We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our third year in a row” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Emerald Iguana Inn

Save Saved
You added Emerald Iguana Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Emerald Iguana Inn
108 Pauline Dr., End of Blanche St., Ojai, CA 93023   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Ojai B&B and Inns
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
“Our third year in a row”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2011

We love the Emerald Iguana. The rooms (or cottages) are so comfortable it's hard to leave. The staff are always helpful and attentive. It is so relaxing to get up in the morning, have breakfast out by the pool and enjoy the setting. The spa is wonderful and relaxing. The Emerald Iguana ranks with any place we've stayed in the world.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    232
    47
    8
    5
    4
See reviews for
31
188
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2011

I am a lucky girl. I have a boyfriend who turned me onto the Emerald Iguana and took me there for my 50th birthday and we stayed in the Frog room. It was the best birthday evening I have ever had and sooo romantic and relaxing! Made me fall in love with him all over again. THEN over that next weekend my three best friends took me AGAIN to the Emerald Iguana and we stayed in the Tadpole suite - incredible! Plenty of room for everyone, relaxing - and everyone slept soo well! Everyone walked away saying they couldn't wait to come back - neither can I!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

Loved this place. Going again this year. Great location, sweet, cozy, adorable, quaint. Really nice staff. Close enough to stroll into town, which is the cutest town. The only downside is that the shower had mold in it. yuck, hope it is clean when we go again this year. loved it!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

This is a great place, tucked in the foothills of Ojai with flowers and foliage abound. The rooms are very comfortable and artfully decorated. Service is abundant and warm.
One can bike, hike, swim, play tennis, horseback ride. Lots of galleries and interesting shops to explore. We enjoyed a relaxing calm getaway at the Emerald Iguana Inn.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

We had no particular reason to base ourselves in Ojai. All we wanted was a comfortable base in south central California, where we could cook our own meals (on a 12 night holiday, eating out every night is a bit much - especially with US portions). The Emerald Iguana was one of only a small number of places we found which seemed to meet our requirements. And meet them it most certainly did, both in practicalities and in helping us unwind in this area.

First, the practicalities. Our cottage (the Treehouse) was very well presented, comfortable and clean. The living room and bedroom were both very spacious, although the kitchen and bathroom were fairly wee. There wasn't a huge amount of food preparation space in the kitchen, but we coped without much difficulty. More noticeably, we had to ask for some pretty basic utensils which were absent from the kitchen (sieve, kitchen knife & saucepans) but these were obtained without a problem. We suspected most guests usually eat out rather than in! All in all, we settled in very quickly.

The complex is also very well tended. Our trip was in autumn, but leaves were cleared from paths and pool regularly. The jacuzzi was a delight - the unheated pool unfortunately too cold in November for anything other than the briefest dip!

Breakfasts were simple affairs, but perfectly alright. We quite often found ourselves having to ask the staff for coffee, plates or cutlery stocks to be replenished. But these requests were always met with a prompt, warm and helpful response. In fact, the staff seemed to take great pride in the place. This was best demonstrated when, one night after an apparently very rare power cut, we were met by one staff member checking that all the apartments had candles and matches, despite it being after her own clocking-off time for the night.

But actually, our stay in Ojai was embodied more by an aura of relaxation and contentment than a tickbox of practicalities. It really is a lovely place and the people we met were invariably warm, friendly and unhurried. The Emerald Iguana itself is well located – an easy walk from the centre, with the cycle hire shop, the supermarket and Bart's Books all nearby. We felt so relaxed in Ojai, and the Emerald Iguana was clearly an intrinsic aspect of that wonderful experience.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

My husband and I spent an extended weekend in Ojai to attend a friends sons's wedding. Trip Advisor had many excellent write ups on this property We knew it would be more than pleasant, but we didn't know it would be outstanding. The staff, rooms, surroundings, location and pool were perfect for our needs. t was a perfect place to return to after a busy day.

We would both recommend the Emerald Iguana to anyone who is looking for a peaceful place where you are close to everything in the center of the city.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

Travelers Beware!!!!!......the place is attractive but you will not have a good experience there-the main two problems are the woman who runs the place during the day(Sherry) who has a gigantic chip on her shoulder and treats the smallest request for service as a punishment from god and the breakfast which is worse than a Motel 6 buffet, all the pastries are like something you get at a convenience store, all wrapped in plastic wrap and inedible, pathetic hard boiled eggs, dish water coffee in a thermos and reconstituted orange juice-all this in a boutique inn were service and breakfast should excel, thats why people come to small inns, dah
also the best suites have bedrooms and baths that face the parking lot with the charming sound of cars going in and out

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iguanapwr1, Manager at Emerald Iguana Inn, responded to this review, December 3, 2010
We are sorry this guest expected something different from our continental breakfast buffet. Our pastries are delivered daily from a local bakery, and yes, they are wrapped as this is required by our local Health Department. However, our orange juice is not reconstituted and we use gourmet coffee, and always, customer service is our #1 priority.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Emerald Iguana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Iguana Inn

Address: 108 Pauline Dr., End of Blanche St., Ojai, CA 93023
Location: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Ojai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Emerald Iguana Inn is Ojai's most beautiful boutique hotel. This lovely, romantic boutique Inn offers luxury accommodations in a serene setting just a few minutes walk from the scenic downtown Ojai. Luxuriously decorated rooms, suites and cottages surround a crystaline pool & spa. Many offer whirlpool or clawfoot bathtubs, fireplaces or private balconies. Daily continental breakfast. Wine & cheese reception offered Spring & Summer weekends. In-room spa services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Emerald Iguana Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Iguana Hotel Ojai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emerald Iguana Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.