We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience...a little difficult to find.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ojai Olive Oil Ranch

Ojai Olive Oil Ranch
1811 Ladera Road, Ojai, CA 93023
805-646-5964
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 23 Activities in Ojai
Type: Farms, Ranch & Farm
Attraction details
Left Coast CA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience...a little difficult to find.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

A bit difficult to find (you're sure you're on a private drive before you even see one of their signs), but worth the search! Great place to take a tour to learn about EVOO growing & processing...and the laws governing EVOO standards. The tasting room is small, but perfectly arranged to taste olive oils and then balsamic vinegars. I prefer to taste directly (without bread) and they provide the cups for that as well. It is definitely a small, family run facility with wonderful oils & vinegars! Only open to the public Wed and Sat 1-4

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    5
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious and enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We enjoyed a lovely visit to the Ojai Olive Oil Ranch and we are still enjoying the oils and vinegar that we purchased. The Ranch is beautifully situated which makes the drive to the ranch enjoyable. The son of the owner guided us into the orchard and told us about the growing of the trees, the picking, the pressing and bottling. It didn't take very long and would have been OK for most kids. The tasting afterwards was also enjoyable and we appreciated that there was no pressure at all to buy anything. But since we tasted some delicious oils and vinegar, and since we wanted something to remember this delightful visit, we ended up buying more than we anticipated. No regrets - hopefully we'll be back for more!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fun and educational”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We were captivated by the presentation that Alice, the proprietor gave. It was very interesting to learn about the history of olives and the olive industry. After the outdoor presentation we went into the production area where we saw the various machines used in the production of olive oil.
Afterwards we went into the tasting/sampling room where we were able to sample a wide variety of olive oils and balsamic vinegars, many of which were delicious .

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Fantastic Tour a must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stopped here for a tour and it turned out to be one of the highlights of our visit.
The owner is very informative and describes the process of collecting the olives and making olive oil in a way that is easy to understand and very fascinating. We learned so much!

We sampled the olive oil afterwards and it you cant even compare it to any olive oil you have had before. It is amazing and beyond yummy! You can purchase bottles right there or you can have them shipped to you for a very reasonable price. The quality and freshness is no comparison to the olive oil sold in grocery stores. I will only be using ojai olive oil from Ojai from now on

They also sell olive oil soap and cream. I purchased some of these as well and within days I have seen tiny wrinkles around my eyes disappear. Needless to say I will be ordering more of everything online when I run out.

Thanks for a very informative tour!

Check their website for hours of operation before driving over as I believe the tours and the building may only be open on certain days as it is a small family run operation

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Fun family-run operation, very informative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This olive far was very close to town and the tour by our host was fantastic. we learned about olive oils, different types of olives, how they're picked. We walked amongst the olive trees and toured the press and bottling facilities.

Normally these free tours end with some pressure to buy something. Not here! they're really genuinely interested in telling people about their operations and teaching about olives. The olive oils and vinegars sold themselves by being absolutely delicious. We did buy some, and we'll be looking for their oils locally.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ojai Olive Oil Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ojai Olive Oil Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.