We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“That's what I call a retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ojai Retreat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ojai Retreat to your Saves list
Ojai Retreat
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   160 Besant Rd., Ojai, CA 93023   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Ojai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Paradise City
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“That's what I call a retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2008

Just back from a 4 week trip through California/Nevada and would like to send this review to all fellow travellers. Ojai retreat was definitely one of the highlights on our trip. Everything just perfect, the tranquility of the place, friendliness of staff, interior of the rooms, we really fell in love with the place.
The lady at the reception (unfortunately I forgot her name, sorry) was extremely helpful with any request we had, e.g. my wife and I are keen golfers and had to organize our golf outings on the local golf courses she helped us with directions, booking the tee times,etc., to use the same words: just perfect. Thanks again.

  • Liked — Tranquility, cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    54
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
230
97
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Northern Calif
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2008

This is a very unique facility. Rooms are arranged in buildings with two or three rooms each. Most rooms are large and very comfortable with a nice seating area outside with a great view. Be aware, there are no phones, TV's, or other noise makers, which is part of the charm of the place. The staff is very friendly without being intrusive. I have stayed there twice in the past two months and enjoyed it both times and will stay again.

  • Liked — Atmosphere
  • Disliked — Location, far from my families location, but worth the drive
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa barbara
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2008

the ojai retreat center is a wonderful find. the property is lovely, the staff is kind and helpful, the rooms are comfy and private. i first discovered the place several years ago and try to come back every few months or so for a night or two of peace and relaxation. my husband came with me two times ago and did not want to leave. the prices are very reasonable and the location convenient to shops and restaurants.

my only complaint is the fold out couch in bella vista, which is not particularly comfortable as a second bed. otherwise, my visits have all been perfect.

karen k

  • Liked — beauty, peace and quiet
  • Disliked — more protein at breakfast
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2008

As the property's name implies it is a getaway retreat. The room and bath accommodations were delightfully fresh, clean and inviting. Perfect for a short or long stay -- we were there 2 nights. Sitting outside in the early evening sipping wine was a delight as we looked out at the beautiful countryside. No phones or TV's in room were a nice change, although they need to extend wireless internet access to all rooms. Breakfast of juices, fruit, granola, breads, bagels, tea and great coffee was a good start each moring. Would have liked some yogurt, but that's being picky. Only complaint was the stark interruption to the peace and quiet when the athletic field at the bottom of the hill erupted in annoying teeny-bopper screaming during soccer practice.

  • Liked — Quiet location with well appointed and very clean rooms
  • Disliked — Noise from playing field at bottom of hilll in early evening
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2008

If you want to enjoy a magnificent view, comfortable renovated rooms (we had ´"The" Ojai Suite), the quietness of nature, a relaxing small pond and waterfall, the Ojai Retreat is your place.
No television, no phones, just you and yourself... and your eventual partner(s!).
Not the place to look for rock and action, but a place to enjoy and why not, meditate, and enjoy the programm offered: It is a "retreat", not a "hotel". I kind of like giving my money to places with a purpose which is not only to make a profit: this one is a non-prfit organization.. but very well organized (it ticks like a Swiss watch!)
The place is spotless. A good bed from which we could enjoy the view of the Ojai valley... A nice size terrace, where we fell asleep contemplating the stars...
The Breakfast lounge room has a low volume classical music, and interesting books... the breakfast itself is composed of various items, all organic and some home made, delicious.
We had all of them on the terrace... tables were adorned with sprigs of rosemay, said to be deterrent for potential wasps... a few came by, and left right away!!!
After you have been greeted by very profocient and pleasant Office Staff, be sure to meet with the smiling, discreet and Swiss owner "Ulrich".. this might explain the above ticking of the place!.
He is a good source of information on the Ojai Valley.
Cannot wait to go back!

  • Liked — Location = view and quiet
  • Disliked — Small bathtub, but it seems to be
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2008

I needed peace, quiet and relaxation. I found exactly what I was looking for at the Ojai Retreat. The room was really nice and roomy. It was quiet and allowed me to rest and rejuvenate myself. The property is beautiful and I was able to walk and sit in uninterrupted peace. The breakfast was good. I loved sitting outside under the trees eating in peace. I highly recommend the Ojai Retreat.

  • Liked — The peace and quiet
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2008

From the moment I arrived at the Ojai Retreat, I knew I had come to the perfect place for a serene, spiritual, and relaxing vacation.

The grounds are filled with trees, plants, and flowers of all kinds, and hummingbirds, rabbits, and quail move amongst them each day. There are plenty of places where one can sit and take personal time for reflection, and the sound of the waterfall adds to the experience. A walk along the nature path is a great way to begin or end the day. It's so quiet at the Ojai Retreat that it's hard to believe that city life goes on just at the bottom of the hill. A full and healthy breakfast, buffet style, is served each day, and Christy's home-made granola is the best I've ever eaten. I stayed in two different rooms during my 6 day stay; both were beautiful and each included a private patio with fantastic views. Not everyone will appreciate that there are no televisions or phones in the rooms, but I found that it was perfectly in line with my appreciation of the peaceful atmosphere.

Yoga classes are offered three times a week. I'd had no experience with Yoga before, but the teacher helped me feel comfortable. She explained and taught some physical and spiritual aspects of Tibetan Yoga and made it a great experience. The class was held in the "Quiet Room," which was filled with all types of spiritual books (and a few for those who just want to read a good novel) from a large variety of spiritual paths and religions.

The Ojai Retreat is close enough to town to move freely back and forth any number of times, and the Ojai River Trail, which goes all the way to Ventura and where I rode my bike twice during my stay, is only 5 minutes away by car.

If you're looking for a quiet, beautiful place to stay when you're visiting Ojai, you will find it at the Ojai Retreat.

  • Liked — the grounds, the rooms, the peaceful environment, the view, breakfast
  • Disliked — the bees that wanted to share my breakfast on the outdoor patio
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ojai Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ojai Retreat

Address: 160 Besant Rd., Ojai, CA 93023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ojai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ojai Retreat 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ojai Retreat is a 5-acre haven of beauty with exquisite views, lush gardens and tranquility. There are 12 completely renovated bedrooms most with private garden or patio, all with views. A delicious European-style breakfast is included. There is a spacious living/meeting room and Quiet room with small library. Free wireless internet in all rooms and throughout the property. TV-and telephone-free rooms to preserve tranquility. Yoga classes and massages are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Ojai Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ojai Retreat Hotel Ojai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ojai Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.