We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Iguana Inn

Save Saved
You added Blue Iguana Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blue Iguana Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   11794 North Ventura Avenue, Ojai, CA 93023   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 10 Ojai B&B and Inns
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Great, calm, relaxing property with absolutely excellent service. Don't expect high end, but it is very nice and charming. The owner was very accommodating to your needs and the staff very helpful. We plan on returning again.

Room Tip: We stayed near the back of the property, which I believe is quieter (in fact it was very quiet at ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    230
    82
    13
    1
    6
See reviews for
84
149
20
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is a nicely appointed and laid out inn. The grounds are well-kept (the hot tub even worked perfectly), the room is large, everything works as expected. The continental breakfast is adequate but not quite as advertised (no granola, croissants, or warm muffins). The staff is pleasant and helpful with good dining suggestions. The artwork around is warm and interesting. It's a bit pricey, but this is Ojai. The in-room beverages and snacks are moderately priced for hotel amenities. The compressor in our refrigerator was noisy. Parking was convenient. We would certainly return if in the area again.

Room Tip: There is highway noise, but in the winter, we were well-insulated enough that it was noticeable, exc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan, Utah
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Blue Iguana is a beautiful spot with wonderful architecture and details, nice grounds. I enjoyed my stay there very much. That said, be sure you're okay with being 5 miles from Ojai. The first night, after a long drive and traffic on the freeway, I wanted to sit down, have a glass of wine, then walk around Ojai. That won't happen if you stay at Blue Iguana. By the final day, I was glad for the (relative) piece and quite of the grounds at the Blue Iguana, but even then I would have liked to get up early in the morning for an early walk without driving into town. And the travelers who describe the hotel as an oasis may be city dwellers. As a rural resident, I found the high traffic highway just outside the gates pretty noisy. I would have had trouble sleeping had I been in one of the front rooms. But notice my "excellent" rating. I got one of the more expensive rooms, but it was spacious and lovely. Since I wanted to sit outside as many hours as possible, coming from cold weather, the grounds were great.

One big suggestion, though: start breakfast at 7. When I'm traveling, I want to get up and out for adventures as early as I can so I had to skip breakfast two days since it didn't start until 8. Good breakfast the one day I could do it.

Room Tip: As I said above, the front rooms would have been way too loud for me, coming from a rural area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iguanapwr1, Manager at Blue Iguana Inn, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
As always, we appreciate guests who take the time to review our properties, although this review does have a geographical error we would like to correct.. The Blue Iguana is located just 2 miles, or 5 minutes, away from scenic downtown Ojai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solana Beach, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed three nights at the Inn. Very glad that we had a room in the back,
since the Inn is right next to a busy street and the traffic noise was quite loud.
All but one member of the staff was friendly and helpful. I much prefer this Inn
to a standard hotel or motel, but I wish they could do something about the street
noise! A bicycle trail, which leads into town, is right across the street from the Inn,
which was convenient.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the back, away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

As we opened the door to the room we were so surprised. In a minute we were settled in and enjoying the balcony with a glass of wine. Enjoyed every minute until check out, my husband had to drag me out.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

My wife arranged for a Valentine''s getaway to Ojai. She received a Bloomspot promotion to the Blue Iguana and as we are the adventurous type (No chains for us) she booked this hotel for our getaway. What a delightful experience. The hotel is well run, clean, comfortable and the owners and staff are available at any hour to care for your needs. Because of the time of year (February) we did not make use of the lovely pool outside our room. Our room was large and wonderfully furnished. The bed was very comfortable and the grounds were lovely. My only suggestion is to leave the breakfast room open during the day and evening for reading, gaming or just congregating. We will be returning and may even try their sister hotel The Green Iguana-an adults only facility.

Room Tip: We have only stayed once but other rooms in the complex all look equally delightful and we will retu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iguanapwr1, Manager at Blue Iguana Inn, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
We would like to thank all of our recent guests who have taken the time to write such lovely reviews about our property. We are very happy you all have enjoyed yours stays, are thankful you took the time to share your experiences with future guests, and look forward to having you back again in the near future.
Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The Blue Iguana is a wonderful, relaxing place to stay and each unit is unique and beautiful--no cookie cutter rooms here. The beds are extremely snuggly and comfortable and the rooms have heat and A/C. I encourage you to check it out.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Iguana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Iguana Inn

Address: 11794 North Ventura Avenue, Ojai, CA 93023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Ojai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Iguana Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Called "Hip & Stylish" by Sunset Magazine, the Blue Iguana is a lovely, historic spanish style villa-inn w/ custom decorated rooms, suites and bungalows. Spacious grounds w/ lush gardens, pool & spa. Tile mosaic, sculpture and original artwork throughout. Complimentary continental breakfast & in-room spa services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Blue Iguana Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Iguana Hotel Ojai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Iguana Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.