We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MmMmmm!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Exotic Thai Restaurant

Exotic Thai Restaurant
849 E Ojai Ave, Ojai, CA 93023-2902
805-646-6618
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 87 Restaurants in Ojai
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“MmMmmm!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Really tasty food! PaNang was bursting with flavor! I even used my spoon to slurp the curry up. The larb was zesty, deliciously citrusy & wonderful as was the Tom Yum Soup. We tried the curry puffs (I believe they were called) and those were really good. A curry empanada if you will. We've always visited Ojai during the week, so crowds & lack of service has never been a problem. I really love this place!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    8
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California, United States
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Food is average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Inside deco is nice but our curry with coconut milk was quite salty and not sweet enough. I guess you cannot expect the same food quality as Thai restaurants in bigger cities OC/LA or SF/SJ

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“One of our favorites on the list "Lunch for 2 for 20 bucks"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

They have a great lunch special menu very affordable and very satisfying. My favorite, Spicy Noodle Soup, Hubby never will chose anything but the Chicken Basil. The fact that you can order specials before 3 pm help us, non-organize non-scheduled lunchers. We also really like the green curry, the spicy noodles and the mushroom coconut soup. Pai Tai is good and last time I really liked the Sticky Mango Rice, even when that raised our bill to almost 25 dollars for our lunch! Oh, well, we beak the rules time to time

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Standard Thai food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Everything you would expect from a Thai restaurant. They have vegetarian items and you can sub tofu for most entrees.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“If food were all that mattered then this place would rock... Unfortunately service matters too.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Food was good but the servers were so rude to my group. They never brought us water, they rushed us to order, brought us our food, and then made us sit and wait for our check for 1/2 an hour after we were done eating. We tried multiple times to get their attention and they would look us straight in the face and walk the other way. So basically go if u want good food, but if u don't want to feel like you don't matter at all then stay far away.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Exotic Thai Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Exotic Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Exotic Thai Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.