We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Facade
Facade
Facade
Pagoda
Pool
Cabanas
Ceremony Site
Ojai
|
Rental Home – 
8 Bedrooms, 9 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
thelittle...
1 review
“Hidden gem - historic and well-kept”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Bunch of us stayed for the weekend. Lots of nice historic details. Like staying in a living museum, but not rundown at all.

Modern appointments like netflix in the rooms, and an amazing, huge, wine cellar-like basement. Like something you find in europe.

Fully functioning kitchen, and lots of games and options for activity, incl a nice wading pool.

James who manages the place is superb and really on top of things.

I hear they're putting in a vineyard, so grounds will be even cooler.

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
4 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Amber R
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
1 review
“2013 Brand Family Reunion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

This is definitely a hidden gem! The pictures that are shown are just a small glimpse of what this mansion really is about. It is definitely worth checking out, because once you explore this place, chances are you'll be back!

I cannot imagine a more perfect place to have a family reunion. With almost 60 people in attendance, there was never a time where we were crowded. The layout and phenomenal view of this place will be forever engrained into my memory.

5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The phenomenal view
Liked least: When I had to leave.
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Sue R
Santa Clarita, California
1 review
“Family Reunion Of The Century - A Gem Not To Be Missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We had a family reunion at Newhall Mansion to celebrate 100 years for my Grandmother. This was the most magnificent location and will be talked about and remembered for decades to come.

When we first arrived into the sleepy town of Piru, there was no way to know what was to come. The mansion is hidden behind beautiful gates at the end of a dirt road. When those gates opened, it was like stepping into Wonderland! A gorgeous view greeted us with the amazing mansion in all her glory, surround by trees, gazebos, and a pool to rival most.

Entering the mansion is nothing short of jaw dropping. Each room has its own historical theme, with secret panels to that open doors, a balcony behind an upsliding window, a huge kitchen, dining area, ballroom. There were nearly 60 of us, and there was nothing we didn't have......including space.

James and Greg were always onsite to take care of anything we needed, yet always out of sight, allowing us to celebrate with family without feeling smothered.

I would recommend this to anyone looking to host a party, wedding, reunion or whatever life event to be remembered.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Everything!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
KPM118
Santa Clarita, California
1 review
“Luxury Stay at a Beautifully Restored Historical Mansion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

I recently hosted a wedding and weekend stay at the mansion. James, the property manager, could not have been more helpful and attentive throughout the entire process. The property was beautifully landscaped (perfect for the outdoor ceremony and reception) and the mansion suites were each unique and filled with grand furnishings from an earlier era of wealth and prosperity. As a bonus, the mansion has a tavern that is reminiscent of an old speakeasy, which achieved the desired 1920's vibe for the wedding. All of our weekend guests enjoyed the pool and grand cabanas and were treated to all the comforts of home (including wifi and flat screen TVs in every room), all while surrounded by grandly crafted and furnished rooms throughout the mansion. Our wonderful experience, and that of our guests, was one that we will never forget....thank you James (and staff), for making my daughter's wedding absolutely PERFECT,

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Privacy, Grand Furnishings, Pool & Cabanas, Home Comforts, Customer Service
Liked least: Not Applicable
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
ashley m
Santa Clarita, California
1 review
“amazing vintage wedding venue!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Stayed at the newhall mansion for my sister's wedding and IT WAS AMAZING!!! The mansion is something out of a movie it's a fully restored vintage peice of art. The inside and outsided of this place was perfect for the 1920s styled wedding theme that we had. The cellar is one of the coolest places on the property and i had the priviledge of getting to stay in the romantic/ rustic room. The two guys that run the place were very sweet and extremely helpful. Couldnt have asked for a better experience!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The vintage feel of everything
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Cathy R
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
“Incredible wedding venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

My best friend's daughter chose this site for her wedding, and I have to say, I am completely in love. The Newhall Mansion is a completely renovated Victorian mansion that stays true to the Victorian era. I stayed in a room called the "Captain's Quarters", complete with a wooden (Jacuzzi) tub, brass fixtures, wooden shutters, and a fireplace. The bed was really comfortable, the giant rain showerhead was awesome (I have to get one for my house!), and the grounds are spectacular. Best thing, you save a ton of money on decorations because the location is so pretty you really don't need much at all. I would love to rent this place out for a family reunion. Best part was the kitchen, we had family style meals the night before and the morning of the wedding. James (who checked me in) was very knowledgeable and helpful. He showed me a few of the room's quirks (like the old-fashioned door locks and how to turn on the fireplace) and gave me a tour of the house.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property 5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses
5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils 5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: All of the different indoor and outdoor gathering places.
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Sharon G
Redondo Beach, California, United States
1 review
“Somewhere in Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

An amazing property to hold a special event. We had a couples retreat there for 12 and could not have asked for a more relaxing and beautiful setting. The mansion itself is spectacular, the grounds beautiful, with pool, cabana, fire pit, outdoor eating areas and a beautiful gazebo. This 1800's Queen Anne Victorian has been brought back to its original splendor. The stained glass windows throughout the mansion are stunning, the ballroom magnificent, and each themed guest room spacious, and extremely comfortable. Too bad I am already married....would love to have my wedding there!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property 5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses
5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils 5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The attention to detail
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$5,000
/
Night
Week
Additional fees may be applied by owner
Make Inquiry
Owner
Newhall M
Speaks English
Listed since : May 2013
Response Rate: 40 %
Response Time: Within a week
Calendar Updated: 5 days ago
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing