We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Fresh Seafood

Sea Fresh Seafood
533 E Ojai Ave, Ojai, CA 93023
(805) 646-7747
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 81 Restaurants in Ojai
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
San Diego, CA
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“A nice dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Had grilled shrimp, which came with a garden salad and fries. Restaurant full, and noisy, but had decent service as a solo diner.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

69% Recommend
    34
    30
    12
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, Ca
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“What a Disappointment!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Although I don't usually write negative reviews, we were so disappointed in our experience at Sea Fresh in Ojai that I felt I had to say something (which I did while we were there as well). We had seen this newly remodeled restaurant reopen last summer when we visited but couldn't get in, it was so popular. So we were excited to try it out this past New Year's week. The staff is very friendly, yet even though we were there early, they all seemed in a hurry to go home that night. The food was okay, our main complaint was each course was brought when we had barely begun the last! When it happened again between the salad and main course, I told the waitress that no, we were not ready to eat our entree when we had just been given our salads. She looked surprised at this, as if we were in a hurry to go somewhere. As a credit to her, she did take back the fish and had the chef remake our entrees. We had two different kinds of fish with different breaded/herbal seasonings and yet both were equally tasteless. The staff's timing and recipes obviously need some work. When I went to use the ladies' restroom, the toilet handle was broken so I lifted up the tank to flush it manually. When I spoke to the hostess about this, she laughed and said oh yeah, I've been meaning to get that fixed! I thought that was a tacky reaction. Overall, it was not a great experience and I would not return. Granted, after the holidays everyone's a bit burned out, but I felt this restaurant needs to rely on more than its pleasant outdoor area.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, CA
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“OMG!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Nicole again provided great service; but, tonight she went above and beyond! She suggested the Parmesean Scallops.... I would NEVER associate Scallops with cheese... It is served with a jalipino cream sauce ( very mild) and while reserved, I did order it.... OMG!!! I think this is my favorite dish ever! It so reminds me of the fish n chips that we had on the Orkney Islands! Nice crunch and butter texture of the flesh. NO grit!!! It will melt in your mouth.
Oh please... If you are in Ojai... This is THE dish to try.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ojai
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good, not great, for the price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Entres a bit pricey for small town food, but the quality is generally good, with very nicely remodeled ambiance...and where else can you watch a mexican guy make your sushi?!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central California, United States
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Heard of this restaurant from other travelers passing through Ojai, who highly recommended it. We weren't disappointed, and neither was our little dog, who didn't have to stay in the car while we feasted on deliciously prepared trout and clam chowder! Both the food and service were excellent, and the heated patio is lovely, and very comfortable, for dining with your best 4-legged friend.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Fresh Seafood also viewed

 

Been to Sea Fresh Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Fresh Seafood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.