We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take a chance. This is so worth it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oaks at Ojai

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ojai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Oaks at Ojai
Save
You added The Oaks at Ojai to your Saves list
122 East Ojai Avenue, Ojai, CA 93023   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Ojai
Huntington Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Take a chance. This is so worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The Oaks is perfect if you want to kick start or step up your workout program, if you want someone else to cook for you and it will be healthy and delicious, if you want to go by yourself and feel totally ok about that, if you want to try some options in your health/workout/nutrition program that you normally don't, if you need to get away from whomever and/or whatever for a little while. A great place with wonderful people. You make it what you want and what you need.

Room Tip: If you are alone, try to get a single standard. It is worth having your own space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    25
    6
    13
    11
See reviews for
14
6
47
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My mom convinced me to tag along with her to the Oaks a few years ago (she has been going for close to 20 years) ... I was a little hesitant because I didn't think that "working out" for a week was my idea of a vacation. Well, let's just say I have been back three more times in the last 2 years (with my mom), and we are going again next week, for best friends' week. It is now my favourite place to go on vacation. Going to the Oaks is all about taking care of YOU ... your body, your mind, your spirit. From the inside out, I feel rejuvenated, refreshed, at peace, in harmony, and inspired to live a more balanced life. For those of you that criticize trivial things like the material the curtains are made of, or the exercise room that needs a lift, well you are sadly missing the whole point of it all. You need to go to one of those haughty-taughty places where you dress to the nines and wear jewellery to dinner. No thanks. The Oaks is all about being inspired to be the best that you can be - and live a healthy, meaningful life.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I had my very first experience with The Oaks November 9th-16th. It was the best week I've spent in quite some time.
Upon entering The Oaks, everything was easy, parking ample, friendly and helpful front desk staff and a beautiful home-like living room setting. A fire was burning in the fireplace and the vibe was peaceful and warm.
My goal was to detox and rejuvenate. I found out quickly that I made the perfect choice for my goals.
A health advisor is available every morning to discuss your needs, especially if you have a special diet such as vegetarianism or vegan. The Oaks is tremendously accommodating with their menu.
Every day you have many choices as to how you want to exercise. Everything from early morning hikes, brisk walks, pool aerobics, yoga, Zumba, exotic dance, step, and Hoola hoops. These classes are great 45 minute workouts. Between classes you recieve wonderful snacks in the main room. Delicious healthy hearty veggie soup known as "broth", freshly cut veggies on a huge platter with low-cal dip and a large basket of fresh fruits available 24 hours a day. Also present 24 hours a day are several flavors of coffee, at least 12 flavor tea bags and several iced teas, as well as lemon water.
The meals are simply fantastic. Health oriented, low sodium, no sugar, agave sweetened gourmet food freshly cooked and wonderfully delicious. Large portions with shockingly low caloric content. Several spices and salsa available for more flavor. Wonderful deserts accompany the meals. Breakfast is served in the community room with plenty of extra choices should you not desire the planned meal. Extra include hard boiled eggs, Special K cereal, extra fruit plate, all on top of the regular breakfast of Oatmeal w/ raisins, low cal famous muffins and fruit. Lunch can be eaten inside or out by the pool and consists of various yummy soups, salads, quiches and such. Lunch and dinner always have options you can sign up for in the morning and afternoon. Options are typically a large health salad with either tuna or chicken breast. One never feels hungry or slighted at The Oaks.
The class instructors are some of the best I have taken from. And I'm a diehard exerciser. One in particular is also a staff member, Elizabeth. Not only is she a gifted dancer, she's a fantastic teacher as well. She explains everything all with a wonderful and funny sense of humor. She's been with the Oaks for decades, understandably. They are extremely lucky to have her, and so are we.
During downtime, should you find any, The Oaks is located in the very heart of downtown Ojai. The small quaint Art Museum is a must see and right next door. The town is filled with great unique shops and book stores and a handful of thrift shops, a fabulous Movie Theatre and a few terrific health food stores. Every Sunday they have a delightful farmers market in a parking lot nearby. One can find locally grown produce as well as body scrubs, handmade soaps and delicious pistachio nuts to name just a few.
In the evenings you are welcome to attend presentations given by speakers on topics such as make up tips, cooking lessons, and self help discussions. On Friday nights a darling kitchen staff member hosts a super fun Bingo night with fantastic prizes. A 'must attend'.
And last but not least, the large menu of spa/body treatments. the Oaks offers some of the best massages and facials, as well as a full Salon for hair and make up. I had The Algo mask, wonderfully relaxing, and a lavander pedicure..purely decadent wonderful relaxing foot treatment.
By the way, my room was perfection. I chose to have one of the smaller single rooms which had been recently remodeled, along with most of the other rooms, and done very charmingly. Large stall shower with amazing pressure, thick absorbent towels, plenty of counter space in the Spanish tiled bathroom and warm high quality sheets and down coverlet. Ample hangers and nice view of the pool and backyard. Very quiet.
I arrived alone but by the end of the week I had met so many lovely kind and friendly people and never felt ignored or lonely. If you join in, you will surely feel the 'girls camp' vibe and you'll be anxious to plan your next stay! To my delight I was lucky to have met and spoken to the original owner Sheila who still gives talks and attends the walks weekly. What an inspiring friendly and darling petite lady she is. I am forever grateful for the chance to be at The Oaks and to experience it the way she originated it, and more! It surpassed my expectations in a grand way and I will surely be back soon! As a drove away I felt that rejuvenation I had badly needed and desired and left with a positive happy feeling all around. Worth every cent!

Room Tip: All rooms come with blow dryers and shampoo/ conditioners and soap.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Returning for perhaps the 10th time, we had a wonderful, restorative week at the Oaks. Many long time employees make it feel like coming home. The guests ranged in age from early twenties to seventies, and all were friendly and encouraging. We will be back. Especially love Elizabeth's high energy cardio dance activities, and Lyn's yoga and Qi Chong.

Room Tip: Love the cottages when visiting with another guest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksSpa, Guest Relations Manager at The Oaks at Ojai, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
The Oaks works hard to keep rates low, and we are especially glad to read you think it's a good value! Thanks for taking time to tell the world! Send me a note before your next visit and we'll try to have your favorite classes scheduled! elizabeth@oaksspa.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California, United States
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have stayed here for a half a dozen times over the past years. I love the hiking, the pool, my perfect private room ( not too big, but just right ), and of course, the best food ever. You would never know that this is reduced calorie, fat, salt, etc., great food!

Room Tip: Rooms that do not face the street are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksSpa, Guest Relations Manager at The Oaks at Ojai, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Yay!! Good to hear we're such a good fit for you! Send me a note if there's anything special we can schedule for your next visit! elizabeth@oaksspa.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

i would never return to the oaks...it is not a very inclusive place to stay in a few ways...and there needs to be a serious change in the management.

being a spa professional i expected the same service i would give my clients. its also worth mentioning that the majority of the clients are 60 and up. i was booked 14 days and started planning on another place to stay before my flight home. since the ojai film festival started there were no rooms available in ojai so i spent the rest of my vacation in santa barbara.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksSpa, Guest Relations Manager at The Oaks at Ojai, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Not a typical review for us and we were disappointed to learn that we clearly did not meet this guest's expectations. We continue to learn and strive to be better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

i was very dissapointed with the staff with inappropriate comments and unprofessional behavior. i stayed almost 11 days and by day 8-9 i was researching other places to stay. since i was on vacation and wanted to turn a uncomfortable situation into a positive one. i would not consider this the most welcoming environment for everyone. also the majority of the clients are 60 and up. there are numerous ways i felt this was not an inclusive experience.

the food is excellent and there are a few outstanding staff members and my massages were wonderful. the town of ojai is charming and the facility itself is very nice.

im an esthetician and worked in high end spas for years and was very surprised by my
experience. my previous background is in management and its painfully obvious that there needs to be some changes. i would never return to the oaks, or ever recommend it to anyone...there are alot of options out there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksSpa, Guest Relations Manager at The Oaks at Ojai, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
We did try hard for this guest - unfortunately we weren't quite able to meet all of her expectations. We hope she finds a spa that suits her better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Oaks at Ojai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oaks at Ojai

Address: 122 East Ojai Avenue, Ojai, CA 93023
Location: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Ojai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the all inclusive program of: Up to 16 exercise classes and fitness activities per day; Our 1,000 calorie-a-day spa cuisine food plan; Massage, facial, watsu, wellness services and more. Interesting evening programs. A visit to The Oaks is more than a spa vacation - it's a life affirming experience. The Oaks is mostly women who get a chance to leave the designer sweats at home; this is a place where you can let your hair down and take in all the positive, nurturing elements of a healthy lifestyle...from nutrition, to exercise, to attitude. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Oaks At Ojai Hotel Ojai
The Oaks Ojai
The Oaks Hotel Ojai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oaks at Ojai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.