We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place to stay in Ojai!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Ojai Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Ojai Inn to your Saves list
Casa Ojai Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1302 E Ojai Ave., Ojai, CA 93023   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Ojai
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The perfect place to stay in Ojai!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

We have stayed here many times (even when it was still part of Best Western) and it has always been the perfect place to stay in Ojai. My wife and I love to walk and ride bicycles--this hotel provides the perfect base for exploring Ojai. We took my parents with us to help them celebrate their 60th anniversary and take them to our favorite restaurant: The Ranch House. My parents have been going to this restaurant since the late 1970's and it still is remarkable in every way!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    158
    52
    12
    5
See reviews for
105
148
22
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
La Jolla, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

If you are going to stay here, accept it for what it is - - a motel. They have embraced the 'green theme' in an effort to be environmentally friendly. Nice idea except when it negatively affects guest comfort and expectations (i.e. water stream from the sink faucet was a trickle.) Rooms were nicely appointed although somewhat small. Online photos of the rooms made rooms appear pacious which, they are not. We were told we were getting a mountain view room; however, the window facing the mountain was in the bathtub area and was privacy glass ythat ou could not see through. Essentially, all room windows face into a center concrete parking lot. Motel is not within walking distrance of the village for most people - roughly a 15 minute walk. Staff was friendly. Continental breakfast was very limited even for a continental breakfast. Summary - pleasant little motel but a overpriced for what you get. Would not recommend this motel to one of my friends as they would expect more value for their money.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2010

We truly enjoyed our stay here. We had a lovely room that looked out at the mountains (many thanks to the thoughtful person who chose that for us!), and the hotel's location at the edge of the town added to the serenity. The staff was uniformly friendly and the breakfast, although modest, suited our needs just fine. The beds and linens were very comfortable, and the room was very clean, all things we appreciate when we are away from home. We would not hesitate to recommend Casa Ojai, and we would love to return in the future.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotts Valley, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2010

I don't do reviews, I like this place, it was the second time I have been there. My girlfriend was next door with her husband and we were going back and forth, someone complained about the foot steps. It was too bad. And this time I found the staff to be just a bit cranky. Not so good. Next time we meet friends in Ojai, I will shop around. Nice place, clean, moderate breakfast, probably will give it another chance. Next time we will ask for rooms away from other guests so we are not asked to hush at 9:00 pm on a Sat. night.

Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2010

It's a motel. It's a mile from the center of town, so closer than the nicer hotels. But because it's a motel you get motel guests and folks who think they are in high school. The noise was so loud, it wS a pain to stay. Noise was partly because the walls were so thin I could hear every conversation happening outside or next door, or when people walked pass my room ( which sounded like a rattling piece of thin particle board); partly also because the people were inconsiderate (in a loud voice at 10 pm, "let's go to the hot tub!"). There was no bed and breakfast situation going on here. The decor is better than a motel 6. the heater is uncontrolled, you have to get up and turn it off during the night because there's no temperature regulator. The sheets were decent--white, clean. Staff initially seemed annoyed by my complaints bur were helpful, though they weren't helpful n finding hikes or a breakfast place.

If i did it again, I'd stay at the blue iguana (which is only 30 more per night) or pay more and stay at the lavender inn where you get an amazing breakfast and are in the heart of town. Or I'd splurge and stay at the ojai inn and spa. A quiet night's sleep is well worth it.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2010

Very clean, good price, walk to trolley stop. Continental breakfast was good and had a nice variety. Rooms were spacious with refrigerator, which I love. Would stay there again. Eco friendly is definitely a plus!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

My wife and I stayed in Ojai for our 10-yr anniversary and were looking for reasonable accommodations. The Casa Ojai Inn offered just what we needed. The room was very clean and comfortable. The continental breakfast provided a decent quick meal in the morning. The only regret we had is that our room, 108, was next to the Housekeeping office and we had difficulty sleeping in in the morning due to noise as the staff was setting up their carts just outside our door. Otherwise it's very quiet at night. Next time we go there we would just request a different room. Had we brought our kids, they would have enjoyed the pool and hot tub. We spent several hours hiking just above the valley floor in the hills and walking around downtown during Ojai Day (every 3rd Saturday of each month). Downtown Ojai is about a 10 minute walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ojai
0.2 mi away
The Capri
The Capri
#4 of 5 in Ojai
3.5 of 5 stars 342 reviews
1.2 mi away
Chantico Inn
Chantico Inn
#5 of 5 in Ojai
3.0 of 5 stars 57 reviews
5.3 mi away
Oakridge Inn
Oakridge Inn
#1 of 1 in Oak View
4.0 of 5 stars 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ojai Valley Inn & Spa
0.8 mi away
Su Nido Inn (Your Nest In Ojai)
3.1 mi away
Blue Iguana Inn
Blue Iguana Inn
#5 of 9 in Ojai
4.5 of 5 stars 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Ojai Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Ojai Inn

Address: 1302 E Ojai Ave., Ojai, CA 93023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Ojai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa Ojai Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are nestled among the Topa Topa Mountains in Ojai, California conveniently located near the quaint Ojai Village and across from the newly renovated Soule Park Golf Course, which has been awarded a 4 star rating from Golf Digest. Begin your journey through the Ojai Village with the Ojai Trolley stopping regularly in front of Casa Ojai Inn or if you are feeling adventurous you can rent a bike and ride the Ojai Valley Trail, a paved trail that leads you through Ojai and beyond to the beautiful Ventura County beaches. Our picturesque Libbey Park, located in the center of our small town, rests underneath a canopy of large oak trees with a playground for the kids and a bandstand for our local Summer Night Concerts. Libbey Park is also the home of the public tennis courts used for the finals of The Ojai Tennis Tournament and the Libbey Bowl amphitheater which hosts Ojai's famous Music Festival and numerous other concerts and events throughout the year. The Ojai Village is filled with unique shops, exquisite restaurants, art galleries, and spas. Breath-taking yet challenging golf courses can be found close to the hotel and are perfect for year round golfing. Hotel guests will find Ojai an ideal location for day-trips to the Los Padres National Forest and Lake Casitas for fishing, hiking, biking, and climbing experiences. Remember to bring a swimsuit for the water holes that you may discover as you are exploring the natural beauty. A complimentary expanded continental breakfast is served daily. Guests will enjoy a refreshing swim in our Salt-Water pool and Jacuzzi and sunbathing on our spacious sundeck. Our guests can enjoy discounts for spa services at the Ojai Day Spa or stay fit with complimentary passes to the Bryant Street Gym. Meeting facilities are available for group events in conjunction with the Soule Golf course banquet facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Casa Ojai Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Ojai Hotel Ojai
Best Western Ojai
Ojai Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Ojai Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.