We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serenity” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ojai Retreat

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ojai Retreat to your Saves list
Ojai Retreat
160 Besant Rd., Ojai, CA 93023   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Ojai B&B and Inns
Manhattan Beach, California, United States
1 review
“Serenity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Absolutely love the setting, homey rooms, amazing breakfast. Clare, the receptionist, adds to the glorious welcome. As an author, I find myself escaping the LA hype often to re-group at the Ojai Retreat. I've been 4 times. I'm booked in again in October to use the facility for a book signing event.

Room Tip: I've stayed in two different rooms and they were both great - the oak room detached from the mai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    54
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
223
97
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We were fortunate to spend two nights in the Sky Suite at Ojai Retreat. What a great experience! The suite had all that one could have asked for, lots of space, a kitchenette and views to die for! The Retreat is quiet and laid back with most of the lodges havings their private space. We were spoilt at the self-service breakfast which had such a great choice of cereals, fruit, cheese, ham, home-made bread etc. and delicious orange, banana and strawberry juice. After doing a lot of touring it was perfect to relax at the Retreat.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at the Ojai Retreat several times. It's been a wonderful experience every time. The rooms are quaint and quiet. The grounds are charming and peaceful with a beautiful view from the main building patio. If you like enjoying nature in a tranquil setting, you'll love this place. The employees are always friendly and helpful. The breakfast is is great. I recommend the yoga classes that they offer throughout the week. Every time we leave the Ojai Retreat my husband and I feel relaxed and rejuvenated. Only regret is that we haven't been able to stay for a longer period of time. Check it out. You'll love it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We traveled to Ojai last week during a sweltering end of summer getaway. We stayed at the charming Ojai Retreat, an affordable European-style compound of twelve renovated guestrooms perched high on a hill with fabulous views overlooking the valley. Our room came with a great air conditioner that made for wonderful sleeping. The room was located in a separate cottage on the property and it had a cozy private patio. The room (with microwave and small refrigerator) and bath were very clean, well lit, comfortable, accessible, safe and conveniently located to the main house which holds a library and breakfast space (included in price). There is a wonderful outdoor common area with tables and chairs for dining and enjoying the views. Interesting programs and presentations are scheduled in the evening, at a minimal charge or by donation. We attended two presentations, inspirational in focus, and felt them to be quite worthwhile. We were also impressed with the well maintained grounds with its walking paths and numerous sitting areas designed for those who wish to sit and contemplate the beauty of nature. We received 5-star hospitality and will make Ojai Retreat our go-to place when we visit again.

Room Tip: Two of the four rooms in main house are upstairs and have a shared bath. Rooms in cottages have priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

This was our second stay at the Ojai retreat. The first time we stayed in the Bella Vista room because it has a pull out sofa. A wonderful room and a wonderful stay. The second time we were also going to stay in the Bella Vista room, but we received a phone call from the Ojai retreat saying that they were having a special event and would it be ok if they changed our room.(They were concerned that lots of people walking by our room for a few hours would bother us.) We said sure! Our only requirement was that we needed 2 beds.....The only room they had left with 2 beds was their "Ojai Suite" room. Wow!!! They did not charge us for the upgrade and what a treat! Just a lovely, lovely room, fantastic view and our own private patio area! Just fantastic. We highly recommend the Ojai room! We highly recommend the Ojai Retreat!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, CA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Every time I stay at the Ojai Retreat i wonder, "How can it be even better than the last time?" But it is! The staff are constantly improving the already marvelous landscaping, breakfast, amenities! I just stayed again and I was again amazed at the incredible peace (!), beauty, and spiritual ambiance of The Ojai Retreat. Don't hesitate...it is worth every penny!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, NJ
Top Contributor
314 reviews 314 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 142 cities Reviews in 142 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We were in Ojai for a few days and decided to try the Retreat. After traversing some street away from the main street, we crossed a bumpy lane up to the retreat.

Checking was smooth and simply and we were directed to our room which was in the main house. After lugging the bags up the steps, the experience began. The room itself was large with a comfortable queen size bed. There were lights on both sides of the bed sufficient for reading in bed. (part of the retreat is that there are no telephones and no TV).

We had a pleasant lanai with a table with umbrella and chairs so we could site out in the evening or the morining. The grounds are condensed but set with beautiful views of the valley. Some rooms have a view of the valley or gardens. The place is very tranquil and has a calming effect.

The main house has several table and chairs for sitting around and a library of books about local history, vegetarianism and spirituality.

The morning breakfast is served in the big house and is very organic in nature. We sat in the outdoor eating area looking over the valley and watching the sun rise further in the sky. There were whole grain breads, and muffins, cheeses, and their own granola mix with fresh fruit mix.

A delightful way to start the day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ojai Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ojai Retreat

Address: 160 Besant Rd., Ojai, CA 93023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ojai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ojai Retreat is a 5-acre haven of beauty with exquisite views, lush gardens and tranquility. There are 12 completely renovated bedrooms most with private garden or patio, all with views. A delicious European-style breakfast is included. There is a spacious living/meeting room and Quiet room with small library. Free wireless internet in all rooms and throughout the property. TV-and telephone-free rooms to preserve tranquility. Yoga classes and massages are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Ojai Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ojai Retreat Hotel Ojai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ojai Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.