We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for a quick, cheap getaway--some drawbacks” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Capri

Save Saved
You added The Capri to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Capri
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1180 East Ojai Avenue, Ojai, CA 93023-3013   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Ojai
Pasadena, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice place for a quick, cheap getaway--some drawbacks”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The rooms are not bad--bathrooms are small but beds are big and there is a plasma TV. '90s Ikea retro furniture--best part of the place is the nice pool and grounds. No coffee maker in room, just a water boiler with instant coffee. The problem is the management. I felt the manager was quite arrogant and obnoxious. When I called he said definitely I could have a patio room. When I got there, he said he did not have one, then asked me why I needed one (!). Not quite the type who should be working for the hospitality industry. I put a bad review on Yelp, but had to call back because I forgot something in the room. He actually had the unprofessionalism to confront me about the review! So, if you get a deal, such as Groupon, it's a nice place but beware the management.

Room Tip: The patio rooms lead on to the beautiful grounds but Christopher, the manager, has to deem you accep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    109
    99
    35
    24
    38
See reviews for
69
128
21
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Beach, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

First I must admit I am jaded and already mad at this place. I bought a hotel deal on Living Social which included a bottle of wine upon arrival; however, when I checked in they would not honor the promotion. (Although it was paid for ahead of time. Deceptive advertising?) They did have a nice bottle of wine set up in the room for a cost of $35.00. That was a bit fishy to me. They offered us two coupons for a "glass" of wine at another restaurant facility miles away. Odd. The place is definitely dated with the cute "retro" touches nice but they don't pay attention to details. The bathroom shower curtain had a nickel size make-up stain (room 107) and the tile on the floor of the shower needed a good chlorine scrub as it was not clean. The vanity area was cute but who knew that the metal lunchbox had washcloths in it? Maybe a sign would be helpful. The fridge and microwave were handy. They do include a vcr, and record player (yes a usable one) so if you are inclined to bring a few records, you're in luck. The room is painted lime green and has some little decoration touches I found amusing. (Check out the odd shaped pillow that look like hotdog rolls tied with twine.) The one added plus that changed this room from poor to average was the private little fenced in deck with had for our dog. It had a nice lounger, three chairs and a table looking out to the yard in the back. It was nice and convenient for our dog. All and all, don't pay over a hundred for this hotel and make sure they include all the extra's promised in the fine print. Would I go to this hotel again. NO WAY!

Room Tip: If you travel with a dog choose room 107 or 109.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

There's a nice relaxed feel here at the Capri. The lobby is mini Palm Springs cool, and the pool area stylishly atmospheric with curtained cabana lounges and lots of palm trees. Our room was small and clean, with bright lime walls and fun touches like a little metal lunchbox for the toiletries. Nice to have a mini fridge, but reeeeally nice to have a patio. Room 109 is a double queen with a flagstone patio which opens out to a really large fenced in green space that was heaven for my little dog. They're really dog friendly here.
Although the patio gate had a latch, we didn't feel comfortable sleeping with the room's sliding door open, so we locked up and used the AC. I don't like sleeping with AC anywhere, and this old fashioned wall mount was hard to regulate, I alternated between feeling too hot or too cold a lot of the night. Also the walls are thin, we shared an adjoining door with the room next door and when they started having really loud sex, it was like we were right there in bed with them. Imitating them was a really great way to get them to quiet down. Just a little friendly call and response action.
This is a re-done motel, not a fancy hotel. I agree they could have done a more meticulous job in redoing things, paint detail, finish work, new windows, etc...But we had a nice stay. I dealt with Christopher on the phone and in person, he's not warm and fuzzy, but he's to the point and helpful.
The Capri was fun and different for Ojai. Plus it has the most awesome sign out front!
We'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We came up to Ojai with a reservation to stay at the Capri not knowing what we would find. What we found was a gem of a hotel--------- beautiful ,peaceful, great people!!! Coming from New York this was so needed!!! We fell in love with Ojai and the Capri Hotel!!! We shall be back!!!❤

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Looks like an old two story motel but upgraded with all the right touches to provide a great experience for one night or several. Fresh rooms and a nice poll area plus friendly and helpful staff. The little garden with the Buddha was a nice touch. Breakfast was a little on the lean side...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Capri motel has that fun "retro" vibe like the funky Palm Springs hotels! Front desk guy is interesting...as long as you don't expect ritz Carlton service at rock bottom prices you will enjoy this fun festive place! Lobby has tons of movies to choose from and rooms have cool record player/cd/stereo!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Spent a Sunday night with my wife here for our anniversary, which she purchased with a Groupon. She loved the modern decor and funky flavor of the place and had wanted to stay here for a while. Pros: We found the rooms to be tasteful, tidy and pleasant. King size bed was nice & comfy. Everything looked pretty fresh and new—nice, considering that the place celebrates its retro roots. The location is conveniently just outside of Ojai's downtown, and we took a nice evening walk there after dinner. Cons--Christopher at the front desk seemed downright annoyed that we were even there. Not sure why, especially since the place seemed empty. We looked forward to using our Groupon voucher for two glasses of wine...until we learned that the hotel's restaurant, the Deer Lodge, was over 3 miles away...guess we should have read the fine print. The WiFi was useless--the signal was either too low or the password didn't work from three different routers. Bathroom lights were controlled by motion sensors that shut off the lights 15 seconds after you got in the shower, leaving you in the dark. (I appreciate the attempt to save energy, but would make far more sense to replace those halogen bulbs with CFLs or LEDs.) And as a vegetarian, I was disappointed to find that all the hotel's soaps & shampoos contained honey (named ironically 'Bee Kind').

All of these little annoyances were not enough to make our trip unpleasant, but I wouldn't come back, especially at the normal rack rate.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caprihotel, Manager at The Capri, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
If you would have looked closer to "Bee Kind" Product you would see not made from Bees but a % of the Money of buying this product goes to Save The Bees :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Capri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capri

Address: 1180 East Ojai Avenue, Ojai, CA 93023-3013
Location: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Ojai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Capri 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Capri is a 30-room renovated mid-century modern hotel located in Ojai, CA, just 77 miles from LA and a half hour from Santa Barbara. Built in 1963, it’s within walking distance of historic downtown Ojai and surrounded by the Topa Topa Mountains. The Capri is a short drive to several of the Ojai Valley’s best hiking trails and up and coming wineries.The design is hip and bohemian. Some rooms have a garden patio and indoor Jacuzzi, There are Bee Kind organic bath products and minibars with Ojai wines and tasty local delicacies to munch on.We offer high speed Wi-Fi, 42” flat screens with premium cable, a great pool with cool private cabanas, a communal fireplace and Jacuzzi. Our grounds include a large, beautiful garden area surrounded by mature Date Palms where you can get married, throw a party or just chill out in. You are welcome to bring your less than gigantic dog and enjoy our pet friendly Patio rooms.If you want to have a great meal created with Ojai’s freshest farm-to-table preparation, or groove nightly to the Ojai Valley’s coolest bands and singer/songwriters, mosey over to The Deer Lodge. This is our restaurant and live music venue located just minutes away from The Capri in the shadows of the Los Padres National Forest. Founded in 1932, The Deer Lodge serves up the authentic Ojai experience with a modern twist in a warm and rustic lodge environment. Free shuttle service available Thursday through Saturday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your The Capri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Capri Hotel Ojai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Capri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.