We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Books for book lovers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bart's Books

Bart's Books
302 West Matilija Street, Ojai, CA 93023
(806) 646-3755
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 Shopping in Ojai
Type: Shopping
Attraction details
Aurora, Oregon, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Books for book lovers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We live near Powell's Books in Portland, Oregon, and Portland is otherwise a book lover's paradise with many "off Powell's" and "off off Powell's" experiences in every alleyway and town here in Oregon. We have become spoiled, but never blasé. We were excited to check out Bart's if only to celebrate an entrepreneur who trusts patrons to "drop change through the slot" for books they acquire on the outdoor shelves after closing time (sunset).

We were completely unprepared for the wonders that awaited us. This is a book shop for connoisseurs. Find your favorite author, title, or subject, and there will be an obscure title that you've never seen, heard of, or been able to find. Off market gems abound. That, coupled with the charming and idiosyncratic flow of this outdoor shop, which is really like an old rambling, roofless, house, with rooms and secret passageways.

The first-edition, signed children's book section held my attention for a couple of hours. Incredibly random, fascinating, and collectible stuff. Lots of places to hang out and chat and read, too. We went a few times during our five-day trip and it was a highlight of our wonderful get away in Ojai.

Oh. Lots of hardbacks, too! Lots!!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“World of Books”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I have been to bookstores all
Over the world and this one is still one of my favorites. It is huge, comfortable and has lots of nooks and crannies. And after hours they always leave some books outside on the walls to take and buy on the honor system.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Ohio
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“One unique bookstore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Never saw an outdoor bookstore in the US before but really cool. I wish I lived here I'd be there every day. Great place to read and get a deal.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“visit before you forget how good printed material is”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Full of books (of course) but also magazines, comics, second-hand, new, seating, coffee and people who love books. If you like book shops you'll love this place. It's hard to imagine only using Kindles, iPads, etc after a visit here.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

A book browsers paradise! An extensive collection of new and used titles. Just when you think you've covered the whole shop, you find another corner or room to explore. Very well organized and maintained. Set aside plenty of time if it is your first visit. Enjoy!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bart's Books also viewed

 

Been to Bart's Books? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bart's Books, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.