We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Christmas Eve Dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maravilla

Maravilla
Ojai Valley Inn & Spa, 905 Country Club Rd., Ojai, CA 93023
805-640-2100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Maravilla is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 87 Restaurants in Ojai
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $35 - $50
Cuisines: Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Country Club Drive
Description: Our style of food is inspired by the abundant natural diversity and rich ingredients of our valley and local California region. We are fortunate to have our own two acre chef's garden. In addition to the bounty that surrounds us, we are also within miles of the finest wineries in Central California. Our Mediterranean climate allows for a year round growing season.
Palm Desert, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Christmas Eve Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

Nat was the highlight server. Very helpful and friendly. Even took the time to write down local hiking spots. Food was awesome. Best chicken prepared with herb bread pudding. Memorable meal.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    15
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Healdsburg, California
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Very expensive resort restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

Good food at high prices. I mean $40 for a NY strip is a bit much. The food is good but the menu is limited. They have an extensive wine list with surprisingly reasonable prices.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very, very, good, but a little short from expectation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

A couple of the dishes were really some of the most amazing, incredible foods I've ever had. For that, compliments to the chef!

Portions were small -- just big enough to be satisfying, but also small enough to keep the spa and diet crowd away from temptation. A bit too light for me, but acceptable.

I felt they fell a little short of truly integrating California local ingredients as it said on the menu. Just seemed a tad bit on the international 5-star hotel restaurant vibe -- nothing wrong with that, it is a hotel after all.

The environment is worthy of the name. At night, it's nothing short of magical here. Being a regular to Ojai, we may all wish that money didn't buy happiness, but then, there's this place that, well, is really wonderful, and really expensive.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Dinner was excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

Great dinner after a day at the spa and on the links. Dinner was delicious.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Better than expected.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

Try the beef carpaccio and tomato/burrata cheese appetizers, both to die for flavorful. New York steak was amazing, as was the short ribs.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maravilla also viewed

 

Been to Maravilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maravilla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.