Ojai Valley Inn & Spa to your Saves list
Ojai Valley Inn & Spa
5.0 of 5 Spa   |   905 Country Club Rd, Ojai, CA 93023   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Winter Midweek Escape
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ojai
california
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011 via mobile

Had a great time at this relaxing resort! We stayed in the spa tower and loved the easy access it provided for spa treatments! Very quiet and serene . Wonderful staff! You must dine at the spa cafe! Amazing food!!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    801
    141
    42
    30
    18
See reviews for
208
458
28
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011 via mobile

I recently took my fiance here to celebrate her 30th birthday...to sum it all up...the place itself is gorgeous. It's not however like the website picture makes it seem by the beach....that's actually 12 miles away. expect a beautiful woodsie environment anyway. Food is overpriced. Burgers are $18.00 and don't taste like a typical resort burger. Service is great. Rooms are beautiful. I don't plan on going back. Not because I had a bad experience...because that's not true. I just thought that considering its suppose to be a hideout or once was for celebrities...its not all that.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

This is a great place to get away from it all if you are a Southern California resident as it's only a couple of hours away and seems a world apart. We live at the shore and sometimes it's just nice to go inland where it's drier and warmer and you have the beauty of this Southern California oasis.

I have been here twice. The first time for business and I had a fabulous large room that overlooked the mountains; the second time with a group of girlfriends and we were in a different building that had an entirely different floor plan but were in a spacious and lovely one bedroom suite with living room.

The food in the restaurants is excellent and the service impeccable. I do think the spa is a little overrated, though. Be sure to walk the trails and enjoy the serenity of the spa pool.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

As I have never been to Ojai, CA before, I was excited to attend a friend's wedding at the resort. From the time we checked in to departure, the staff was spot on and very acccomodating. We received a discounted rate of $305 due to the wedding party but I would look for online specials. The architectural layout is similar to the La Quinta Resort in Palm Springs, CA focusing on casita style lodging. There are a multitude of pools to choose from on the property. We even rented bikes for the day at a cost of $9 each and rode along a paved bike path trail - a short 5 min ride to the east to a little Ojai town and towards the west which can take up to an hour depending on how fast you ride. On Saturday, we booked massagees and this included 18% gratuity, facilities were clean and services were terrific. I would highly recommend this trip for a weekend getaway - a short 1.5 hour drive from Los Angeles.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room overlooking Herb Garden or Golf Course for views. If you are a light sleeper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

What a wonderful respite. The setting is magnificent, with a look of Tuscany. Expansive grounds, yet intimate and personalized. Beautiful rooms and patio. Superior spa services. Even for non-golfers, the courses are gorgeous. All of this would be enough to make us return. What sets Ojai apart is the staff. Everyone we met had a story of how much s/he loves working here, and how important it is that guests have a superb experience. They show it .... the maintenance staff who stopped their carts along the way to offer a ride during the recent heat wave, the housekeepers who went out of their way to smile and say hello, the incredible car valet captains whose humor and warmth are infectious, the massage therapist who honestly became a new friend. They were all simply wonderful. No pretension - just a joyful, loving, serene experience. We loved every minute of our four days, which felt like four weeks of luxury. We definitely plan to return.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room in the place. Ours (Casa Loma) was on the ground floor, with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

Beautiful eclectic rooms. Had Spa Treatments. Beautiful spa. The staff were very professional throughout the resort. It is nicely spread out and they offer shuttles to any area of the resort if you are not into walking. Do yourself a favor and walk so you don't miss anything. Stop by and visit the talking birds. Casper the cockatoo is very entertaining.

Room Tip: Get a Spa room. It is considered a quiet zone. Cell phones must be turned off!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

This is a resort we have visited several times and have always had a wonderful, relaxing experience. The rooms are beautiful, the golf course challenging and, if you are lucky, you may experience a magical "pink moment" when the sun sets just right on the mountains. The spa is first class. I would live here if I could.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ojai Valley Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ojai Valley Inn & Spa

Address: 905 Country Club Rd, Ojai, CA 93023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ojai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ojai Valley Inn & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 80 years, Ojai Valley Inn & Spa has been considered one of the best secrets among travelers. Escape to this historic resort of casual elegance featuring luxury accommodations, Spa Ojai, and a championship golf course. Ojai Valley Inn & Spa has 308 deluxe guest rooms, including suites, many with fireplaces and private balconies or patios overlooking the golf course and nearby mountains. Our Spa Penthouse, Hacienda Penthouse and 75 other suites offer you the ultimate in luxury accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Ojai Valley Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ojai Valley Hotel Ojai
Ojai Valley Spa
Spa Ojai
Ojai Valley Inn And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ojai Valley Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.