We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New experiences” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Iguana Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Iguana Inn to your Saves list
Blue Iguana Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   11794 North Ventura Avenue, Ojai, CA 93023   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Ojai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glendale, California
1 review
“New experiences”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Wonderful stay! We're from Los Angeles and never stayed in Ojai. Great little get away. Relaxing. Nice staff. Were close to town but not in it. I'd stay here again. We originally had one room that didn't really work for us and had to change. The staff did it right away and we had a restful night. : )

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    92
    19
    2
    7
See reviews for
101
182
21
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We booked this as it looked like a lovely property that was away from the hustle and bustle of LA. when we arrived we quickly discovered the hotel was situated right next to a very busy road and the pool and jacuzzi area are right next to the road so not very peaceful. Make sure you get a room that is further back. We immediately upgraded to suite 202- the room was really lovely and with the doors shut the traffic could not be heard. We still had a lovely relaxing stay but the car noise was a big turn off. It's a real shame as ojai and the surroundings are really beautiful.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iguanapwr1, Owner at Blue Iguana Inn, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
The Blue Iguana is a large property with spacious grounds and a large selection of accommodations in different locations throughout the property. We do have a few rooms that are closer to the road and although traffic dies down in the evening we always suggest that guests who are sensitive to traffic noise request a room towards the back of the property. Even at check-in we will do our best to relocate guests to the most satisfactory room for their needs.
We always strive to insure our guests have the best possible stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We had never been to Ojai and we're rained out of our original trip last December. We rescheduled for October and because our dog sitter was on vacation, we took our dog. The staff could not have been more accomodating and helpful. Every suggestion Diana made was perfect even the hike we took with Kona (our dog). The grounds and hotel were just our type. We are gardeners and loved the entire-park like atmosphere. The hotel was clean and comfortable. We had a room with a kitchenette and it was great to be able to bring a few things we like. We had a private patio and that was great too. Really our trip was magical and we look forward to returning (with Kona at home) so we can do more investigating of the area.
Great first trip and we do plan to return and stay at the Blue Iguana!

Room Tip: ask for a room in the back, it's quieter there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

All of Ojai is, though.

I'd bought a deal online for one night and got a king room for about $100. We basically just slept here, but it was a lovely sleep. Quiet. Really comfortable beds with good sheets. Very clean-always my most important caveat. Peaceful, zen grounds. It was nice to eat the very average continental breakfast on them in the morning. Hey, it was included so not complaining, just mentioning.The staff were very nice but seemed harried. Granted the internet and cable went down in the neighborhood-thus their reservation system so they had a right to be. Luckily for us they had a small but good DVD selection to use in their in-room DVD players (always a major plus and especially in this case.)

The one thing, and it was a pretty big thing, was that the pool was DISGUSTING. Dozens of dead bugs floating on the top AND the bottom of it. I'm sorry, bugs float when they die unless they have been there for a while which means the pool has not been cleaned in a few days. We opted out of necessity which sucked because it was SO very hot. By contrast the Jacuzzi was clean and had none of the same issues.

I'd absolutely stay again but will inquire about their last pool cleaning the next time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iguanapwr1, Owner at Blue Iguana Inn, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
We are glad this guest enjoyed their stay despite the fact we were under pressure with the neighborhood (and our property's) temporary internet and cable outage. It is true we were harried with all the calls to technicians and doing our best to keep our customers happy without their having access to television or the use of their computers.
Our breakfast is continental since we don't have a commercial kitchen. The local health department puts serious restrictions on the type of foods were are allowed to serve. We try to do our best to make our offerings as nice as possible under these restrictions.
We are especially sorry if this guest found our swimming pool less than desirable on that day. We do have a service who tends to our pool and hot tub 3 times per week. Unfortunately, sometimes on hot nights some bugs may fly to the lights in the pool. We certainly apologize for any inconvenience this guest suffered and will continue to do our best to provide an excellent product.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Ojai was the fourth and final stop of our Central Coast road trip the last week of September.

Upon arriving we found a charming, southwestern-themed property with a very friendly and helpful staff. While checking in, we inquired about a room set further back from the busy roadway in front of the property; we were shown our original room, and another further back. Both were nicely decorated, clean and comfortable, and traffic noise didn't seem to be an issue in either, so we chose to stay in the original room we'd reserved.

After unloading our suitcases, we drove the short distance into town to explore, and ultimately, have dinner at Agave Maria's (which was very good, and which I will review separately), so we didn't spend a great deal of time in our room. Upon our return we did enjoy the jacuzzi before turning in. The bed was very comfortable and fitted with high-quality linens, and we slept very well.

A very basic breakfast was available the next morning. (We went into town for something a little more substantial.)

While not outrageously luxurious, we really enjoyed our brief stay at the Blue Iguana, and felt that it provided good value for the money. We are eager to spend more time there when an opportunity arises.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We just spent our 2 year anniversary at The Blue Iguana Inn in Ojai & it was a perfect stay! The grounds were impeccable, the staff was helpful and the rooms were super clean and cute! We had our 10 month old son with us and the lady at the front desk upgraded us to a suite at no extra charge so that we would have more room (we originally reserved a standard room). That was very thoughtful and it made our stay more enjoyable. I would highly recommend this hotel to couples, families or groups of friends looking for a unique place to stay in Ojai.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 4 and it was a very big suite and had a nice private patio off of the bedroom and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

My husband and I were driving home from a wedding in southern California and wanted to extend our trip. Having never been to Ojai we decided this was a perfect place to visit. The Blue Iguana Inn was wonderful from the moment we checked in. We stayed in Casita del Sol. It was quiet and private. We had a wonderful "front" porch with comfortable furniture to sit and look out on the grounds. Our room was very quiet, except for the second night when a group of young women arrived and partied loudly until about 11:30. When we told the manager the next day she was sincerely sorry for the intrusion. I look forward to visiting Ojai again and staying either here or their other property closer to town.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ojai
3.1 mi away
Casa Ojai Inn
Casa Ojai Inn
#3 of 5 in Ojai
4.0 of 5 stars 360 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Capri
The Capri
#4 of 5 in Ojai
3.5 of 5 stars 342 reviews
2.6 mi away
Oakridge Inn
Oakridge Inn
#1 of 1 in Oak View
4.0 of 5 stars 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Chantico Inn
Chantico Inn
#5 of 5 in Ojai
3.0 of 5 stars 57 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ojai Valley Inn & Spa
2.5 mi away
Su Nido Inn (Your Nest In Ojai)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Iguana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Iguana Inn

Address: 11794 North Ventura Avenue, Ojai, CA 93023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ojai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Iguana Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Called "Hip & Stylish" by Sunset Magazine, the Blue Iguana is a lovely, historic spanish style villa-inn w/ custom decorated rooms, suites and bungalows. Spacious grounds w/ lush gardens, pool & spa. Tile mosaic, sculpture and original artwork throughout. Complimentary continental breakfast & in-room spa services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Blue Iguana Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Iguana Hotel Ojai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Iguana Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.