We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky hotel, great room!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Capri

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Capri to your Saves list
The Capri
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1180 East Ojai Avenue, Ojai, CA 93023-3013   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Ojai
Leek
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Quirky hotel, great room!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I was expecting the Capri to be different after reading other reviews. I wasn't disappointed. Reception was an experience - white leather sofas and large fireplace - possibly deserving of more grandiose hotels. Service was casual but good. The room though, was excellent. WHen you pick up the keys, you are told to drive around the side to your door. Your heart sinks because what you find looks like the ouside of a motel. But the room is fab. Bright, clean, lots of space. A fridge, a microwave, a good shower room, and an enormous comfortable bed. French windows to a private pation with a gate to the garden and pool. This was a ground floor room, the first floor have balconies. After a great night's sleep, the continental breakfast brought me down to earth again, but I would recommend the Capri for any who want comfort and quiet .

Room Tip: Ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    110
    42
    25
    38
See reviews for
74
138
24
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
La Canada Flintridge, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Three of my college buds and I thoroughly enjoyed our short stay at The Capri in Ojai. From the moment we stepped foot into the lobby/hang out/buffet breakfast room, we knew we were in for something refreshingly different. The creative, unassuming decor was funky and fun. We were warmly greeted and given restaurant tips, shopping insights, and hiking trail recommendations from adorable Desiree. With keys in hand, we were pleasantly surprised with the simple, yet creative room designs. Bright greens and white laminated furniture were efficiently laid out, and included a sizable flat screen TV, and an assortment of VHS tapes, or DVDs to enjoy, with dozens more to borrow from the lobby. Wine glasses, an opener, and a small refrigerator were also included in the details. As for the beds, all 4 of us were quite happy with them. Our air conditioner units in our 2 rooms worked efficiently, with the expected amount of output volume. A plus for us was the convenient location of The Capri- totally within walking distance of downtown shopping, dining, art galleries, or book browsing. We didn't use the pool, but were quite happy with the jacuzzi. So, if you are game for something a little different, and are not too stodgy, the Capri is for you!!

Room Tip: You had better check to see if there is an elevator.... We didn't see one. Book early. Ojai is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

My husband & I spent two nights at this great hotel. The moment we walked into the lobby we knew we'd love it there. The new age / 60's feel to the lobby & room was refreshing. The grounds were beautiful as was the pool area. Christopher & the other sweet women at the front desk were helpful & made us feel right at home !

We loved playing with Nico the little kitty. The room was spacious & welcoming. I loved the cool lights at night in inviting colors. All of the other guests we met loved the place as well. The breakfast bar was great, lots of neat choices & good coffee & teas.

The bed was very comfortable & we loved our closed in patio at the back of our downstairs room. We'll be returning in the future !

Room Tip: We loved our room with the outdoor closed in private patio !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, Michigan
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Obviously, this hotel has been updated; very nicely I must say but still has a few "sins" remaining from the original design/layout.

First, the walls are not very sound proof as we were able to hear the rooms on either side fairly clearly. Fortunately, they were not noisy people.

Second, the toilet shares the same room as the shower, a nice size room but the front of the toilet is very close to the wall where you almost have to step over the toilet to use it. Makes for a tight “fit” sitting down but doable.

Third, there was only one night table lamp.

Hotel staff was very helpful and friendly.

All said, I would recommend The Capri as a nice place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los altos
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

After reading the Trip Advisor reviews I was really looking forward to my stay at The Capri. Relative to the experiences described, my stay was disappointing. The biggest problem was the wall unit air conditioner which made a low level but annoying noise when it wasn't on and a ton of noise when it was on. I tried opening the windows instead, but they were locked shut. I would have asked for help from the front desk, but they shut down around 11 pm and were gone when I needed assistance. On the positive side, the room decor was great and the complimentary breakfast was nice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina del Rey, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I almost don't want to write a review so that I can selfishly keep it low profile. I loved my stay there - clean room, quiet, great pool and a yard. Christopher, the guy at the front desk, is super kind, good energy and helpful, as well.

Room Tip: They all seem to be good. I don't know if there is a fitness center nor a restaurant. But, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Just got back from a 3 day stay at The Capri in Ojai, Ca for labor day weekend!

What an amazing place!! From the moment we checked in until we checked out, we were taken care of. The hotel has a really cool and hip vibe, while remaining charming and natural. The room was amazing and the bed was super comfortable, very peaceful, they have a great selection of dvd's in the lobby and their free!! They had a free continental breakfast every morning, with homemade bread from the local Ojai bakery's and an amazing waffle maker, fresh coffee, cereals, yogurt etc.. They also have a massage spa at the hotel and the massage we got there was heavenly, Patricia took extra care of us and we felt incredibly relaxed and amazing afterwards.

Christopher and Desiree took really good care of us and we're always there when we needed them, I would recommend anyone I know to stay there.

Thanks Christopher and see you soon, we'll be back!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Capri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capri

Address: 1180 East Ojai Avenue, Ojai, CA 93023-3013
Location: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Ojai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Capri 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Capri is a 30-room renovated mid-century modern hotel located in Ojai, CA, just 77 miles from LA and a half hour from Santa Barbara. Built in 1963, it’s within walking distance of historic downtown Ojai and surrounded by the Topa Topa Mountains. The Capri is a short drive to several of the Ojai Valley’s best hiking trails and up and coming wineries.The design is hip and bohemian. Some rooms have a garden patio and indoor Jacuzzi, There are Bee Kind organic bath products and minibars with Ojai wines and tasty local delicacies to munch on.We offer high speed Wi-Fi, 42” flat screens with premium cable, a great pool with cool private cabanas, a communal fireplace and Jacuzzi. Our grounds include a large, beautiful garden area surrounded by mature Date Palms where you can get married, throw a party or just chill out in. You are welcome to bring your less than gigantic dog and enjoy our pet friendly Patio rooms.If you want to have a great meal created with Ojai’s freshest farm-to-table preparation, or groove nightly to the Ojai Valley’s coolest bands and singer/songwriters, mosey over to The Deer Lodge. This is our restaurant and live music venue located just minutes away from The Capri in the shadows of the Los Padres National Forest. Founded in 1932, The Deer Lodge serves up the authentic Ojai experience with a modern twist in a warm and rustic lodge environment. Free shuttle service available Thursday through Saturday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your The Capri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Capri Hotel Ojai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Capri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.