We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No coffee pot!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hummingbird Inn

Save Saved
You added Hummingbird Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hummingbird Inn
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   1208 E. Ojai Avenue, Ojai, CA 93023   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 10 Ojai B&B and Inns
Ojai, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“No coffee pot!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed for two nights in the middle of the week. The first night, I believe we were the only ones there. The room was a nice size, but the desk and chair were rickety. They claim to have Internet service, but it didn't work well. My biggest gripe was that they don't have a coffee pot in the room. We had already been told that they don't serve breakfast until 7:30, so we went out and bought a coffee pot for the room. My husband went at 7:30 for the breakfast and there was a sign that said "We will be back at 8:00"
Overall the room was clean, bed was comfortable, quiet place, but we would have liked a coffee pot in the room, Wi-Fi, and breakfast when they say it will be.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    29
    19
    10
    26
See reviews for
21
49
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

This inn was not worth the price we paid for it.
--The A/C failed to keep the room a comfortable temperature and it rattled and buzzed like crazy. I had a hard time sleeping with it on.
--The bed frame was loosening at its joints, so it squeaked and shifted all night.
--The pool apparently failed to pass CA regulations, so we couldn't use it while we were there.
--The continental breakfast was pretty good, but not spectacular.
All around, this place was average, and it should have been cheaper than it was.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, il
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

A cute "refurbished" motel with below average bathrooms and limited towels.
We stayed here over labor day weekend for a wedding, in one of the rooms with a patio. Luckily, our patio furniture was nice, though some others we saw were all ripped up and nasty. It seems each room is different and some more updated than others. The main room was cute, but the bathroom was nasty with mold spots, old toilet, rusty/grimy fixtures, etc. The most annoying part was that they didn't have enough towels for everyone staying at the hotel. To begin with, they were like sandpaper, and the one I got had a huge rip in it. After they cleaned our room the 2nd day, they didn't leave any towels, so I told the front desk, and she said it would be 40 minutes. The next morning, we still had none, so I asked again and she said they didn't have any to give me. I had to wait 2 more hours for them so I could finally take a shower. She said it happens when they are booked-- so why can't they just buy more towels?!? Everything else about the hotel was ok/average.

Room Tip: Each room is different, some more updated than others, the one we were in had a good main room but n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

This was a fantastic hotel and one I think we will visit again. The rooms were really clean and very comfortable. Each room had it's own enclosed porch that was just delightful. The staff was pretty unfriendly and seemed irritated whenever anyone attempted to ask them for anything and that was quite unfortunate. We tried to rent bikes but they were only available for 1 hour and then would be close to $50 for two people. They didn't replace the toiletries and that was a bit annoying. Though we didn't have time to enjoy the pool, it was fun to have onsite.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

BIg rooms, comfortable beds, clean, nice hot shower, good TV, easy parking and checking, friendly staff - the hotel had everything we needed for a wedding weekend in Ojai. It's nothing fancy, but feels more personal than a chain, and the price was great for the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

I stayed for two nights at the Hummingbird Inn and all in all, the only thing I have to complain is that the Wi-Fi did not work at all. The rooms are spacious, have hardwood floor instread of the inherently unhealthy germ-soaked carpets of other motels, the bed, the furniture, the bathroom equipment all were brand-new or only a few months old. In fact, the whole place looked like it has recently been renovated. The continental breakfast in the spacious breakfast room was very good, as well. I'd definitly return any time.

Room Tip: Get a downstairs room to have private garden area behind it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Very disappointing. Instant coffee and paper cups in rooms. Two towels and no replacement of
amenities after first night. A couple of things needed repair. Staff at front desk not very friendly.
Continental breakfast also featured paper cups, limited selections. Just an overall unpleasant and unfriendly place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hummingbird Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hummingbird Inn

Address: 1208 E. Ojai Avenue, Ojai, CA 93023
Location: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Ojai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hummingbird Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxation and enjoyment is key to our newly remodeled spacious grounds, lawns, and gardens. The pool, spa, and sundeck lounging area are completely enclosed for your safety and privacy. Enjoy a complimentary breakfast each morning, and our tea and coffee each afternoon and evening. Relax & enjoy the beauty of Ojai. Our expansive front yard includes a pine log bench swing, and comfortable chair and table sets. We are only blocks from downtown Ojai and steps away from the Ojai Soule Park Golf Course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hummingbird Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hummingbird Hotel Ojai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hummingbird Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.