We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value -- check YELP and GROUPON fo deals.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hummingbird Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hummingbird Inn to your Saves list
Hummingbird Inn
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   1208 E. Ojai Avenue, Ojai, CA 93023   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 9 Ojai B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Good value -- check YELP and GROUPON fo deals.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Overall this is a great bargain "IF" you get a deal. Came on a one night $89 Groupon. It was a good value but had I paid the full $129.99 for the deluxe patio room I would maybe felt different...

Also they have a YELP check in at $20 off regular room rates. So since the GROUPON is for Sun-Th you can check in Sat get $20 off the room then use your GROUPON the next day! See now that's Gangsta'

The room as nice. It was renovated with a nice flat screen. But the bathroom was old like everyone else seems to add.

The patio was filthy. Dust and leaves all over furniture. And since it wasn't quite pool season yet (March) so the pool area was also a little meh.

The hot tub is a nice feature and is open 8-10pm. They take dogs for additional $20 and they make you upgrade to the "dog" room which is conveniently $20 more so a dog is technically $40-50 more depending on the deluxe rate.

The breakfast on a Sunday is non existent. The Holiday Inn express looks like a Vegas Buffet compared to this place. Waffles only on weekends which was a bummer. You basically get yogurt, toast, and coffee.

Overall come on a deal but look around because I checked into other nearby places on YELP offering deals and such. Capri Inn was once.

These are all former motel 6 ish type places with a Home Depot makeover. If you're looking for a deal which we were this was great.

And although they were perfectly nice, albeit a little spacey, this place is run by high school girls most of the time. I imagine it's cheaper than full time employres. Also free WIFI was appreciated.

Room Tip: #22 is solid -- patio for dogs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    38
    28
    11
    28
See reviews for
27
65
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

The good news is the Hummingbird Inn was remodeled and the rooms are large nicely appointed with all that you will need for your stay. Now the bad news, we didn't know much about Ojai and bought a Groupon for this hotel. Breakfasts were part of the deal but let's face besides the coffee for breakfast, let's say I don't consider store bought bagels, Pop Tarts and cold cereal a good breakfast. This place would definitely be better if they just put more effort into setting up a good breakfast and it wouldn't take much. And some other advice would be to fire those teenage girls who don't really care about your business. The girls at the front desk are worthless and you might as well be talking to a stump, they don't want to answer any questions or get you anything. I will not consider going back and if you want a good breakfast go into town is my advice.

Room Tip: Get a room closer to the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

What a gem! It doesn't look like much from the outside, but the beautiful, well-appointed rooms make up for the lackluster external motel appearance. Do not be deceived! The bed is fluffy and white, extremely comfortable. The height of the counter top is helpful, and the mosaic tiles beautiful. Huge mirror for getting ready to go out to birthday dinner at Azul - highly recommend tapas there.

Only complaints: no extra blankets to be found anywhere, and whatever you do, do NOT go out on your "patio". It looks like a frat lounge, and is not up to par with awesome rooms. It was nice, however, to take our little breakfast (great selection of Zelda's local teas) outside in the sun as a way to perk up in the morning.

We even used the hot tub (very hot!) and even though it's essentially right next to the road, a thin fence separating. I mean, come on: we had a gorgeous room with great coffee supplies and luxury toiletries, a hot hot tub, and clear skies stars at midnight. No, it's not the Ojai Inn, but for the low price we paid, it was well worth it.

Room Tip: Avoid the patios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

As we were getting ready for bed and brushing our teeth the beautiful waterfall faucet broke. The sink wouldn't turn off and water began gushing out from underneath the cabinet as well. We couldn't access the water valve to turn off the water since was no cabinet door nor could we get a hold of anyone from the hotel who could help us. The office was closed for the night and the emergency number on the office window would not connect. Using our cell phone since the room phone was also broken we tried calling the sister hotels for help and couldn't get through to them either. We ended up calling the Ojai police dept and are now waiting for their help. Will let you know how this disastrous night turns out......

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I stayed in room 19 at the Hummingbird Inn recently. The size of the room was fine, the patio would have been nicer had it not been covered with cigarette butts, but the bathroom - yuck!! It was clean, but in need of a remodel or minimally a face lift!
The sink faucet was wobbly as it had been installed very poorly. The tub was old, caulk was grey and yucky and it was nearly impossble to keep a consistent temperature. When the guest upstairs took a shower it was so loud it woke us from a dead sleep!
Sadly, the icky bathroom over shadowed the good.
Here is some of the good:
The staff is very helpful and friendly.
The common area is spacious and comfy with an odd mix of mid-centiry modern and who knows what!
The loungers by the pool are perfect for a mid-day nap.
The location is good, close enough to walk to town.
The Inn offers complimentary beach cruisers too.
I don't think I would stay again unless I was assured the bathroom had been remodeled.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Overall this was a nice quiet place. It is located just outside of Ojai and the parking lot was big enough for our motorcycle trailer. We stayed in a bungalow with two comfortable queen sized beds. The rooms were roomy with nice hardwood floors, a glass bowl sink, a stylish dresser and desk, leather padded headboards, a large tv, a nice face, working ac/heat, a small refrigerator, safebox, and a microwave. The lights were on timers to save energ, the toiletries were recycled and supported the honeybees! There was also wine sparkling water and glasses in the room for $20, candy and chips for $3. The bathroom was nice... though the shower did seem less moderen compared to the rest of the room. Breakfast bar consisted of poptarts and apple juice and there was no laundry facilities. The house keeping provided fresh towels and made the beds. The hot tub and pool was also nice. Overall a nice little place. I would deffinatly return. =)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hills, CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

It was a perfect getaway for my husband and myself, this was our first visit to this cute and cozy inn. I purchased a night through Groupon which included a bottle of wine and some olive oil, yum!! The room was very clean and comforting and the girl that was there when we checked in was an absolute sweetie, we had no reception on our cell phones and we needed to call to check on our toddler w/her babysitter, well the clerk offered hers and we we're so amazed because honestly who does this but a good samaritan. Overall, we will definetly stay here again, plus they offer a very tasteful breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hummingbird Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hummingbird Inn

Address: 1208 E. Ojai Avenue, Ojai, CA 93023
Location: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ojai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hummingbird Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxation and enjoyment is key to our newly remodeled spacious grounds, lawns, and gardens. The pool, spa, and sundeck lounging area are completely enclosed for your safety and privacy. Enjoy a complimentary breakfast each morning, and our tea and coffee each afternoon and evening. Relax & enjoy the beauty of Ojai. Our expansive front yard includes a pine log bench swing, and comfortable chair and table sets. We are only blocks from downtown Ojai and steps away from the Ojai Soule Park Golf Course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hummingbird Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hummingbird Hotel Ojai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hummingbird Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.