We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place to spend a night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Iguana Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Iguana Inn to your Saves list
Blue Iguana Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   11794 North Ventura Avenue, Ojai, CA 93023   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 9 Ojai B&B and Inns
Santa Barbara, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Awesome place to spend a night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

This b&b is super cute, well-maintained grounds, cute rooms with wood-burning fireplaces...we were in 104 which has a private patio which was very nice as well as a mini-kitchen. The bed linens are good quality and the room was spacious, warm and clean. The art and decor is very unique and charming. The pool is not heated but the hot tub was perfect for the chilly Dec night. The breakfast is more than sufficient - plenty or bagels, pastries (good ones), fruit, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, cheese, cereal, coffee, juice etc etc. More than enough. If you have bikes, there is a great long bike path into town from the Blue Iguana, very peaceful. Suzanne's Cuisine was a great place for a romantic dinner and there are a couple of wine tasting rooms in town which are great - especially Ojai Vineyards tasting room. For $149, we were very satisfied with this b&b/inn and would recommend it.

Room Tip: back of property is more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    86
    14
    1
    7
See reviews for
90
163
21
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We've been going to the Blue Iguana about once a year for a decade. It's a charming wonderful spot. Beautiful inside and out, a great get-away from Los Angeles. They've got comfy beds and great showers too. A lovely small yard to throw a ball or sit at the table under a tree and read. They don't heat the outdoor pool in the winter so it's not for the faint of heart, but there's a jacuzzi to relax in.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

It was my mom's 88 birthday and celebrated in Ojai and stayed at the Blue Iguana Inn. It was FABULOUS! The staff were kind and helpful, and the room was wonderful. The furniture was high quality and the beds incredibly comfortable. The utensils in the kitchen were clean and appeared new. The pool and jacuzi were also wonderful. We would come back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atascadero
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This Inn is quite charming with all the greenery and beautiful flag stone paving. The Sputhwestern decor was well done, the kitchen and bath were well appointed. However, the room we stayed in (a one bedroom unit) had furniture that was so uncomfortable that we couldn't sit in it and had to spend out down-time sitting on the bed. The other disappointment was the continental breakfast which was not as described in the brochure. In the Inn's defense, we received a discount on our bill. I don't know if our complaint was taken into consideration because there was no explanation attached to the revised bill.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iguanapwr1, Owner at Blue Iguana Inn, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
We are sorry this guest did not find the comfort of our living room furniture to their satisfaction. We have never received a comment of this sort before but will take it into serious consideration even though we do not know in which suite they stayed. Our complimentary continental breakfast consists of a variety of baked goods served with butter and cream cheese, fresh fruit, hard boiled eggs, cheese, a variety of yogurts and cereals, milk, orange juice and coffee and teas. This is the breakfast we advertise, although occasionally guests are disappointed we do not serve hot cooked items. Unfortunately, we are forbidden from doing so by our local Health Department codes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Lovely decor and ambiance. Original paintings by a master in the rooms. Very comfortable and extremely easty on the eyes. The pool was too cold for a swim, but we enjoyed the spa and reading in the sun by the pool. Next visit we will bring our bikes and stay longer. We had dinner at an Italian restaurant in the arcade--fun and good-- de Grappi something. Also had dinner at the "Farmer and the Cook". So much fun watching people come in for last minute Thanksgiving staples and took me bsck to my hippy days--I am getting teary eyed now.

Room Tip: Stayed in rooms 11 and 12--If you like to hot tub, these are the ones. Never were bothered by traffi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Wonderful stay! We're from Los Angeles and never stayed in Ojai. Great little get away. Relaxing. Nice staff. Were close to town but not in it. I'd stay here again. We originally had one room that didn't really work for us and had to change. The staff did it right away and we had a restful night. : )

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

We booked this as it looked like a lovely property that was away from the hustle and bustle of LA. when we arrived we quickly discovered the hotel was situated right next to a very busy road and the pool and jacuzzi area are right next to the road so not very peaceful. Make sure you get a room that is further back. We immediately upgraded to suite 202- the room was really lovely and with the doors shut the traffic could not be heard. We still had a lovely relaxing stay but the car noise was a big turn off. It's a real shame as ojai and the surroundings are really beautiful.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iguanapwr1, Owner at Blue Iguana Inn, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
The Blue Iguana is a large property with spacious grounds and a large selection of accommodations in different locations throughout the property. We do have a few rooms that are closer to the road and although traffic dies down in the evening we always suggest that guests who are sensitive to traffic noise request a room towards the back of the property. Even at check-in we will do our best to relocate guests to the most satisfactory room for their needs.
We always strive to insure our guests have the best possible stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Iguana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Iguana Inn

Address: 11794 North Ventura Avenue, Ojai, CA 93023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ojai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Iguana Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Called "Hip & Stylish" by Sunset Magazine, the Blue Iguana is a lovely, historic spanish style villa-inn w/ custom decorated rooms, suites and bungalows. Spacious grounds w/ lush gardens, pool & spa. Tile mosaic, sculpture and original artwork throughout. Complimentary continental breakfast & in-room spa services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Blue Iguana Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Iguana Hotel Ojai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Iguana Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.