We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise, especially for writers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ojai Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ojai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ojai Retreat
Save Saved
You added Ojai Retreat to your Saves list
160 Besant Rd., Ojai, CA 93023   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book Direct = Best Price
Ranked #1 of 10 Ojai B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Paradise, especially for writers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I've been here several times, and it's truly paradise. The grounds are extremely well kept, the rooms and accommodations are meticulously clean, and I feel like every need is taken care of--especially the need to disconnect from the world and to relax, hence no TVs. (Yet the wifi works great.) There are beautiful nature trails around with the smell of flowers and herbs. The views induce solace for the soul. As a writer, I'm the most productive here, either writing on my laptop in the living room, near the water falls, or in my room. The attention to detail is evidenced in the careful signage--you'll never get lost or confused. The people are very friendly, and the breakfast (especially the Ojai coffee) is delicious.

I stayed at Ojai Valley Inn once, and it can't compare to this. This is more luxurious because it's so authentic, peaceful, quiet, and personal. Ojai Valley Inn felt like a corporate monster compare to this, and an overpriced one at that. I've been avoiding writing a review in Trip Advisor because I always wanted to make sure a room was available for me!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OjaiRetreat1993, General Manager at Ojai Retreat, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Orit ... You have written a beautiful review about your experience at Ojai Retreat and we thank you so very much! We strive to provide a peaceful setting, comfortable rooms, and nourishing foods ... for guests just like you! Again, we thank you ... and welcome you back again and again! Your friends at Ojai Retreat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    345
    52
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
214
91
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

As a first-time visitor to this property I quickly discovered that I had booked myself into paradise. The views from my room and patio (the Garden Room) were unmatched. I felt so lucky to be there and truly pleased with all aspects of the Retreat.

The breakfast is simply first rate. Enjoy it on the patio and drink in the natural beauty as you start your day. Kudos to you all for creating a place of such peace, beauty and calmness!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We came to spend one night, and stayed 8 days !
We just didn't want to leave this peaceful, beautiful place.
Never have we been so well received by sincere kindness as at the Ojai
retreat.
Everybody working there seem to share the same gift making you feel good.
The Ojai retreat is situated on a hill with its own history.
The Bella vista room was charming, has a beautiful veranda and bow window
with a view over the amazing mountains and trees.
The delicious breakfast is served in the very large and comfortable common
living room, that is opened all day for reading or having tea or coffee if
you wish.
You can also eat outside enjoying the view.
If you want solitude it will be respected and during the day you feel as
the hole place with it's surrounding gardens and forest is yours, but if you want to socialize, at breakfast you will meet interesting people of all ages and horizons from LA and all around the
world.
It is a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

A little dated, but very cozy. Magnificent view. Incredible massage by Aaron. Little patio to view the wonderful stars, as property is at the top of the hill (the road a bit bumpy on the way up for someone who just had surgery, like me). Breakfast had many things to choose from with views on all sides. We had a nice cottage with a great heater and shower, along with microwave and refrigerator.

Room Tip: They appeared to all be cottages, each with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Ojai Retreat. We stayed in the Sky Room, which was beautifully decorated, roomy, comfortable, and had incredible views out of every window. The beds were comfortable and the kitchenette was modern and very functional. The location can't be beat - conveniently close to town on a hill with large oak trees, nice gardens, and amazing views. Because of the way the bungalows are situated, each room is very private and quiet. The staff was knowledgeable, very attentive and warm. Breakfast was delicious, with an assortment of fruit, breads, muffins, scones, organic yogurt, homemade granola, eggs, oatmeal, coffee, teas, and juice served in a large, bright common room. We will return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I went to Ojai Retreat to relax and reflect for the second time this year. I have to say that this place is amazing. It's peaceful and quiet, and it has the most gorgeous views all around. Ojai Retreat has a few staff but everybody is very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is fantastic, nothing fancy but very delicious and healthy. Ojai Retreat has 12 rooms. No two rooms are the same. Each room truly has its own unique character. This time I stayed in the Balcony room. This is a spacious room with a fantastic view even from the bed. It also has a private balcony looking at the same great view. The pictures on the website don't really do the justice on how beautiful and comfortable this room is. All in all I love Ojai Retreat and I'll definitely go back. Being only about an hour drive, this place is a perfect getaway from Los Angeles.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
World
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

You're immediately welcomed by the serene smell of lavender. The room is bright, very comfortable bed, quiet. What I'm always impressed about this property is the attention to detail and impeccable quality of everything. A small group of Koreans had a wedding in the beautiful Waterfall Garden - there are only 6 guests. Being to close to Hollywood, More and more famous people come here for a hideaway so don't be surprised to run into your favorite star.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ojai Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ojai Retreat

Address: 160 Besant Rd., Ojai, CA 93023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Ojai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ojai Retreat is a 5-acre haven of beauty with exquisite views, lush gardens and tranquility. There are 12 completely renovated bedrooms most with private garden or patio, all with views. A delicious European-style breakfast is included. There is a spacious living/meeting room and Quiet room with small library. Free wireless internet in all rooms and throughout the property. TV-and telephone-free rooms to preserve tranquility. Yoga classes and massages are available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Ojai Retreat Hotel Ojai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ojai Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.