We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sushi without a crowd” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hakane Sushi

Hakane Sushi
967 E Ojai Ave, Ojai, CA 93023-2966
805-640-3070
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 87 Restaurants in Ojai
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Ojai CA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Sushi without a crowd”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We have made Hakane a regular stop now. They have an amazing selection of specialty rolls and the sushi portions are generous. We have always found the fish to be very fresh. And best of all it's quite spacious and never crowded like the place in Miramonte. When the weather is warm they have a nice outdoor patio as well. They also have a small but nice selection of Saki - not just the hot stuff that is strictly for non-foodies. Their prices are also very reasonably.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    10
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
2 reviews
“Yummy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We were just in Ojai for one night. This sushi bar came recommended. It was right across the street from where we were staying. We would definitely go back.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“I eat here all the time when in Ojai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

So far, and I've dined here about 15 times, I've always been very satisfied. I do wish they had Milk on the menu for kids, but that's a minor inconvenience. Once I questioned whether their Yellowtail sushi was "Yellowtail", as it seemed more like another white fish. The chef answered Yes, but I was not convinced. But I love this place and their food and menu. I do wish the servers where more knowledgeable about the food their serving, however. Great menu with pictures of everything. I usually order way too much because I can't decide on just one or two options. So far so good with this reviewer.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Worst sushi I have ever had”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

My husband and I went here while on vacation in Ojai, CA. We were soooo disappointed. The fish was not great, and the presentation was miserable. Regular round plates, with the rolls just plopped down, the rolls were not cut or formed well (the rice was falling apart) and the fish was mediocre at best. Wow. I would definitely eat elsewhere.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai, California
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“BEST SUSHI IN THE VALLEY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We have dined at Hakane since they opened. We take out of town guests there too. Never been disappointed. Food is consistent, fresh and tasty. Hard pressed to find any better sushi in Ojai!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hakane Sushi also viewed

 

Been to Hakane Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hakane Sushi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.