We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Books for book lovers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bart's Books

Bart's Books
302 West Matilija Street, Ojai, CA 93023
(806) 646-3755
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 11 Shopping in Ojai
Attraction details
Aurora, Oregon, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Books for book lovers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We live near Powell's Books in Portland, Oregon, and Portland is otherwise a book lover's paradise with many "off Powell's" and "off off Powell's" experiences in every alleyway and town here in Oregon. We have become spoiled, but never blasé. We were excited to check out Bart's if only to celebrate an entrepreneur who trusts patrons to "drop change through the slot" for books they acquire on the outdoor shelves after closing time (sunset).

We were completely unprepared for the wonders that awaited us. This is a book shop for connoisseurs. Find your favorite author, title, or subject, and there will be an obscure title that you've never seen, heard of, or been able to find. Off market gems abound. That, coupled with the charming and idiosyncratic flow of this outdoor shop, which is really like an old rambling, roofless, house, with rooms and secret passageways.

The first-edition, signed children's book section held my attention for a couple of hours. Incredibly random, fascinating, and collectible stuff. Lots of places to hang out and chat and read, too. We went a few times during our five-day trip and it was a highlight of our wonderful get away in Ojai.

Oh. Lots of hardbacks, too! Lots!!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“World of Books”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I have been to bookstores all
Over the world and this one is still one of my favorites. It is huge, comfortable and has lots of nooks and crannies. And after hours they always leave some books outside on the walls to take and buy on the honor system.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Ohio
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“One unique bookstore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Never saw an outdoor bookstore in the US before but really cool. I wish I lived here I'd be there every day. Great place to read and get a deal.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“visit before you forget how good printed material is”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Full of books (of course) but also magazines, comics, second-hand, new, seating, coffee and people who love books. If you like book shops you'll love this place. It's hard to imagine only using Kindles, iPads, etc after a visit here.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

A book browsers paradise! An extensive collection of new and used titles. Just when you think you've covered the whole shop, you find another corner or room to explore. Very well organized and maintained. Set aside plenty of time if it is your first visit. Enjoy!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bart's Books? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bart's Books, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.