We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Change the name” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wrec Room - CLOSED

Wrec Room
219 E Matilija Street, Ojai, CA
(805) 646-6150
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Change the name”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Despite a less than charming name, it has surprisingly good food and wine. They always seem interested in customer feedback, and really seem to listen to suggestions.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    3
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“So Friendly (and live music)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

If you're looking for a nice Neighborhood/Friendly place (but don't want it to be too much of Dive) give this place a shot. The food is so so, but you don't go there for the cuisine :D
The local patrons are friendly, and the bartender, I think his name is Jaden, was super nice. He made our quesadilla and even taught us how to play darts. Oh, and if it's your birthday - a free beer ;)

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great Service, Great Food, Great Fun!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Wow! Fantastic food! You don't expect such great food at a Sports Bar, but it's really more of a fun restaurant feeling with HUGE expensive TVs than a bar feeling. I LOVED IT!!!!!!! Comfortable, great food, you can bring the family. Delicious. Owned by a lovely family. Met the sister and brother. Great people, great place!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Top Contributor
262 reviews 262 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
220 helpful votes 220 helpful votes
“Working Hard for the Money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

We were attracted to this hard-to-find joint because of a coupon in a magazine calling for "buy one, get one free" sandwich or burger at lunch. When we arrived it became apparent why they had resorted to the ad; the restaurant was nearly vacant. Maybe four other patrons.

In fairness I don' think they see themselves as a lunch location. It is really more of a sports bar with multiple TV mounted on various walls around the restaurant. And indeed as we sat at the bar and talked to the server, it turns out that their claim to fame is college and NFL football in season. Regardless, we were anxious to try out their food and see how it was.

It turns out our server is the cousin of one of the owners. That owner's brother (or the server's cousin) was the chef. My wife had a hamburger which was good but not great. That notwithstanding the cook spending much time telling us how he was cooking the meat, infusing it with seasoned salt, placing the cheese on it and throwing a pan over it to get the cheese to melt evenly. Absent the conversation, it was just another 'burger.

The real problem came when I asked if I could just get a salad under the coupon instead of a sandwich or burger. The cook said sure and then very confidently suggested he make me his version of a Chinese chicken salad. He showed me the sweet & sour sauce he had been experimenting with for this as yet not-on-the-menu salad. What arrived was a salad lacking in lettuce or cabbage, about half a dry chicken breast, wontons galore and the dressing which clearly needs more work. It would have been more appropriately named Won Ton Salad.

Perhaps I should have been more critical but the server and the cook could not have been more genial and down right neighborly. They gave us the low down on our pick for dinner (Bodee's) the best pizza in town (Papa Lennon's in Meiner's Oaks) and told us what it was like to grow up in this community where their families are fourth generation. It didn't seem right after getting to know them to then go off on someone who was working so hard to be a good and inventive chef.

Again, most of the food here is bar grub. I suspect had we been unwilling to experiment with the Chinese chicken salad, my review would have been a point higher. I also know that this young man is only the lunch chef giving way to a more senior guy (who came in while we were still there) during Happy Hour and evenings. Happy Hour and evenings is apparently when they hit their stride. We walked by the Wrec Room later that evening after returning from dinner and they had a band playing in the corner. In a town where most places roll up the sidewalks at 9:00 pm, the Wrec Room offers music several nights a week until 2:00 am.

So if you are looking for a nice place to have a drink, eat some chicken wings and watch a sporting event, this is the place. If you are there for fine dining, you will be disappointed. But give this family run business credit, they are working hard for the money.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wrec Room also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wrec Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.